10 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I know this recipe but for all those who are trying it for the first time, add more cocoa...maybe about 6 tbsp or more for a better flavour.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Judi90 September 19, 2007

This cake is good, but it was not quite what I was looking for. It was not sweet enough or chocolate-y enough for me, even topped with a rich whipped cream frosting. It was, however, incredibly moist, which I suppose is due to the mayonnaise. This is the first tme I've ever tried making a cake with mayo, and I must say that as far as the texture goes, I was impressed. Still, I thought it needed more flavor and sweetness.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Two Socks January 09, 2007

WOW! so simple and easy and yet SO good. Made exactly as directed using Cake flour. A Moist, tender cake and not too sweet. Topped with with ganache frosting and toasted pecan pieces. Simply delish! Thanks for sharing, Georgie!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mind_84 November 15, 2006

Excellent cake! And... I had all of the ingredients handy. I prepared as directed above and used the Hershey's "Special Dark" cocoa. This cake was moist and delicious. I will be making this one again and again. Thank you so much for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
smiles4u May 07, 2006

If you *really* want to try something amazing, add a third step to this very simple process for a cheescake-like filling. I combine 1 cup of cugar, 8 oz. of cream cheese, and an egg - blend until smoothe, then pour into the bottom of the pan before adding cake mix. Top the cheese mixture with some chocolate chips, then pour the cake batter over it all and back as directed. The cheese mixture sets up like cheesecake and you have this amazing, dense little layer of yum yums on the bottom of the cake. I then ice with a simple dark chocolate gnash - it's AMAZING!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Lisa Price December 11, 2005

This cake is dangerous, especially when combined with German Chocolate Cake Icing, German Chocolate Icing. My mother gave me this recipe, except with 2 squares of unsweetened chocolate instead of cocoa. Will definitely be making this again, at the expense of my health.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
me2006 June 03, 2005

I used this for a reduced sugar version with outstanding results: I use 1 and 1/4 cup splenda and 1/4 sugar. So much better than the sweet and low cake mixes you can buy. Kathy

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kathy gardner January 25, 2004

This recipe produced a cake that was light in texture, moist and very rich in flavor. The only deviation I made was to use cake flour instead of AP flour. This recipe is definitely a keeper! ;) Cassandra Renz

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cassandra Renz August 05, 2003

I made this cake this morning and topped with mocha frosting. I used Kraft Light Mayo instead of regular because that was all I had. Unfortunately that was a mistake. It has a dry, thick texture. The recipe warned me and I did it anyway :) Next time I will be sure and use reg. mayo! (Could it also have something to do with the fact that I live at 5400 ft elevation?) The flavor is good though, and my 3 year old had two pieces and said over and over that it was ssoo good. It was not difficult at all to make. I won't rate it with stars until I make it again with the reg. mayo. Thanks...

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~Lana~ April 09, 2003

Leo, I made your cake for my co-workers and they all loved it. I frosted it with Duncan Hines Homestyle Milk Chocolate frosting. Very easy, moist chocolate cake. I will be making this cake often. :) Linda

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nurslinda April 01, 2003
Chocolate Mayonnaise Cake