19 Reviews

What a LOVELY drink this makes! I used Hintz Dutch Processed Cocoa powder today to make this. Next time, I'll try using Ovaltine as I am an Ovaltine lover:) I increased this recipe by three times and made it to give away as gifts today to my cook(Its his b'day and today is NO WAR day in my kitchen, lol) and his friends'. They love it. Oh and I had a glass too(I skipped lunch today, just so I could relish every drop of this);) Wonderful taste - It's got the right amount of creaminess and beautiful texture and colour to boot! Serve this cold and you can make even a nasty cop smile for joy! Infact, it wouldn't be wrong if I said it tastes like it came from the hands of a professional! Thanks for sharing!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Charishma_Ramchandani April 19, 2003

DELICIOUS! I added some whipping cream instead of powdered coffee creamer because I didn't have any, but it still tasted perfect! Thank you! Makes my hot summer day a lot better!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Crazy Dog Lady May 31, 2013

I swear, this is the best milkshake of all time! I also added a little bit of Folger's Classic Roast, and i think that added a lot to the coffee flavor. It was really creamy, and though you couldn't eat this very often because it is pretty high in calories, I give it two thumbs up.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Blujump123 February 12, 2015

this milkshake is the best i have EVER had!!!! i hope you accept my picture!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
iluvsebastion March 27, 2013

Aaaamazing! I made this in my vitamix, so it took seconds to make and was sooo smooth! I have been trying ice cream free milk shake recipes in my vitamix lately and this is THE BEST I've had! The creamer must be the real key to getting it smooth like that. I did add about 1/8 tsp of xanthan gum because I find that it helps to keep the ice from separating, but I'm not sure if that made any difference in this recipe or not (couldn't hurt). Oh, also I used a mixture of truvia and stevia. 2 tablespoons of truvia one dropper full of liquid NuNaturals stevia. PERFECT. My husband, 5 yrs old son and 2 yr old daughter loved it. I used whole raw milk, and I divided these into 4 8oz servings and without using real sugar each serving came out to about 100 calories. Awesome! I'll be having this a lot!
I'll for sure tey the orange Julius version of this!! I bet it's amazing. Thanks for this!! :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dr_kaley October 24, 2012

I changed this up enough that I woun't give it stars, but we LOVE what I came up with. My girls all loved it, though, and we will be making it again and again :) I cut the sugar in half and got rid of the powdered creamer. I added a very ripe banana to the mix. Next time I will cut the sugar even more and maybe even cut back a bit on the cocoa powder.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TryingTraditional July 08, 2010

THAT WAS DA BOMB!!!! all the other recipes i tried were lame! yours is the BEST by far! :D

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sha-Tay-Tay March 01, 2010

This is delicious!! I added some banana to it and it's great :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
foreverxalways July 14, 2009

This was great! I didn't have the creamer so I used 1 teaspoon of Dream Whip powdered mix. It worked really good and either the creamer/Dream Whip mix is what my non-ice cream shakes have been missing. It adds an additional creaminess!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lgc03 May 15, 2009

Oh wow! This is good and to think it has no ice cream!!! I just made this only I added 1/8 cup of coffee (I always keep a jar of coffee in my fridge for occasions such as this. This is so good! I think next time I will add a bit more coffee to it though as I love my cold coffee drinks! Thanks so much for posting this super easy alternative to an ice cream shake!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Stacy Likes ta Cook March 26, 2009
Chocolate Milkshakes With No Ice Cream!