9 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Excellent brownies. I never had orange and chocolate together in brownies before but we loved the combination. I had to make a small change to this recipe because I only had 4 squares of unsweetened chocolate I added 1 ounce (square) of semi sweet chocolate and I was also out of the extracts, so I skipped the vanilla and just added 1 teaspoon of orange juice. Delicious even though we couldn't wait for 24 hours as the recipe suggests. Thanks for posting this keeper.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ellie_ June 23, 2003

Very good brownie. Have made this twice, once with regular marmalade and the second time with English cut. My sister loved this the first time, but all she said when I made it the second time was "WoW".

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Darkhunter August 06, 2003

Thanks Mirj, this recipe deserves 5 stars! I made half a recipe in an 8x8 inch pan exactly as described. They do need a day or two to mellow. I had doubts tasting these the night they were made since the chocolate was too bitter and the orange too strong--but the change after 24 hours was incredible. WOW! The flavors were perfectly balanced and the texture was very moist without being gooey. My only addition might be a chocolate glaze or frosting but they're wonderful plain.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TommyGato September 05, 2003

Mirj this was a excellent brownie!! thank you. I love anything involving chocolate and orange, it is a great combination to me. Miss those days where I could buy Jaffa chocolate when I was in Melbourne. you have brought all those wonderful memories back with this very simple recipe. Thanks for the detailed instructions too.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KitchenManiac June 29, 2003

These brownies really do need a day or two to "mellow". I served them 24 hrs. after I made them, and they were a tad dry, but they were actually more moist two days later! I didn't have orange marmalade, so I used tangerine marmalade, and I reduced the vanilla to 1 tbsp., which I thought was sufficient. I also increased the orange extract to 2 teaspoons, but I think that next time I will up it to three. I made an orange butter cream frosting for the brownies, because I didn't want to have "chocolate overload". The orange frosting was a nice compliment to the chocolate brownie. I can see making these in the fall with the orange frosting, an adding some chocolate sprinkles on top.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Graciebonica June 11, 2010

Yummy, However I had to consult with my mother (a retired Home Economics Teacher) about the amount of Vanilla. 3 Tablespoons is almost an entire small bottle of Vanilla. Way too much! I put in 1 teaspoon instead and it was fine. It wasn't as moist and chewy as I would have liked but the flavor was great.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
K Lo October 03, 2008

Very nice recipe. Like one reviewer stated these brownies were more like a dense cake. I didn't add any nuts as my daughter (10 yrs old) who was making them doesn't like nuts. We did frost these with a chocolate ganache. YUM!! This satisfied her chocolate craving!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
skiingpeaches August 07, 2007

Flavour wise, these are wicked!! Yum. I used a homemade marmalade made out of blood oranges which my friend gave me. She diced the orange, so there were little nuggets of "gold" in the brownies. I wouldn't say they are brownies, more like cake. So I sort of gave them a new name, "Marmalade Crackle Cake"......my friends even fought over this delicious "cake"

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tunasushi May 23, 2007

I needed something for Rosh Hashanah lunch that was chocolate and these fit the bill. These were a nice twist on a brownie and the orange flavor was an unexpected surprise to those partaking. I used margarine instead of butter.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ducky September 27, 2006
Chocolate-Orange Marmalade Brownies