109 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I made this for a Birthday party & everyone loved it. I served the mousse in wine glasses with whip cream on top. They looked pretty fancy.

18 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Denise S January 22, 2002

Really good, very easy!

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
najwa October 28, 2001

I loved this recipe, so easy and good. I did melt choc. chips and water together on low heat in a homemade double boiler, for about 15 minutes, till it was nice and smooth. I let it cool till room temp. then whipped the cream and vanilla till fluffy and sifted the icing sugar into it while beating....Then, I folded choc. into creamed mixture. It came out perfect ,will make again...Thank You Sandra for a easy tasty recipe...Oh , yes, I also chilled my bowl and beatters in freezer while choc. was melting..

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
germie3 April 19, 2010

I love this mousse!! I have been looking for so long for a good chocolate mousse recipe that did not require eggs and finally my search is over! This mousse is light and fluffy with a perfect chocolate taste and so easy to make - I have made it 3 times in the past week! I do follow germie3's suggestions of using the double boiler and putting the vanilla in with the whipping cream instead of the chocolate, and definitely put your bowl and mixers in the freezer before whipping the cream. I have used this mousse as a filling and frosting for a cake, in place of the cream in a strawberry shortcake, and on its own, and all 3 times it was fantastic. I also fold mini chips in after adding the chocolate, you can never have too much chocolate! Thank you for sharing!!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bloomsday616 May 11, 2010

This was very simple to make and it came out grand. I melted the chips for 30 seconds in the microwave instead of doing it on the stove. The flavor is consistant with chocolate mousse I have had before.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tarynne April 25, 2002

There is a serious pitfall in this recipe that should be mentioned. If the chocolate is not cool enough, and/or the cream is not well-whipped and cool, the mixture will separate badly! I recommend patiently cooling the chocolate completely and refrigerating the cream after whipping. I also think folding the chocolate in by hand is better than with a mixer. Many electric mixers do not have a setting low enough to do this properly. The taste would be improved if better chocolate is used. I also found that there was too much of a whipped cream taste (didn't think that was possible!) and needed a greater proportion of chocolate.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Campbellssoupkid November 15, 2012

Mine came out gritty! bummer1 I think it might have been because of the chocolate I used. The whipped cream was the right texture, until I added the chocolate. It still tasted good- but my hubby compared it to chocolate grits! LOL- I made it a second time- but used strawberries pureed and folded into the whipped cream. Didn't taste like grits this time!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
808segers March 28, 2009

Okay...everyone bear with me. This is aimed at people, like myself, who haven't ever worked with whipping cream. The taste is excellent but I didn't know to keep whipping the cream until it was a "Cool Whip" type texture. Someone also later told me that the longer you whip, the firmer the texture. I'd read to beat the whip 2 minutes, but that was not nearly long enough & thus, my mousse was much too runny vs. being airy. I thought it'd set up, but alas it did not. I will most definitely make again - next time knowing how to better utilize the whipping cream.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jessicaleigh23 October 01, 2010

It is probably true that someone who expects the "REAL" chocolate mousse might be disappointed. However, for someone like me who can't tell the difference, this is amazing!! I would suggest that people who do not usually microwave chocolate should not microwave it for this recipe either as it is easier to scortch and make lumpy in the microwave. I made mine it a stainless steel bowl set over a pot of boiling water and it took a good bit of stirring to make the chocolate smooth. I stirred the vanilla and powdered sugar into the cream before whipping. That worked fine. Thanks for an awesome shortcut!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
the_cookie_lady November 11, 2008
Chocolate Mousse