Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chocolate Moose Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chocolate Moose

    Average Rating:

    27 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 27

    Sort by:

    • on April 11, 2006

      Oh dear, I'm afraid I had to make a lot of substitutions to this recipe. We don't have moose/meece/mooses (?) in Australia so I had to substitute a large kangaroo. The good thing about using the kangaroo was that he jumped quite readily into the large vat of chocolate, probably thinking it was just another muddy billabong (water hole). Getting him out was also easy as once he hit that hot chocolate he bounded out again faster than Steve Irwin can say, "Crikey"! The biggest problem I had was getting the roo into the refrigerator. I eventually managed by removing all the shelves, but I think his mother must have come from the Snowy Mountains because the cold did not seem to deter him from bouncing one bit. In fact, he bounced so much that the refrigerator slid all the way down the hall and into the bathroom where it wedged itself tightly between the shower recess and the bench. We haven't been able to shower since. I DID, however, manage to open the fridge door and found the roo nicely chilled, if slightly bewildered. We don't have Cool Whip in Australia, so I whipped up half a 44 gallon drum of cream in a cement mixer - the little bits of left-over dried cement provided an interesting texture and saved on buying 50kg of macadamia nuts. By this time I realised I missed a step and should have tied the kangaroo down in the first place, because now it was a real problem getting him onto the platter. I DID wonder whether I should have used a DEAD kangaroo, but the recipe didn't specify this, and I don't like to deviate too much from the instructions when cooking a recipe for the first time. Ultimately, the kangaroo wouldn't sit still for long enough for us to put him on the platter, so, in true Aussie tradition, I just invited the mob over, provided everyone with a boomerang and said, "Help yourselves!". An interesting recipe but perhaps not one I'd try again in a hurry.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2003

      Very Cute!!!! Gotta go buy me a bigger fridge now! LOL

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2006

      I could not afford to send DH to Alaska, but we do have moose here in Washington. In my haste to get him out the door, my note said "Please go hunting for a mouse for dinner". As you can imagine I had way too much chocolate and just a bit too much cool whip. (it was like trying to find the needle (mouse) in the hay stack) I did increase the amount of cherry, I used two because there is two of us. Due to the fact that I made a few changes and I just love chocolate and cool whip I had to rate this a 5 star. Thanks ThatBobbieGirl for a recipe that will be handed down for generations. I think next time I will use bittersweet chocolate to lower the carbs.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2004

      This dessert was the talk of our recent social, and my family loved it! I found that I needed to double the cherries, as one simply wasn't enough. It took awhile to melt the chocolate; I would advise parking yourself on a stool and finding a good book to read while you stir. I highly recommend that timeless page-turner "Antlers in the Treetops" by Who Goosed the Moose.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2004

      On Stella Mae's recommendation, I sussed out this Choccy Covered Moose and must say the results were most gratifying. I served this moose on a very large, single platter for a family reunion. We are 48, at full strength, and found that I had to use 2 moose; mooses; meese.... They was delivered on a flat bed lumber truck. The local chocolate manufacturers were very accommodating in that, when explained the reasons for my request, they obliged me by hoisting up the mooses, with a hydraulic lift and lowering them, simultaneously, into a single vat of melted dark chocolate, for even coating distribution. The antlers were a little tricky; they kept getting intertwined with the horns of the bull used in the telling of this review. For additional flavour, I added 50 kilos of macedamia nuts; anybody can use peanuts; nothing is too good for my family. Thank you for your contribution, and thank you for making RecipeZaar a better place.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2004

      Well, I found that the moose objected to being dipped, so I think it's better to give it a stiff drink first to knock it out. ( I recommend bourbin as it tenderizes the meat.) I served my family a few stiff drinks as well while we waited for the chocolate to set, and by the time the moose was served we all agreed that this is a most delicious recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 25, 2010

      I used a local NH moose, but the recipe was still good!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2008

      Wow. I can't believe RecipeZaar actually has the nutrition facts for a MOOSE! My, that's alot of fat! Isn't there any way to make this dish a bit healthier?

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2006

      As I am from Germany, I also had to make a few adjustments as we do not have moose here. However, we have deer, and I can honestly say that a nice grown-up stag will do just as well, given one or to stiff drinks and persuaded to sign an agreement. I would also recommend to add some coffee liqueur to the chocolate. And check out the vegetable side dish recommendations provided by recipezaar....;oD

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2005

      Okay, so like, I tied antlers to my dog, and he, like, didn't like it, but, so, like, I covered him in the chocolate anyway, but there was like, too much, so I like, used the rest on my husband, and like, now, like, where do I put the cherry?

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 24, 2005

      I had no trouble getting the moosey into the choccy....but warn everyone to make sure the moose is perfectly dry or your chocolate will 'seize' and it's almost impossible to get the ensuing mess out of moose fur.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2004

      I admit, I substituted an elk, we usually do not care for moose, the antlers are much too difficult to coat with the chocolate. This is also a big problem with caribou and reindeer. I used a combination of milk and white chocolate but even though it delicous it was harder to dip. Next time I will just use milk chocolate. I served this with Cool whip and toothpicks to remove the fur from between the teeth, our teeth, not the elk's

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2004

      This delightful treat was especially enjoyable while reading the book: A Chocolate Moose for Dinner by Fred Gwynne

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2003

      Very good recipe. The local kind of moose we have here in Sweden didnĀ“t stay put long enough, so we used a reindeer instead. We will make this Chocolate Reindeer variation again as Christmas table decoration. This is going to be a keeper in our house ;)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 14, 2014

      I just HATE when people post recipes that require difficult to find ingredients! I ended up having to make strawberry moose instead!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2010

      not real

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2007

      very cute and any excues to go to alaska i will do it and well everything is better dipped in choc and coolwhip.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2007

      Thanks for delicious laughter!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2006

      Israel has been hit with the bird flu and we are all going crazy looking for a chocolate mousse recipe that doesn't contain raw eggs. Found it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2005

      I've not had the time to try this yet, but I can hardly wait! We are always looking for new and unusal recipes for family gatherings, and I must say, this one rates right up there with....well that's anther recipe. Thank you so much for sharing. Merry Christmas to all and to all a good night.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chocolate Moose

    Serving Size: 1 (18152 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 90904.1
     
    Calories from Fat 85418
    93%
    Total Fat 9490.9 g
    14601%
    Saturated Fat 5869.6 g
    29348%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 4354.4 mg
    181%
    Total Carbohydrate 5415.1 g
    1805%
    Dietary Fiber 3012.0 g
    12048%
    Sugars 165.9 g
    663%
    Protein 2340.6 g
    4681%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    moose

    Cool Whip

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites