Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chocolate Praline Layer Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chocolate Praline Layer Cake

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on April 16, 2004

      Got rave reviews @ a luncheon at work. Not a crumb left to bring home.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 16, 2003

      I love the shortcut of using a cake mix and having it turn out delicious as well. I, too, would give this recipe 10 stars. I didn't have enough whipping cream for entire cake so used Cool Whip on the top. I will probably use Cool Whip the next time, too. There will be many "next times" with this recipe. Thanks Michelle!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 23, 2003

      Let's just say that this recipe should be a double 5 star. No one would have guessed that it was a cake mix, if I hadn't told them. It not only makes a beautiful presentation, it taste just as good as it looks. People were asking me for the recipe before they even tasted it. That is how pretty this cake looks.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2011

      I have been making this cake for years ever since I saw it on the Pillsbury bake off. It is a favorite at our house. Easy to make and always delicious. I have used several different brands of cake mix and it is always wonderful. I always replace the oil in the cake mix with apple sauce to cut down on the fat a little. There just aren't the words to describe how good and easy this is. YUM!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2009

      Made this cake for a company birthday celebration. Rave reviews and orders to make 3 more!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2008

      darlene loves this cake

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2008

      This is an absolute winner - worth the $1,000,000!!! My mom made this as written (I think she sweetened the topping a little...), and then I made it in the form of a 9X13 rectangle cake. I baked it in a disposable foil pan so that I could easily flip it out - tonight I am baking it in a glass pan and hoping it will work out. Anyways, it was delicious on all counts and always loved by everyone I've served. If you want a WOW dessert that doesn't take much extra effort - try this one! You won't be disappointed.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2007

      I picked this recipe out in order to use up a cake mix that DH had bought for no apparent reason. The mix was definitely NOT Pillsbury, which is why I am not awarding stars - my opinion could solely be the fault of the mix. I really enjoyed the praline and the whipped cream, but I found the cake to be lackluster. The chocolate flavor was completely overwhelmed by the toppings. The only change I made was to use 1/2 c. oil (instead of 1/3), following the directions on my mix. I will keep this presentation in mind for a homemade devil's food cake, but I would not make it again as written.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2007

      This is an awesome cake!! I've made it several times with rave reviews including one review that said if the cake was placed on top of the head that the tongue would be slapping his face to get to it. LOL!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2006

      Yummy yummy yummy!!! My whole family loved it. Personally, I like the cake better after its been in the fridge for a while, when the praline has set and become more like caramel. I just made it again today for a friend's birthday. This cake is a MUST try!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 02, 2006

      One of my card friends served this today and what a hit it was. I offered to email a copy to everyone and WOW, here it is. How convenient. She had it "decorated" to a "T"; what beautiful presentation! Additionally, it was much lighter than I first thought it would be. This cake is a real winner. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2005

      This is a great tasting cake. We just loved it. So much easier using a cake mix. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chocolate Praline Layer Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (155 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 550.8
     
    Calories from Fat 337
    61%
    Total Fat 37.4 g
    57%
    Saturated Fat 14.7 g
    73%
    Cholesterol 107.5 mg
    35%
    Sodium 453.9 mg
    18%
    Total Carbohydrate 53.4 g
    17%
    Dietary Fiber 1.6 g
    6%
    Sugars 36.9 g
    147%
    Protein 5.4 g
    10%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites