Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chocolate Mayonnaise Sheet Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chocolate Mayonnaise Sheet Cake

    Average Rating:

    17 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-17 of 17

    Sort by:

    • on February 01, 2003

      SUPERB cake! The cake part is so light, it almost melts in your mouth and the frosting is rich & chocolaty. I'm not a big cake fan and have rarely baked them over the years, but I'll make an exception for this one. It's particularly nice, compared to the everything-but-the-kitchen-sink type of cakes that always seem to be served. I used all-purpose flour (didn't have unbleached) and doubled the frosting (my husband is a chocolate&frosting maniac) and it came out great. I only had to bake it 30 minutes by my oven. So very glad you found and shared this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2004

      Excellent cake and very easy to make. I used a cream cheese icing rather than the one listed with the recipe because...well...we like cream cheese icing. I made a layer cake in addition to the 9x13 sheet cake called for by the recipe. The baking time for the layer cake was 28 minutes. It was 40 minutes for the sheet cake.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 18, 2003

      my my!!!!!! it was awesome! i didn't have regular mayo but i did have kRAft's mayo-and-sweet-chilli sauce mix instead. i used that..and it was good...no chilli taste watsoeva.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 30, 2009

      I thought this cake was great. I normally don't care for chocolate cake, but loved this one. Not overly sweet at all, but just enough that the kids loved it! It makes a thick 9X13" cake which was great for my son's birthday party!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 23, 2009

      This cake was a horrid mess. The 3 tsp of baking soda was over kill. 3 cups of flour needed more than 1 1/2 cup sugar. Also less water. My grand kids took one taste and said "yuck". I tasted and was also grossed out. Threw entire cake in the garbage. The taste of baking soda was the nail in the coffin. I will try again using baking powder, more sugar, less water and common sense. This cake has great potential.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2009

      This cake was good the 2nd time I made it, the first time I used cheap mayo and paid the price, the edges turned out hard and crunchy

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2009

      Nice, not too sweet. I didn't make the icing and found that it could be a bit sweeter.. but I guess combined with the icing, this cake would be perfect. Thank you for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2009

      I made this as a request from my sister for her birthday. It is moist, chocolately, and SO easy to put together. I used this with Kittencal's Chocolate Frosting/Icing and got rave reviews from the entire family.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2008

      This cake is so moist and tasty! Everyone is raving about it. I used all-purpose flour, as I had it on hand already. Turned out just fine. I didn't try the frosting- I ran short of time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2008

      I made this today. It was so good! Moist but light in texture, while full in flavor. My friends all loved it. This was so easy and you can't taste the mayo at all. Who would've thought?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2008

    • on February 15, 2008

      This is a great recipe. I made four of these for a Parish retreat tomorrow (2/16/08) to serve 70 people. I try to keep the costs down and mayonnaise is a lot cheaper than butter and eggs. The cakes were a breeze, but the icing which I left until the last after making 4 lasagnas etc, was a bear. I think it's because I was making enough to ice 4 cakes, but I thought I would never get it thick enough to ice the cakes. I feared my little hand mixer would go up in smoke. Next time I'm dumping the pan into the 6 qt Kitechaid bowl and let my stand mixer do the work. However, the icing has a great flavor, even though I just threw everything into the pot at once, instead of adding the vanilla and chocolate chips after it boiled. Great cake, great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2008

      Making cake with mayo and chocolate frosting with brown sugar were totally new concepts for me, so I didn't know what to expect! The result was a fantastic, easy to make cake with incredible frosting that everyone absolutely raved over! Count me in as a convert - I'm hooked! I doubled the frosting and it was just right! Thanks for the great post!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2007

      The best chocolate cake I've ever tasted, and so simple to make. I used brown sugar icing,from Chocolate Mayonnaise Cake. Thank you for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2006

      Did not like very well. The moistness was good and it raised very nicely but had too much of a baking soda taste. Would not follow this recipe again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 21, 2002

    • on November 14, 2001

    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chocolate Mayonnaise Sheet Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (112 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 16

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 343.7
     
    Calories from Fat 101
    29%
    Total Fat 11.2 g
    17%
    Saturated Fat 3.3 g
    16%
    Cholesterol 12.4 mg
    4%
    Sodium 491.0 mg
    20%
    Total Carbohydrate 58.8 g
    19%
    Dietary Fiber 1.1 g
    4%
    Sugars 35.5 g
    142%
    Protein 3.2 g
    6%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites