100 Reviews

Super easy and delicious. You need to make sure to follow the recipe exactly or the different layers won't be the same texture.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SuperSpike December 14, 2008

I don't know how I have gone this long and not reviewed this fantastic recipe. I read other comments, and have occasionally added a little milk to the last round of chocolate, so it will smooth out easier. Also, I have substituted the candy coating and extract for Guittard's mint chips, or cappuchino chips...or white chips with orange extract instead. I don't have food colouring so I my orange version looked brown and white! Mint is my favorite but for coffee lovers, I think the cappuchino would be enjoyed.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
The Left Handed Chef July 30, 2008

I liked this a lot, but I didn't give it 5 stars because it wasn't minty enough for me, and it was thick. Next time I make it, it will be in a bigger pan to make them thinner. The mint to chocolate ratio is too slanted for me, and I'll double the mint extract. I'll tell people they are homemade thin mints!! Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mary22 #2 April 28, 2008

It was an amazing recipe! i gave it away as Christmas gifts this year to family and they loved it! :) holds well in the fridge too as long as its completely covered so it doesn't pick up the fridge odors.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
marcusnsarah February 01, 2008

I made the mint layer with Guittard Mint flavored chips instead of the white candy coating; so I didn't need the extract or food coloring, they were already green. It worked perfectly and the fudge set up in about 30 minutes in the freezer. I will be making this again but I might want to experiment with different flavors for the center like orange or raspberry.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
thecatergator January 18, 2008

So good!! Followed the directions and ingredients exactly and it turned out beautiful and delicious! Made a wonderful addition to my Christmas goody tray. Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MarlaM January 05, 2008

I asbolutely LOVE this candy! It is so easy to make and it's SO delicious! I didn't have white candy coating so I used white chocolate chips and it turned out beautifuly each time. I also used Mint extract instead of peppermint (just a preference of mine). Thank you so much for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Girl Scout Mom January 03, 2008

I lagged hard core on getting my cooking supplies together in time- so of course I couldn't find any peppermint extract so I had to sub mint instead.. it came out great, but I am planning on making them again with the peppermint (if I can get my hands on any) I also went to 5 different stores in search for the white candy coating and could not find ANY- so I settled for using white chocolate chips instead- which worked wonderful... Thanks for the post- it was my first time making fudge and it was SUPER EASY and FAST with the bonus of looking very PRETTY AND FESTIVE.. :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mama Jen December 27, 2007

Super yummy and easy! I used a cup of white chocolate chips instead of the coating. Thanks, Marg!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SweetsLady December 27, 2007

This was a hit at my Christmas party. People said that it tastes just like Andes Candies and they were sinfully easy to make. My only trouble was trying to cut them evenly but no one seemed to care.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TyrusG December 27, 2007
Chocolate Mint Candy (Fudge)