12 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Got rave reviews @ a luncheon at work. Not a crumb left to bring home.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lhgolden April 16, 2004

I love the shortcut of using a cake mix and having it turn out delicious as well. I, too, would give this recipe 10 stars. I didn't have enough whipping cream for entire cake so used Cool Whip on the top. I will probably use Cool Whip the next time, too. There will be many "next times" with this recipe. Thanks Michelle!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
M. Joan August 16, 2003

Let's just say that this recipe should be a double 5 star. No one would have guessed that it was a cake mix, if I hadn't told them. It not only makes a beautiful presentation, it taste just as good as it looks. People were asking me for the recipe before they even tasted it. That is how pretty this cake looks.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jellyqueen July 23, 2003

I have been making this cake for years ever since I saw it on the Pillsbury bake off. It is a favorite at our house. Easy to make and always delicious. I have used several different brands of cake mix and it is always wonderful. I always replace the oil in the cake mix with apple sauce to cut down on the fat a little. There just aren't the words to describe how good and easy this is. YUM!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
meanmom45 March 18, 2011

Made this cake for a company birthday celebration. Rave reviews and orders to make 3 more!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jean D. December 21, 2009

darlene loves this cake

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dienia B. December 09, 2008

This is an absolute winner - worth the $1,000,000!!! My mom made this as written (I think she sweetened the topping a little...), and then I made it in the form of a 9X13 rectangle cake. I baked it in a disposable foil pan so that I could easily flip it out - tonight I am baking it in a glass pan and hoping it will work out. Anyways, it was delicious on all counts and always loved by everyone I've served. If you want a WOW dessert that doesn't take much extra effort - try this one! You won't be disappointed.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Crocheting Mama January 17, 2008

I picked this recipe out in order to use up a cake mix that DH had bought for no apparent reason. The mix was definitely NOT Pillsbury, which is why I am not awarding stars - my opinion could solely be the fault of the mix. I really enjoyed the praline and the whipped cream, but I found the cake to be lackluster. The chocolate flavor was completely overwhelmed by the toppings. The only change I made was to use 1/2 c. oil (instead of 1/3), following the directions on my mix. I will keep this presentation in mind for a homemade devil's food cake, but I would not make it again as written.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
evewitch December 10, 2007

This is an awesome cake!! I've made it several times with rave reviews including one review that said if the cake was placed on top of the head that the tongue would be slapping his face to get to it. LOL!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SweetsLady August 02, 2007

Yummy yummy yummy!!! My whole family loved it. Personally, I like the cake better after its been in the fridge for a while, when the praline has set and become more like caramel. I just made it again today for a friend's birthday. This cake is a MUST try!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
K's August 11, 2006
Chocolate Praline Layer Cake