14 Reviews

Delicious cookies! Taste like brownies. I only gave it 4 stars because the vinegar and vanilla should be added before the sugar to stabilize the egg whites and the cookies come out better if piped out of a pastry/icing bag.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Harmoni December 29, 2012

My first time making meringue cookies and they came out fabulous. I chopped up half the chocolate chips (for pretty flecks of chocolate in the cookies) and melted the other half and folded both in. I also added about 1 teaspoon of cocoa powder. GREAT for a chocolate craving without the guilt. Next time, I could add a little less sugar because they were super sweet. Otherwise, great recipe, easy to make, will make again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
IHeartFoodMmm September 30, 2010

i LOVE this recipe. the only thing i did different was that i added a couple teaspoons of cocoa powder. i also used some toasted macadamia nuts. everyone at work loved them.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Terra May 10, 2006

the most delicious meringues EVER!!!! I used balsamic vinegar which went great with the chocolate flavor. And you have to be VERY careful with the baking to get the right chewy inside, crispy outside texture- make sure your oven temp is right and take them out when they look crackly at 10 minutes or they can get too dry. also, make smallish, 1-bite size cookies, because they crumble when you take a bite. (I have made them 3 times this week- great for passover) I wil probably make them 3 more times next week!!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MSMD310 April 26, 2005

Very nice cookies. They are yummy and gooey on the inside. Be sure to leave enough space between the cookies (as the recipe says) because they can spread a lot. Thanks for this recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ozzzie April 25, 2004

I've been on a meringue cookie kick for a couple of weeks now. The first reviewer on the page I agree with, the acid should be added before the sugar. I however, didn't use Vinegar. I used 1/8th of a teaspoon of Cream of Tartar (recommended for two egg whites). I also put the "Castor" (extra fine) sugar in the oven to warm up, that also makes the meringue rise taller. As the first reviewer said, use a pastry bag, absolutely! Dropping teaspoons is fine but if you want a gooey chewy crisp cookie use a bag. I made them at the temperature recommended but won't do that next time. The meringue stood up to the warm melted chocolate. Next time I will set the oven at 180 and let them get crisp and the center will be more chocolate gooey. I understand this recipe was just adapted from another book, but it's good but one recommendation try not to write instructions as you would for children. Those of us who bake often like to get to the point. We also can't say relatively low in fat when the amount of fat in nuts varies. I omitted the nuts.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Randi G. September 02, 2015

Oh, so good! Adding melted chocolate to meringues makes these little treats decadent with a yummy chocolatey gooey inside. I omitted the nuts but won't next time. Used a silpat and, unlike plain meringues, these do spread a bit. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LonghornMama July 10, 2011

These were really good. I made as directed except I used 1/4 tsp vanilla and 1/4 tsp peppermint extract. Delicious!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marne February 25, 2011

Oh my word, these are amazing little things! My 3 year old daughter "helped" me make them. They were so easy and they really do taste like little brownies! I'll have to try to make them smaller next time - they turned out perfectly done this time, but I do think I'd prefer to have them bite size to reduce crumbs. Thank you!!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jonsbeka July 29, 2010

Guess I didn't work with the batter quick enough. It turns more chewy and less crispy than I would like. I reduced the sugar by 2 Tbsp. Nice recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
myoungp November 08, 2009
Chocolate Meringue Cookies