16 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Fabulous! Delicious! I made it just as written except for using low-fat sour cream and it was just great -- didn't need icing but icing would be delicious! Thanks for this keeper!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Emily Rosenzweig January 24, 2003

WOW! This cake is SO easy to make and has the most velvety texture and mild orange flavor. I couldn't even wait to frost it before I tasted it. Can't wait to make it again and try it with frosting !!! This is most definately a keeper! I'm thinking of doing a glaze with Grand Marnier for those special occasions.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Michelle S. December 13, 2002

Delicious, if you like orange with chocolate. I juiced 1 Orange and added 2C.Powdered sugar, this made a thin glaze that I poured over the cake while it was still warm in the pan prior to removal. Let it sit for 20 min. before removing from pan or longer if time permits. This made it incredibly moist and added a pronounced orange flavor. Tastes like a chocolate orange they sell at Christmas time.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
whipitup Sloat May 09, 2003

Great cake and soooo moist! I used fat free sour cream and to get more orange flavor I used 3/4cup concentrated oj and 1/4 cup orange juice. Like another reviewer I made a glaze of oj and powdered sugar and drizzled it over the cake after it had cooled. Thanks Mirj for this wonderful recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lil Sis July 23, 2007

Like another reviewer suggested, I used 1/2 cup triple sec and 1/2 cup orange juice for the liquid and glazed this gorgeous cake using the glaze/method called for in Orange Juice Cake. This wasn't just good, it was OMG good.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Molly53 November 23, 2006

Fantastic! Chocolate/orange is my favorite combo and this was a moist delicious cake. I made this for my women's group at church, and even though we had a smaller group than usual I brought home less leftover cake than usual. I made the glaze with powdered sugar mixed with Grand Marnier. If you're going to do it might as well do it to the max!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ReeLani March 23, 2004

Easy and good! I substituted unsweetened applesauce for the oil and it came out moist and lower in fat! I put some whipping cream and berries on the individual slices of cake and everyone loved it.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KLV October 16, 2003

I used a cup of orange juice concentrate instead of juice and marmalade instead of orange peel. It is a good cake but even with the changes I made it was not "orangy" enough for me. But what the Hey!! Chocolate and orange are always good together.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tebo August 06, 2003

Compliments to the contributor because I rarely make cakes from mixes. This is wonderful - of course chocolate and orange combination is one of my favorites. I do prefer to use a chocolate mix rather than devils food but that is personal taste. Otherwise would not change a thing.....

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
waynejohn1234 June 21, 2011

This turned out really good. I made this so I could use up some oranges that were about to go bad. It was very moist and had just the right amount of orange flavor. I drizzled hot fudge on it instead of a glaze or frosting. Thanks for a great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pismo January 31, 2010
Chocolate Orange Bundt Cake