8 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I make this cake very often, since it's quick and easy and I don't have to frost it. I like to dress it up with some almond extract in addition to the vanilla, and hot coffee for the boiling water (I've used espresso powder mixed in with the sugar/cocoa on top--wowza!), and also with some chocolate chips mixed into the batter. This cake is definitely better once it's cool, so if it's not what you expect right out of the oven, try it after refrigerating it overnight.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sukie Tawdry July 28, 2013

This was my first attempt at a vegan dish, and also a pudding cake. Followed directions to a "T" and the cake came out really well. Spilled a bit in the oven, so fun awaits tomorrow. We thought the pudding part was really good, but the cake seemed a little bland to us - maybe that's just part of the vegan part since it didn't have any eggs. Still, it was pretty good and will definitely make it again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jostlori August 15, 2012

NEEDED some kind of chocolate dessert, and didn't have much to work with. This came to my rescue. I love that it's made with all staples. I'm very unlikely to be out of anything on the list. I used raw granulated sugar for the cake, and brown sugar for the topping. Next time I would lightly pack the brown sugar as I thought it could have been a tad sweeter. We tore into this a little to early and it was still very runny, but it cooled down in our bowls and came together. FAB. I added some walnuts, but otherwise followed exactly. To Newmama - the large amount of baking powder isn't unusual in vegan baking. I couldn't taste it in the cake, not sure what went wrong for you.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nikoma March 24, 2011

I am not going to rate this because something went wrong for me. Not sure why, I followed the ingredients and directions exactly which is funny because I rarely do! The cake part was bitter and tasted like baking powder- 1 tbs for 1 cup of flour is huge. I used cane sugar and good quality cocoa, fresh baking powder and almond milk instead of soy. The pudding part was super thin and liquidy and the whole thing was bland and awful. I wish I knew what happened, I made a (non vegan) cocolate pudding cake similar to this in my crock pot once that was fantastic!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
newmama October 17, 2010

This was a huge hit with the family! I did change a couple things as we are not vegan and don't keep organic sugar or cane juice around. The only thing I did differently was for the 1/2 cup sweetener was use granulated sugar. For the 3/4 cup dry sweetener did brown sugar. Everything else was the same. We didn't have any problems with the cake not being "pudding" enough. There was plenty of that. We had this with vanilla ice cream and topped with the cake pudding. This recipe reminds me a lot of the hot fudge sundae cake my mother-in-law makes on occasion. Thanks for sharing! :) Made for the May 2010 Aussie/NZ recipe swap.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef on the coast May 30, 2010

This was easy, nondairy and tastes really rich! Would definitely make it again. The details: I doubled the ingredients and baked for 1 hour. Other than that the only change I made was to replace 1/2 the oil with applesauce (was having company on a low fat diet). Served it with fresh strawberries that I used to soak up some of the "topping".

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jeri Roth Lande May 30, 2010

I love this cake! I have made it at least a dozen times and it never disappoints. I fail miserably at most baking attempts, but this has always turned out delicious. My non-vegan stepdaughter actually requested this as her birthday cake when she turned 8 (or was it 9? The joys of getting old and losing your mind.). I love that it comes together quick enough for a weeknight. Pop it in the oven, sit down to eat dinner, and when you're done with dinner, you've got piping hot ooey-gooey chocolatey goodness. Don't tell my family, but I usually make it with whole wheat flour and they are none the wiser.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Muppetcow May 11, 2010

You were right: this WAS simple and I DO normally have all the ingredients on hand. However, it was also decadent enough for Valentine's Day. I served it with vegan ice cream. I will definitely make this again. Recipenapped for Veg*an Swap, February 2010

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Prose February 19, 2010
Chocolate Pudding Cake (Vegan)