17 Reviews

Super good cake. The frosting is to die for! It reminds me of the frosting my aunt used on her caramel cake. I caught my DH eating it with a spoon out of the pan on one of his midnight snack runs! Oh well, I made it for him since he is a chocolate fanatic! NurseDI, keep sending these great recipes. I think my DH is in love with you! Hee! Hee!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dianne03 December 03, 2002

I made this for my granddaughter's birthday. It was so rich, moist and very chocolaty. We all thought the brown sugar frosting was exceptional. A chocolate lover's dream come true. Very deserving of 5-stars in our opinion. Thanks Nurse Di.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Laylagirl September 09, 2002

Hi There, This is Julie,the mayo makes the cake moist the secret is not to use a tangy mayonaise as this will affect the tast .Use Hellmans or Miracle whip I use the former and have made this cake many times so do try it I think you,ll be pleasantly surprised!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Norahs Girl October 25, 2001

I am sorry to say I was VERY disapointed from this cake. At best it tasted like a cake out of a box, not like a rich chocolat home made cake.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ariela Gugenheim October 09, 2003

This cake was so moist and delicious. I used Kraft mayonnaise and did not have any sort of chemical or tangy aftertaste at all. Thank you for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Barenaked Chef May 21, 2010

Julie this was a fantastic cake,very moist.We all loved it and I am going to make it again many times in the future. Love your recipes. Keep them coming!Valerie.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
VALERIEA December 01, 2006

Yes, the cake was moist and went together quickly but sorry I did not like it. I used Best Foods/Hellman mayonnaise so I did use a good brand. The cake had an undertone of something chemically. I would not make again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cookiebaker March 28, 2004

Soooo easy, I made this for our friends birthday...it was a hit with the older crowd, some of the little kids didnt like the "homemade" taste, i think it was great.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kid Chef Kaelin February 28, 2004

We loved this cake!!! The moistest chocolate cake I have ever tasted. Melted in the mouth. The frosting was good too. Very sweet and rich in flavor. Would definitely make this again. Thank-you Nurse Di.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lillian Martinez December 22, 2003

We had a single friend over for his 39th b-day and he loved this cake. Everyone else did too. I had to cook it 15 minutes longer (and cover the sides in foil) because I used an 8" square pan. I also only used 3/4 C sifted powdered sugar for the frosting, and could have used less, because it thickened up right away (thankfully I added it gradually as you directed). All in all, it was a big hit! Thank you for yet another delicious offering.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Literary Mom August 07, 2003
Chocolate Mayonnaise Cake