11 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Like others have noted, there is something off about the cocoa to sugar ratio in this recipe. It makes it overly rich and taste like straight cocoa. The meringue turned out good. And no I didn't just not make it right, I'm not an idiot and I've been baking since I was 12 so I know how to make a pie. I wouldnt recommend this recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bakingbeast November 15, 2012

Either too much sugar or too little cocoa. It looked good, set well but I really don't recommend the chocolate filing. I would never make it again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dianec24 January 24, 2012

This was wonderful, everything came out perfect. I used Stevia instead of sugar in the filling which gave it a yucky aftertaste, so I would not recommend that. But that was all me, the recipe was excellent.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mom2MMCJ July 11, 2011

Very Good!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
elena10 June 29, 2011

Mine came out successfully (I used a pre-made crust because I can't make a pie crust to save my life). I just did not like the taste of the chocolate filling. It set perfectly and the meringue was perfect, but the filling just did not have good flavor. What I need is Marie Callender's recipe. That is the perfect chocolate meringue pie.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Belahn September 29, 2009

I'll add my 5 stars, although I think I added a little too much sugar and maybe a tad too much cocoa! My husband loves it and wants me to make it again, ( he hasn't finished this one, yet). But an excellent recipe! I liked the way the eggs are whisked in 'before' it's put on the heat. Makes for a smoother consistency than adding the egg yolks at the end. Will do this with all my cream pies from now on. Thanks PCrocker!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Swbuda May 17, 2007

This is heavenly! My husband said this was the best pie he'd had in a long time! I made this on a rainy day and the meringue still held up and worked perfectly. We all loved it. I will definitely be making this alot. Oh...I did use the special dark cocoa from Hershey's instead of the reg. which gives it a more intense chocolate flavor. Thanks so much!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
zaar mate May 03, 2007

I made this pie for Easter and it was a HUGE hit! This recipe was easy and I am again making it for a dinner party this weekend, thanks for a wonderful recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cyn April 20, 2007

This is my first time making chocolate meringue pie. It was excellent. I don't need to look any further for the best chocolate pie recipe. This is it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pobo April 15, 2007

Thank you PCROCKER for this wonderful recipe-the whole family loved it!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
5mothergoose May 07, 2006
Chocolate Meringue Pie