Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chocolate Mousse Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chocolate Mousse

    Average Rating:

    108 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 108

    Sort by:

    • on January 22, 2002

      I made this for a Birthday party & everyone loved it. I served the mousse in wine glasses with whip cream on top. They looked pretty fancy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2001

      Really good, very easy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 19, 2010

      I loved this recipe, so easy and good. I did melt choc. chips and water together on low heat in a homemade double boiler, for about 15 minutes, till it was nice and smooth. I let it cool till room temp. then whipped the cream and vanilla till fluffy and sifted the icing sugar into it while beating....Then, I folded choc. into creamed mixture. It came out perfect ,will make again...Thank You Sandra for a easy tasty recipe...Oh , yes, I also chilled my bowl and beatters in freezer while choc. was melting..

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 23, 2001

    • on May 11, 2010

      I love this mousse!! I have been looking for so long for a good chocolate mousse recipe that did not require eggs and finally my search is over! This mousse is light and fluffy with a perfect chocolate taste and so easy to make - I have made it 3 times in the past week! I do follow germie3's suggestions of using the double boiler and putting the vanilla in with the whipping cream instead of the chocolate, and definitely put your bowl and mixers in the freezer before whipping the cream. I have used this mousse as a filling and frosting for a cake, in place of the cream in a strawberry shortcake, and on its own, and all 3 times it was fantastic. I also fold mini chips in after adding the chocolate, you can never have too much chocolate! Thank you for sharing!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2002

      This was very simple to make and it came out grand. I melted the chips for 30 seconds in the microwave instead of doing it on the stove. The flavor is consistant with chocolate mousse I have had before.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2012

      There is a serious pitfall in this recipe that should be mentioned. If the chocolate is not cool enough, and/or the cream is not well-whipped and cool, the mixture will separate badly! I recommend patiently cooling the chocolate completely and refrigerating the cream after whipping. I also think folding the chocolate in by hand is better than with a mixer. Many electric mixers do not have a setting low enough to do this properly. The taste would be improved if better chocolate is used. I also found that there was too much of a whipped cream taste (didn't think that was possible!) and needed a greater proportion of chocolate.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2009

      Mine came out gritty! bummer1 I think it might have been because of the chocolate I used. The whipped cream was the right texture, until I added the chocolate. It still tasted good- but my hubby compared it to chocolate grits! LOL- I made it a second time- but used strawberries pureed and folded into the whipped cream. Didn't taste like grits this time!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2010

      Okay...everyone bear with me. This is aimed at people, like myself, who haven't ever worked with whipping cream. The taste is excellent but I didn't know to keep whipping the cream until it was a "Cool Whip" type texture. Someone also later told me that the longer you whip, the firmer the texture. I'd read to beat the whip 2 minutes, but that was not nearly long enough & thus, my mousse was much too runny vs. being airy. I thought it'd set up, but alas it did not. I will most definitely make again - next time knowing how to better utilize the whipping cream.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2008

      It is probably true that someone who expects the "REAL" chocolate mousse might be disappointed. However, for someone like me who can't tell the difference, this is amazing!! I would suggest that people who do not usually microwave chocolate should not microwave it for this recipe either as it is easier to scortch and make lumpy in the microwave. I made mine it a stainless steel bowl set over a pot of boiling water and it took a good bit of stirring to make the chocolate smooth. I stirred the vanilla and powdered sugar into the cream before whipping. That worked fine. Thanks for an awesome shortcut!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2004

      This is so great, I had to make a chilled desert for a school project with 4 variations so i used different types of chocolate with it. white chocolate works wonders! :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 15, 2014

      I halved the recipe by using 4 ounces bittersweet chocolate chips, 1 cup heavy whipped cream, 1 tbsp sugar powder, and 1 tsp vanilla. I melted the chocolate chips in the microwave and used a blender because I don't have an electronic mixer. The mousse came out great! It's so easy to make and tasted so good! Will make it again for sure!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 10, 2013

      Perfect mousse! It was the crowing glory to my prime rib dinner....all of my guests raved that it was the best mousse they ever had....even laughingly accusing me of picking it up from a local fine restaurant and calling it mine. So elegant but so easy. I served it in individual crystal parfait glasses with a spritz of whipped cream, a sprig of mint and half a strawberry.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 31, 2013

      I looked at a dozen recipes before choosing this one. I substituted black coffee for the water, added a couple of scoops of whipped cream topping and a pair of blackberries. Excellent!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 01, 2013

      Made it exactly as written, and it was excellent!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2013

      An easy and delicious recipie!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2013

      The fact that this mousse has no raw eggs in it is a major plus. We will continue to eat this mousse because of this wonderful feature. I used regular chocolate and melted it in the microwave, I added 2 packs of vanilla flavoured sugar (about 2 tsp), and omitted the sugar.
      Not as good as a chocolate mousse made with raw eggs. Not quite as creamy and light.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2012

      I made a chocolate cake and was looking for a chocolate mousse recipe that sounded good and I'd figure I'd try this one since the ratings were so high. There is definitely something wrong with the recipe because my mousse came out watery and the texture was awful...almost looked like caviar lol! I will definitely not use this recipe again =( I should have read the reviews before making it...I guess you live and learn!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2012

      DD made this for us the other night and it was so simple yet so rich and decadent. She froze the mixer bowl and beaters before whipping the cream and then folded the chocolate in. So good, but next time we need to make our servings smaller as it was too rich to eat it all in one sitting. (not a bad thing). Thank you so much for this awesome dessert.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2012

      Easy and tasty

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chocolate Mousse

    Serving Size: 1 (82 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 358.9
     
    Calories from Fat 274
    76%
    Total Fat 30.5 g
    46%
    Saturated Fat 18.7 g
    93%
    Cholesterol 81.5 mg
    27%
    Sodium 26.2 mg
    1%
    Total Carbohydrate 23.6 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 1.6 g
    6%
    Sugars 19.3 g
    77%
    Protein 2.4 g
    4%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites