99 Reviews

I will rate the fudge part 5 stars but I will say that I tried the Hershey's white chocolate chips to do the peppermint part, as some suggested, and it came out terrible...all greasy & wouldn't spread at all. Next time I will follow directions exactly as stated and use the candy coating.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Classy Gal December 24, 2009

This is a fantastic recipe....I make two batches every year.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Irish350 December 12, 2010

I just made this, and not only does it look great, it tastes amazing! I m going to make an extra batch to take to my sisters for Christmas. I also used the white chocolate chips, but it all firmed up perfectly. Thanks for such a great recipe!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hottpepper December 23, 2010

I made this in the first stage of my holiday baking. I admit that I am not a fan of fudge, but after trying it I know that my friends will love this. I used nestles white chips like others and it did "break" when I added the food coloring and peppermint oil, but after putting it back on the heat for a few more minutes it smoothed out. I found the first layer of the chocolate pretty hard to spread with just a spoon but I tried this for the top and recommend warming an off-set spatula then spraying it with a flavorless nonstick spray to make it easier. Thanks for sharing!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MizEmerilLagasse December 13, 2010

Very tasty, and everyone liked it despite my mess-up.
When adding in the condensed milk, I got a little confused. Weight wise, one cup was the entire can, right? Well, that's what my mind was thinking anyway. So when I doubled it, I put a can in the chocolate, and a can in the mint. It came out really tasty, but the center was less solid than I had hoped and it oozed out if not kept cold.
Used white chocolate chips in place of the candy coating and it tasted fine.
Thanks for the recipe!
--Luna

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Anulazuli July 31, 2010

Like many of the other users, I used white chocolate chips instead of candy coating. I was making them for Christmas so I doubled the white chocolate (12 ounces). The chocolate fudge was a little thicker than I expected, so I didn't separate it and only had 2 layers. To make it fit the season, I put crushed M&Ms on the tops. This was my first fudge and it turned out really well even though I didn't follow the recipe exactly. I will definitely make this again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cdurbin January 08, 2010

this was my first time making fudge - it tasted great. I melted in the microwave, but thought the mixture was a little thick to spread (the picture was much prettier than how mine turned out, but it did taste good and got compliments.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SlimSadie December 27, 2009

Fantastically easy fudge recipe, which was exactly what I was looking for. Got home from the store at 9pm and was able to whip this up in just about an hour, two batches with different flavors and it was my first time. My only caution is be careful with the peppermint extract. You can very easily overdo it. Mine smelled like a shot of Dr. MacGillicuddy's and I had to add more candy chips to tone it down. It's in the fridge setting now, but as another reviewer said, I can already tell it's going to be delicious from my sampling while cooking. Highly recommend!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Refuge December 19, 2009

so easy...and yummy. I used the green vanilla flavored candy wafers, so omitted the food coloring. I'll definitely be making these again. thanks

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ShortieNJ December 15, 2009

Excellent fudge!I used parchment paper in the bottom of the pan instead of foil.I always find that foil tears too easily.I used white chocolate chips instead of candy coating and it turned out perfectly.This is a very nice thick firm fudge.Great recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LuuvBunny November 13, 2009
Chocolate Mint Candy (Fudge)