37 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

These are pleasntly different, with a nice, subtle orange flavor. Plus, they bake so well--chewy with a crusty outside. For fat I used 7 tbs. of butter and 3 tbs. of olive oil to cut down on saturated fat with no difference in the flavor whatsoever. These cookies didn't last 2 days.

17 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jessi-ryan March 22, 2002

These cookies were delicious. I have long been trying to find the "perfect" chocolate chip cookie recipe, and I think I have found it! I made a slight change to the recipe in that I substituted orange blossom water for the orange rind (I didn't have any), and walnuts for the pecans (ditto). The recipe was very easy to follow and prep time was minimal. I think it would be a great recipe for even a novice baker. If you are in search of a great cookie, give this recipe a try!

12 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nicole Isabella July 25, 2002

Very nice! Sometimes chocolate chip cookies are too sickly and sweet but the orange rind gave these a nice flavour. They were nice and crispy outside, but soft inside. Only problem was that I ate most of them myself!!

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BrendaM February 16, 2003

WOW!!! These are amazing! I actually didn't put nuts in them (didn't have any and just plain wanted to try them with the contrasting chocolate and orange flavors without interruption). I used fresh orange rind right off an orange and chopped just before putting them in. I also used a little more orange than what the recipe called for, and also a little more chocolate chips. It made them very soft inside with a nice crunchy outside (thanks to the sugar coating). They turned out great! Wonderful idea to coat them with sugar and orange rind. I'm still so amazed with them. I just made them tonight and can't get over how great they are! Thanks for the recipe!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
maryo March 14, 2003

Exellent cookies! I must admit though, that I didn't roll them in the sugar mixture. My only problem is that I'm the only one in the family who liked them; they're all such picky eaters 'cos they didn't even try them, the combination of orange and chocolate didn't appeal to them. Can't understand why?

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Get Smart February 24, 2003

I tripled this recipe to make 150 cookies and my church gobbled them up. Thanks very much! I also substituted half white chocolate chips/semi-sweet chocolate chips, and the white chocolate stood out nicely against the dark chocolate. Loved them!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
znglass May 08, 2003

I only used 1/2 c. of margarine, and in the cookies I put pieces of sugared orangepeels. The cookies were very easy to shape. I also omitted the last part where you dip in sugar and orangepeel. They came out great and very orangy. One batch I overbaked, sothey came out crisp. Personally I liled them just at 12 minutes max for a softer, chewy cookie. Tastes great out of the freezer as well. It was a big hit with family and grandchildren.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hlewenstein January 30, 2010

If I could give more stars, I would have. I quadrupled the recipe for a big family Easter get-together, and everyone loved them!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cela Hamblin April 11, 2004

Absolutely wonderful! This is my favourite flavour combination and the cookies did not disappoint! What a pleasure to eat. They were gone in no time at all. Note to Mrs. R - I wish I had have read your review before I started baking because I noticed that we had no milk, only after the first batch had come out of the oven! grrrrrr

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Serendipity Elizabeth March 12, 2004

Loved these oh so much! Next time im gonna make them the same but instead of adding morsels, i will put a hershey kiss on top of each one. the morsels are a little too chocolaty, but other than that, YUMMY! thanks for this recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
varinialuvsrichard October 01, 2003
Chocolate-Orange-Chocolate Chip Cookies