10 Reviews

I actually won the "Bar Cookie" division at our local fair with these. The only thing I do differently is to increase the dough mixture by 1/2. That way I can make the bottom crust a little thicker, and have more crumbles for the top--one of my families' all time favorite desserts! Thank you for posting!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
EileenWest June 24, 2008

These are fabulous bars! The raspberry flavor is a hidden surprise. I melted my chocolate chips/condensed milk in the microwave for 2 minutes. I suggest greasing the baking dish very well and not spreading the jam to the sides (since it will bake on and harden as it cools). Also, after cooling a bit, remove the bars from the pan (it will be easier than when they are completely cooled). I found this recipe in the "Can't Believe It's Kosher!" cookbook.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ducky October 09, 2005

Amazing! Every one of my friends who has tried these has raved about them. The only thing that I will change next time (and this is my fault) is to use a different raspberry jam. I used preserves that I had in my fridge this time around and they didn't melt enough to cover all of the bars. These are definitely going to become a staple of my go-to baked goods.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kmccart March 01, 2014

I'm baking this awesome sounding cookie bar right now. I did increase the dough by 1/2 and used but I'm finding the baking time is WAY more than mentioned. The first layer had to bake for 20 minutes to get lightly browned and the whole thing is STILL in the over after 50 minutes. I just turned the oven down to 300 degrees so the bottom will not burn in order for the center to set. Anyone else have this problem? I'm sure it will taste good regardless - with those ingredients . . . can't be bad. Oh - I did sub smashed frozen blackberries for the jam. Maybe that added too much moisture? Thanks, Gator

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
K9 Gator November 09, 2010

Delicious! This satisified my sweets craving. I followed the directions as written. My only suggestion would be that it took a little more than 1 1/4c. of the crumb mixture to pat out the bottom of the bars on the 9" x 13" pan. I used finely chopped pecans. I love, love, love these bar cookies.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marie Nixon December 31, 2006

I made this with 2 kinds of Ghirardelli's chocolate chips - semi-sweet on the bottom and milk on top. It was properly swooned over at christmas.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
huskiebear December 30, 2006

I found this recipe in the grocery coupons one year and made them. They are my DH's favorite. I was going to post it bc the coupon recipe is getting too small for me to read. Either that or I'm just getting old - lol! Anyway, I checked to make sure it wasn't already posted, which it was so I'll just add my review. They are easy to make, I don't use the nuts, they're rich enough without them. I use Black Raspberry jam and mix in some Chambord with it before adding to the recipe. These have become an annual Christmas cookie that I can't omit.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pgserver6 December 17, 2006

These are delicious! If you don't like chocolate , don't bother ;-) Excellent tip from Ducky , be sure to grease the pan well!! Had to laugh , I found this recipe in my Nestle Toll House Best Loved Recipes. Thanks for posting!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marlene. June 23, 2006

Three of my favorite words! These are ultra rich and decadent. An indulgence, for sure. A small piece goes a long way. Thanks for sharing, Silky!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Doreen~ October 20, 2005

I love these bars!! Of course, I love almost anything chocolate and raspberry. I use this recipe all the time, and I always get rave reviews. I don't use the nuts (some of my eaters have nut allergies), and I don't usually have seedless jam either, but they're sooo good anyhow. Very simple to make, too.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Muffin Goddess August 29, 2003
Chocolate Raspberry Crumb Bars