Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chocolate Mayonnaise Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chocolate Mayonnaise Cake

    Average Rating:

    17 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-17 of 17

    Sort by:

    • on December 03, 2002

      Super good cake. The frosting is to die for! It reminds me of the frosting my aunt used on her caramel cake. I caught my DH eating it with a spoon out of the pan on one of his midnight snack runs! Oh well, I made it for him since he is a chocolate fanatic! NurseDI, keep sending these great recipes. I think my DH is in love with you! Hee! Hee!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2002

      I made this for my granddaughter's birthday. It was so rich, moist and very chocolaty. We all thought the brown sugar frosting was exceptional. A chocolate lover's dream come true. Very deserving of 5-stars in our opinion. Thanks Nurse Di.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2001

      Hi There, This is Julie,the mayo makes the cake moist the secret is not to use a tangy mayonaise as this will affect the tast .Use Hellmans or Miracle whip I use the former and have made this cake many times so do try it I think you,ll be pleasantly surprised!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2003

      I am sorry to say I was VERY disapointed from this cake. At best it tasted like a cake out of a box, not like a rich chocolat home made cake.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 21, 2010

      This cake was so moist and delicious. I used Kraft mayonnaise and did not have any sort of chemical or tangy aftertaste at all. Thank you for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2006

      Julie this was a fantastic cake,very moist.We all loved it and I am going to make it again many times in the future. Love your recipes. Keep them coming!Valerie.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2004

      Yes, the cake was moist and went together quickly but sorry I did not like it. I used Best Foods/Hellman mayonnaise so I did use a good brand. The cake had an undertone of something chemically. I would not make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2004

      Soooo easy, I made this for our friends birthday...it was a hit with the older crowd, some of the little kids didnt like the "homemade" taste, i think it was great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2003

      We loved this cake!!! The moistest chocolate cake I have ever tasted. Melted in the mouth. The frosting was good too. Very sweet and rich in flavor. Would definitely make this again. Thank-you Nurse Di.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2003

      We had a single friend over for his 39th b-day and he loved this cake. Everyone else did too. I had to cook it 15 minutes longer (and cover the sides in foil) because I used an 8" square pan. I also only used 3/4 C sifted powdered sugar for the frosting, and could have used less, because it thickened up right away (thankfully I added it gradually as you directed). All in all, it was a big hit! Thank you for yet another delicious offering.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2003

      Yummm! What a delicous cake; I loved the frosting especially. I also loved people's reactions when I told them there was mayonnaise in it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2003

      This was my dessert offering for Super Bowl Sunday. Woo-Hoo!! Sooo moist and rich in chocolate flavor. But the clincher is that frosting. Wow!! Who knew that brown sugar frosting could taste so good. The perfect compliment for the chocolate cake we thought. Everyone agreed, a hands-down more than 5-star winner. Thanks for your awesome recipes Nurse Di.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2002

      I've madet this cake for years, and it is the most requested birthday cake in our home! BUT... I make peanut butter frosting by mixing # of powdered sugar, thinned to a glaze consistancy with milk, then with about a cup or so of peanut butter mixed in, or until a nice spreading consistancy. YOu need to make the frosting RIGHT before spreading it, because it stiffens up, making it a firm frosting. I like to spread the frosting pretty thickly, because it is SO wonderful! Try!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2002

      I have made this cake many times over the years, and I believe it was in the 1950's that it won one of the popular Pillsbury or Betty Crocker bake-off contests, which used to be a very big deal. My recipe is slightly different as it can be made with water or left-over black coffee for a mocha flavor. No, it doesn't taste like mayonaise because the ingredients in mayonaise are the same as what you would use to prepare a "scratch" cake.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 16, 2002

      I did not use the frosting recipe...had chocolate frosting with it, so I can't comment on that but the cake is not quite chocolately? enough for me. The cake comes out very moist, but I love a richer chocolate taste. For people who are not chocolate fanatics...you would probably enjoy it more than me. This is my mother-in-law's favorite cake...she makes it a lot, so it's just a matter of opinion :) The important thing is: Mayo is made of eggs and oil which is what most cakes are made of...the cake DOES NOT taste like mayo!!! P.S. I used Hellmann's too :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2002

      Lovely moist chocolate cake, I liked it because the cake itself wasnt too sweet, the icing was deliciously sweet and a perfect topping for the cake, thanks for posting. =)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2001

      I cant bring myself round to the idea of making a cake with mayo in it...it just seems so...umm...wrong! Can you describe the taste... does it taste of mayo? do you notice the mayo in it at all??? I will try this cake... But I'm rather wary about it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chocolate Mayonnaise Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (169 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 717.9
     
    Calories from Fat 195
    27%
    Total Fat 21.7 g
    33%
    Saturated Fat 7.1 g
    35%
    Cholesterol 31.2 mg
    10%
    Sodium 764.7 mg
    31%
    Total Carbohydrate 128.9 g
    42%
    Dietary Fiber 2.0 g
    8%
    Sugars 87.9 g
    351%
    Protein 5.4 g
    10%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes