14 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was a great cake. I had never made a chocolate pound cake before. It was easy to make.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SweetSueAl November 17, 2002

WONDERFUL! This cake was really good. It was my first homemade cake and boy, was my family impressed. Only one critique...I was totally deceived by the prep time. 11 minutes is not true at all. Even if I had been a cake expert, I can't see it taking only 11 minutes to prepare. It took me at least 30 minutes. Otherwise this recipe was a winner!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shea Lewis May 26, 2003

This was a total hit at work, everyone loved it! Thank you for the recipe :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Genianoe November 30, 2014

I made this for a co-worker's birthday. It was received well! I would have liked it a little more moist and a little more chocolatey. I like my pound cake a little more dense, this one was lighter than typical, which could be a real plus depending on your preference. Thanks for a yummy cake!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tara portee August 05, 2011

This was fabulous! I've made chocolate pound cake before and it wasn't quite 'right'. I was a little worried because the picture wasn't very chocolatey looking but this was just right. I had to be really careful with the KitchenAid because as another poster pointed out it's really too much for it. Followed directions exactly, used a bundt pan, cooked for 1.5 hours.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sheepdoc May 15, 2011

Except for using just a quarter cup of cocoa instead of a half cup, this recipe is identical to my grandmother's recipe for chocolate pound cake.... which is absolutely wonderful. Truly an heirloom recipe, it's very much worth making.... it's made me famous among my co-workers and is loved by the entire family. I'm sure my grandmother would be pleased to know her great-great-granddaughters love eating it as much as they enjoy helping me make it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Impera_Magna August 22, 2010

Mizz Nezz...... I wrote a review yesterday, don't know what happened to it.. This cake is absolutely fantastic..Taste and texture can't be beat.. I could go on and on, however; I'll end by saying it is perfect. P.S. Thank's again for your help.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nita 284904 southern girl July 27, 2010

The bad news... the cake didn't come out of the pan in one piece (my fault). The good news.... the cake was fantastic (great texture and flavor) AND I made it into a trifle which received RAVE reviews (people at the office want me to mess up again this week!). I cut the cake into small cubes and layered it with strawberries and a pudding mixture (vanilla pudding, Cool Whip and a bit of almond extract - to taste). I topped with Cool Whip and sprinkled sliced almonds for a bit of crunch. Have to admit, I impressed myself. I will definitely take my mess ups in stride from now on!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kerik February 09, 2009

I made this for Easter and it was such a hit! The cake is moist and light, not overly dense like some pound cakes. It freezes well, (which is great, as my mom can attest, since she's a widow and it's a treat to pull just a slice from the freezer for a treat .)Thank you for a new family favorite!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bookwyrm305-kj April 11, 2008

I have been searching for the recipe that my mother and grandmother used, and I do believe this is it! Excellent!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mollylisahaley March 01, 2008
Chocolate Pound Cake