Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chocolate Meringue Cookies Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chocolate Meringue Cookies

    Average Rating:

    13 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-13 of 13

    Sort by:

    • on December 29, 2012

      Delicious cookies! Taste like brownies. I only gave it 4 stars because the vinegar and vanilla should be added before the sugar to stabilize the egg whites and the cookies come out better if piped out of a pastry/icing bag.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2010

      My first time making meringue cookies and they came out fabulous. I chopped up half the chocolate chips (for pretty flecks of chocolate in the cookies) and melted the other half and folded both in. I also added about 1 teaspoon of cocoa powder. GREAT for a chocolate craving without the guilt. Next time, I could add a little less sugar because they were super sweet. Otherwise, great recipe, easy to make, will make again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2004

      Very nice cookies. They are yummy and gooey on the inside. Be sure to leave enough space between the cookies (as the recipe says) because they can spread a lot. Thanks for this recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2011

      Oh, so good! Adding melted chocolate to meringues makes these little treats decadent with a yummy chocolatey gooey inside. I omitted the nuts but won't next time. Used a silpat and, unlike plain meringues, these do spread a bit. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2011

      These were really good. I made as directed except I used 1/4 tsp vanilla and 1/4 tsp peppermint extract. Delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 29, 2010

      Oh my word, these are amazing little things! My 3 year old daughter "helped" me make them. They were so easy and they really do taste like little brownies! I'll have to try to make them smaller next time - they turned out perfectly done this time, but I do think I'd prefer to have them bite size to reduce crumbs. Thank you!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2009

      Guess I didn't work with the batter quick enough. It turns more chewy and less crispy than I would like. I reduced the sugar by 2 Tbsp. Nice recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 03, 2008

      Max & I made these yesterday for the first time. They were such I hit, I made more this afternoon to take to a dance this evening. This time I followed the suggestions to work quickly and make them bite-sized. They turned out even better and it made 55 cookies. These will now be part of my potluck repertoire! Thanks for sharing!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 10, 2006

      i LOVE this recipe. the only thing i did different was that i added a couple teaspoons of cocoa powder. i also used some toasted macadamia nuts. everyone at work loved them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2005

      the most delicious meringues EVER!!!! I used balsamic vinegar which went great with the chocolate flavor. And you have to be VERY careful with the baking to get the right chewy inside, crispy outside texture- make sure your oven temp is right and take them out when they look crackly at 10 minutes or they can get too dry. also, make smallish, 1-bite size cookies, because they crumble when you take a bite. (I have made them 3 times this week- great for passover) I wil probably make them 3 more times next week!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2005

      The only thing I will do differently next time is to put all of the meringue on parchment paper as soon as I am done mixing it, then load the paper onto the cookie sheets as I am ready to put them in the oven. The meringue becomes a little harder to work with when you let it sit too long. I am a chocoholic on a low-fat diet, and these cookies are chocolatey and rich enough tasting to satisfy my chocolate cravings without breaking all the rules. I've tried making brownies with applesauce to replace fat and have hated every recipe I've tried. I thought these cookies were GREAT (so did everyone at work)! The recipe went together beautifully for me - quick and easy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2004

      I found these harder to work with then meringues where you use cocoa powder. When you add the melted chocolate it very quickly changes the texture of the meringue and I found you had to work very fast at that point. That said, these do have a nice flavor. And only cook them until they are just firm, no matter how much you think "These are NOT done on the inside"! Because they will harden and firm as they cool. Nice chocolate flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2004

      I was not overly thrilled with the cookies, but my wife and her friends LOVED them. I guess its a female thing. They did have a good taste. My cookies did not spread very much at all. Maybe I beat the meringue too long.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chocolate Meringue Cookies

    Serving Size: 1 (12 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 36

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 34.6
     
    Calories from Fat 12
    36%
    Total Fat 1.4 g
    2%
    Saturated Fat 0.8 g
    4%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 3.6 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 5.8 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 0.2 g
    1%
    Sugars 5.3 g
    21%
    Protein 0.4 g
    0%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites