31 Reviews

Was pressed for time so instead of making cookies (time consuming to drop onto cookie sheet one by one) I doubled the batch and spread evenly on a 9x13 pan (put parchment paper on pan first) and cooled in fridge. When cooled, I cut into squares and voila, the best! Bite sized heavenly morsels and no fussing making cookies. All the guests loved it. I omitted 1/2 cup of sugar when I doubled the batch as I had only sweetened coconut on hand. Had great results from boiling 2 min as well. Didn't find them too dry or sticky, just right. Would do it this way again as it was a huge time saver.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Runningfun October 12, 2014

very tasty but not hard enough to stick together to serve as a cookie. Messy! Instructions should say to boil longer than 2 minutes.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mamabeach December 21, 2011

So good. I made this five days ago. My husband ate almost half of them in a day. I'm making them again right now. I might let the mixture boil a wee bit longer this time. I think I took them off early, because they were much softer than I expected.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GondolaQueen July 14, 2011

Very tasty and easy to make! We enjoyed these very much. I love the coconut and used old-fashioned rolled oats and that made them nice and chewy. Thanks for sharing this recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lola59 August 23, 2010

These are NOT macaroons. These are oatmeal peanut butter cookies Macaroons are made with egg whites

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marla Summers October 18, 2015

Best no bake cookies ever! I misread the directions and boiled for 4 minutes. They are good and rich this way

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KoshkaOFC August 23, 2015

After reading the reviews, I've given this recipe a whirl. Didn't have white sugar so used demerara brown sugar, and used about 3/4 cups of coconut (because I love coconut). Boiled it for 3 minutes as per some of the reviews, mixed it all in the same pot and voila! They have now chilled for an hour or so. They are chewy, hold together well, and taste fantastic. Excellent recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Countryfoodgal August 22, 2015

Make this one all the time. I add a little extra oatmeal to make them a little thicker and use one of those ice cream trigger scoops to make the perfect portion. Add a half maraschino cherry on top and it's amazing. My kids love them.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
James C. July 27, 2015

just made these today, the recipe is delicious but i am wondering if maybe there should be more oatmeal and coconut to make them less runny, if not what can i do to make them less runny? I ended up having to spread the mix out into a pan like brownie mix lol. even still they run into each other if you try to cut even after being cooled

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Anonymous May 21, 2015

Use an ice cream scoop then sharpen into small bowl and place 2 or 3 mini eggs and you have easter birds nests

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Loui G. April 06, 2015
Chocolate Macaroons - No Bake