17 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

SUPERB cake! The cake part is so light, it almost melts in your mouth and the frosting is rich & chocolaty. I'm not a big cake fan and have rarely baked them over the years, but I'll make an exception for this one. It's particularly nice, compared to the everything-but-the-kitchen-sink type of cakes that always seem to be served. I used all-purpose flour (didn't have unbleached) and doubled the frosting (my husband is a chocolate&frosting maniac) and it came out great. I only had to bake it 30 minutes by my oven. So very glad you found and shared this recipe!

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kat in Texas February 01, 2003

Excellent cake and very easy to make. I used a cream cheese icing rather than the one listed with the recipe because...well...we like cream cheese icing. I made a layer cake in addition to the 9x13 sheet cake called for by the recipe. The baking time for the layer cake was 28 minutes. It was 40 minutes for the sheet cake.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mark H. November 15, 2004

my my!!!!!! it was awesome! i didn't have regular mayo but i did have kRAft's mayo-and-sweet-chilli sauce mix instead. i used that..and it was good...no chilli taste watsoeva.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Larie August 18, 2003

I thought this cake was great. I normally don't care for chocolate cake, but loved this one. Not overly sweet at all, but just enough that the kids loved it! It makes a thick 9X13" cake which was great for my son's birthday party!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
honeybee0876 July 30, 2009

This cake was a horrid mess. The 3 tsp of baking soda was over kill. 3 cups of flour needed more than 1 1/2 cup sugar. Also less water. My grand kids took one taste and said "yuck". I tasted and was also grossed out. Threw entire cake in the garbage. The taste of baking soda was the nail in the coffin. I will try again using baking powder, more sugar, less water and common sense. This cake has great potential.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CheeCheedivine July 23, 2009

This cake was good the 2nd time I made it, the first time I used cheap mayo and paid the price, the edges turned out hard and crunchy

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MissMoniijea February 15, 2009

Nice, not too sweet. I didn't make the icing and found that it could be a bit sweeter.. but I guess combined with the icing, this cake would be perfect. Thank you for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
j.sugiarto January 28, 2009

I made this as a request from my sister for her birthday. It is moist, chocolately, and SO easy to put together. I used this with Kittencal's Chocolate Frosting/Icing and got rave reviews from the entire family.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef to my coworkers January 25, 2009

This cake is so moist and tasty! Everyone is raving about it. I used all-purpose flour, as I had it on hand already. Turned out just fine. I didn't try the frosting- I ran short of time.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
scfl76 December 27, 2008

I made this today. It was so good! Moist but light in texture, while full in flavor. My friends all loved it. This was so easy and you can't taste the mayo at all. Who would've thought?

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
abbylw June 26, 2008
Chocolate Mayonnaise Sheet Cake