16 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I can't believe these awesome treats have only 14 ratings. These are awesome!
I made these for Christmas last year and always are looking for special occasions to make them. The rice Krispies and nuts really at to this wonderful recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jlowens December 09, 2011

OH ....MY.... GOD! These were fantastic and loved by everyone! Made doubling the batch and rolling all those balls worth it! Since I was in a rush I froze them like DaniClement and it was easy to handle afterwards. This is a keeper! I can't wait to make these again!! WARNING: Tall glass of milk needed for this!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NightStar February 26, 2008

I made these for DH, and he can't get enough of them! They are so easy to make and so good! Instead of using butter to help melt the chocolate, I used a tiny bit of water. I found that the butter yielded a thicker chocolate consistency that was a little bit harder to work with than the water. But wonderful - thank you for posting!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jconway520 September 30, 2007

Fifteen minutes chill time was almost unbearable when you’re hungry for this sweet treat. Not to mention the three vultures hovering around me. Man, I’ll be lucky to get two or three of these!!! Maybe that is a good thing, then I will not eat them all!! These are just so simple to make, so double the batch and…..Make a few little boxes, place a paper dollie in it and put a few of these chocolate balls inside and pass them out to friends. Don’t forget a tiny little bow. That would be a nice gift around any Holiday.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Charlotte J May 27, 2005

I have a recipe similar to his, but when it comes to melting chocolate ( I use whole bag) it calls for paraffin wax, not margarine or butter.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mamajo57 December 11, 2013

I made these for my son and he absolutely loved them! I had a hard time keeping him from eating the mixture before we rolled them in chocolate. Very good, thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mom of 2 picky eaters September 17, 2007

Fantastic!! Made these last year for my Christmas cookie trays. They were a hit! Started making them again this year. My husband loves them!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JenWith August 24, 2007

Made about 65 of these for Christmas, they were awesome. I kept them in the freezer for ," safe keeping", and they kept disappearing. They are chocolatey, crunchy, smooth, and perfect! Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Retro Kali July 24, 2007

I made 1 1/2 the amount of this recipe because I left out the nuts and wanted to have a decent size batch. While I was mixing them I had some difficulty getting the ingredient to incorporate. I wasn't sure I should have crushed the rice crispies a bit or melted the peanut butter or what. I just couldn't get everything to blend...so I decided heck with it and used my hands..MUCH easier. Once these were chilled they rolled much better than my other recipe that leaves my hands sticky, no mess at all there. However, this is where I got to the "hard" part. I couldn't see how 6oz (1.5 times for 1.5 times the balls) would ever cover this batch. I mean technically the amount might be enough but you need for dipping. So I used a full 12oz bag of semisweet chips and 3TBS of butter in a pan as directed. Instantly my chocolate ceased up. I don't know why! I was disheartened but found a bag of milk chocolate chips and used shortening instead to think this out (as I've always used shortening). Again unfortunately though it melted great, I think my shortening is beyond dates and the chocolate tasted funny. I did try them anyway though (hopefully I don't get sick) and the peanut butter balls themselves are very good! I'll make these again with semi-sweet chocolate and fresh shortening. One thing I might do though is mix the peanut butter and icing sugar before adding the rice crispies. My rice crispies got coated with sugar and it didn't incorporate as well as I would have liked. Overall though this is a keeper recipe, I just need to learn how to boil water -or melt chocolate! :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
6 pack mama January 18, 2007

Great recipe! Very easy and taste great! Although mine didn't turn out quite as pretty as the pics - still working on getting the dipping part down! :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
soxfan28 December 23, 2006
Chocolate Peanut Butter Balls