Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chocolate Raspberry Jam (Canning Recipe)
    Lost? Site Map

    Chocolate Raspberry Jam (Canning Recipe)

    Average Rating:

    21 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 21

    Sort by:

    • on September 29, 2009

      I made this recipe today and noticed you didn't say when to add the 3 3/4 cups sugar to the raspberry mixture, so I added it when I added the chocolate pieces, mixed well so the sugar would dissolve, then proceeded with the rest of the recipe. The taste I got from licking the bowl tells me this is a keeper recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2008

      My daughter and I just made this jam. I already love raspberry jam but this recipe gives it a really yummy twist! You can bet we will be making more! The recipe calls for 4 cups of sugar but the recipe doesn't say when to use all of it. I've made jam for years so I just followed the directions on the pectin package- stir the pectin into the fruit, bring it to the boil and then add sugar and boil again. I also used 11 dark chocolate Dove Promises. It's what I had on hand. Very yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2009

      This made a great filling for my son's grooms cake and the bride's cake. try it you'll love it!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2014

      Unlike some of the other reviewers, I am an experienced jam and jelly cook, so the question of when to add the sugar was moot. The set was perfect, the taste, DELICIOUS. I'll be making this again for sure. I did add 1TBSP of high quality vanilla extract to bring up the flavor, I highly recommend this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 27, 2013

      This is the first jam I have ever made. Came together beautifully, I just read the reviews for when to add the sugar and seems to have worked just fine. Thanks for a lovely first time Jam experience, I got just over a liter of jam for those playing in metric countries.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 26, 2012

      This jam is excellent! Try it over ice cream! I gave the recipe to my sister-in-law, and my nephew requests it frequently. He just eats it with a spoon! Do NOT burn the chocolate, or the jam will have a very bitter taste. Also, it can be a little pricey to make as the raspberries are expensive. Well worth the money, though.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 10, 2012

      I made this recipe last night and the taste is wonderful, not too sweet. I love the tangy raspberries combined with rich chocolate. It is the most beautiful, regal burgundy color and looks gorgeous in the quilted ball jars. I did not use the bakers chocolate squares, but used some chocolate "liquor bits", unsweetened chocolate chips basically. Im not sure if they completely melted smoothly but I like the little flecks of chocolate. No one else commented if they had tiny chocolate flecks in theirs so I am assuming it was the type of chocolate used. I plan on trying this with white chocolate too and maybe even with strawberries or blackberries. These jams are going to be given as gifts and I know I'm definately going to use this jam as a filling in some chocolate cupcakes! I don't care for seedy jams so as I was getting ready to pour into my jars I strained the jam into a pitcher and then poured it into my jars. I got 4 half pints and 4 4oz jars plus another half pint I kept aside for snacking on, after all the seeds were removed. I think the next time I make it I will do as another reviewer did and once the sugar is added, follow cooking instructions on the sure jell package. Mine could have come out a tad smoother I think, but I am also very new to making jams and jellies. Give this recipe a try if you love raspberries and chocolate!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 13, 2012

      Delicious! I think its best as a filling for things like thumprint cookies and cakes. I strained the seeds from the whole batch and added the bulk of the sugar at the begining with the chocolate. Excellent as my first canning attempt.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2012

      As for a first canning experiment, this went really well. I used purple raspberries and subbed cocoa powder/butter for the chocolate squares (I didn't have any on hand ratio is 1T Fat to 3T cocoa powder) I added almost 2T extra cocoa powder and 2t of vanilla (add vanilla after it's removed from the heat) since I like the dark chocolate experience. Even with the extra chocolate I feel it still isn't overpowering - but always taste as you go!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2011

      I just finished this recipe and shamelessly scraped and licked the spoons. It is amazing. I added 6 oz of chocolate instead of the 3 it calls for. I think that it has a great balance between sweet and chocolate. I am attending a crafters holiday bazaar this weekend, I'm hoping this will make a nice addition to my collection of jams and jellies that I sell. THANK YOU

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2011

      I made this about a month ago. It was my first attempt at canning. It tasted GREAT, although I forgot the pectin so it didn't set up. Not to worry, we used it as a topping for ice cream. We've never eaten so much ice cream as in the last month!!

      I decided to try it again to enter into the PA Farm Show. It's a pretty big deal here, and I didn't have much hope since I was going up against Amish women who have been canning for years. So this city girl made a new batch (with the pectin this time), and it set up great!! I ended up getting second place!!! Thanks Jen for this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2010

      We whipped up a batch of this today ... OH MY GOODNESS! It is heavenly! I think it would be amazing warm on cheesecake or in thumbprint cookies or between layers of a special cake. We plan on giving most of the 8 half-pints away as gifts, but will definitely be making this again! THANKS for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2009

      I am not quite finished making this...but it smells wonderful, and I sampled a small taste right before I processed the jars...it was WONDERFUL!!! Thanks so much Jen for the great receipe! I will definetly make this again and again!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2008

      Great jam! It is wonderful with white chocolate as well. WIth the white chocolate, I added 6 ounces instead of three. Thank you so much for sharing this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 23, 2008

      At first taste, this recipe was the bomb! Everyone at home loved it and I plan on making it for Christmas gifts this year. I did make it for our county fair, but it didn't place. Apparently, the judge's idea of "any creative jam" was either strawberry/rhubarb or blueberry/peach. How narrow-minded!! Anyway, since the judge didn't go by taste, she could be forgiven as one taste is all you need to be hooked.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 16, 2008

      We made two batches of this jam and it was an instant hit with the three cooks who made it recently in my kitchen. We loved the subtle chocolate flavor. Hint: it pays to use a very good chocolate! The color, consistency and texture were perfect. It is delish on toast, over pound cakes, and I'm going to try it next as a filling for my kolaches! I only had one jar that didn't seal...but it went right into the fridge and made a tasty ice cream topping! Thanks JenSmith for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 10, 2008

      No offense, but this jam was disgusting. I followed the recipe exactly, and it had a horrible flavor, I think because of the unsweetened chocolate. Even adding more sugar didn't help.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2007

      Lovely raspberry flavor with a hint of chocolate. I plan on using this jam on my thumbprint cookies and as filling for cookie “sandwiches�. Also, going in the gift baskets for the holidays.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2007

      This sauce made the house smell so great while cooking it. I did add strawberries instead of raspberries but it was really not bad at all. I think it needed more sugar though, but I was raised with a family that added sugar to everything, but otherwise great recipe. thank you for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2006

      I made this for Christmas gifts. I am not fond of Raspberries but this jam is wonderful.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chocolate Raspberry Jam (Canning Recipe)

    Serving Size: 1 (30 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 80

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 65.5
     
    Calories from Fat 5
    37%
    Total Fat 0.6 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.3 g
    1%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 2.0 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 15.7 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 1.0 g
    4%
    Sugars 14.0 g
    56%
    Protein 0.2 g
    0%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes