Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chocolate Peppermint Bark - Christmas Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chocolate Peppermint Bark - Christmas

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on December 08, 2009

      I made this tonight, and it turned out great - not quite as pretty as the submitter's, but not bad for my first try! The directions were very easy to follow. I used one bag each of Herhey's Special Dark chocolate chips and Nestle white chocolate chips, both 12 oz. I was already using my 9x12 pan to make fudge, so I just used a large, circular metal cookie tray. I did all the melting in the microwave in Pyrex measuring cups, so it was really easy. After I spread the dark chocolate and put it in the fridge to harden (but before I melted the white chocolate), I placed 25 Brach's peppermint candies into doubled-up ziploc sandwich baggies and crushed the crap out of them with a meat mallet. Then, I put a strainer over a bowl, and I poured the crushed mints into the strainer, so all the small and powdery pieces went into the bowl. I then melted the white chocolate and poured the tiny mint pieces (from the bowl) into the white chocolate before I spread it (that way, it would be a little more minty, and there's no waste). I then sprinkled the large pieces that were leftover (in the strainer) on top. I wrapped these and some Easy Butterscotch Fudge, and I am going to give some to our neighbor and to the mailman for holiday gifts. Thanks for this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2009

      I brought this to a christmas party and everyone loved it! What a great holiday gift, too! There is a bit of finesse to getting it to look right, and to not having the chocolate swirl into the white when smoothing it out. It helps if you chill/freeze it for about 10 minutes to make it extra hard before spreading. I used crushed candycanes with great results.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2010

      Just made two batches of this using Hershey's Special Dark Chocolate chips, Hershey's Premium White Chocolate chips & crushed candy canes. Had some separation of the layers, and I don't think it's quite peppermint-y enough -- next time I will add a touch of peppermint oil to the dark chocolate. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2009

      so simple, yet so delicious! The first time I made it the chocolate was too hot and ended up marbelling, which was actually very pretty. Learned from the experience though and let the chocolate cool a bit next time. Thanks for sharing! Sent for the Holiday Cookie Exchange 2009

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2009

      Easy, yummy and it turns out pretty. A nice holiday gift. We used dark chocolate and vanilla candi quick. I think next time we'll skip the chocolate and just use the candi quick- it doesn't melt as easily.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2013

      I made 2 batches of this and I used Callebaut Belgian chocolate - very high end and expensive, but, what a difference! I got blocks of bittersweet, semisweet and white at Whole Foods - you can get this at gourmet shops, Trader Joes, even online from ebay and Amazon. The bark is easily the best I have ever had and has nothing to do with the cook - it was all the chocolate! <br/><br/>I also put the dark layer in the freezer for about 20 minutes and then let it sit out for a little while before adding the white. No delaminating of the layers.<br/><br/>Andes makes peppermint and white chocolate baking chips that is used - about 1/2 cup in the warm white chocolate making it a beautiful light red color and adding a little extra peppermint flavor. I put some of the crushed peppermint in the warm white chocolate also before spreading it on top of the dark. <br/><br/>I really love this recipe and I want to thank everyone for their comments. Try the Callbaut chocolate. What a difference and so very very good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2012

      wow! that turned out amazing! i made some to give out at Christmas and to be honest i wasn't too hooked on the idea at first i'm not a big mint person but it was wonderful! fyi buy the candy canes to crunch up, i made the mistake of buying the normal circle peppermints and i could not crush this things to save my life! on the upside by happy accident i think i may have come up with an interesting alternative. i got so frustrated trying to crush the candy i finally got annoying and threw the candies in the food processor and ground them to hell in back making them almost like a peppermint dust so i just put it in a shaker and dusted the top of the chocolate with it and i think it turned out that much better for it :) the peppermint candy melted in a bit with the white chocolate and it was wonderful!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2011

      I like to have a lot of peppermint in mine so I put candy canes in a chopper and mixed it in with the melted white chocolate.I than spread the candy cane chocolate on top of the dark chocolate and than put more candy cane on top. It was amazing I hope you enjoy as much as I have.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2010

      So easy and yummy!! Mine was a little swirly bcuz I was being impatient, but it tastes divine!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2010

      I just finished making this for thank you gifts. So very simple to make! My chocolates marbled a bit, but still look beautiful. Next time I will press the peppermint into the chocolate a little because when I was breaking it up the candy was falling off. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chocolate Peppermint Bark - Christmas

    Serving Size: 1 (22 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 20

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 176.8
     
    Calories from Fat 129
    73%
    Total Fat 14.3 g
    22%
    Saturated Fat 8.8 g
    44%
    Cholesterol 3.5 mg
    1%
    Sodium 19.3 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 15.1 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 2.8 g
    11%
    Sugars 10.1 g
    40%
    Protein 3.1 g
    6%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    peppermint candies

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites