Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chocolate Lover's Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chocolate Lover's Cake

    Average Rating:

    21 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 21

    Sort by:

    • on February 07, 2004

      I made this for my chocolate loving son's birthday, but was very disappointed with the results. I ended up having to bake the cake for about 80 minutes. Sorry, but we just found this TOO moist, like the cake wasn't baked enough. I sprayed the pan well, as suggested but even after leaving it to cool for almost three hours, I still had part of the cake stuck to the pan.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2004

      I have made this cake only i added chopped pecans and chocolate chips in the mix and on top as a decoration , the cake was wonderful, almost like a brownie cake. I used two 8 inch pans and made it into a layer cake. I will make this again and again, It was very gooood!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2011

      Fabulous! I used both semisweet and bittersweet morsels, and substituted vanilla pudding for chocolate pudding as that was that I had on hand. I baked it about 10 minutes longer than called for, but I used a stoneware bundt pan, which takes a bit longer to get hot. The cake came out of the pan beautifully, and a little dusting of powdered sugar was all it needed to finish it off. My husband gives it two thumbs up!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2010

      Absolutely wonderful!! Needed something to make with what I had on hand....this was just right! Everyone thought it was perfect with the powdered sugar dusting. Took it to a party & everyone asked for the recipe. Making again tonight!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2008

      I'm cleaning out the pantry and using what I have to bake/cook something every day. I've used similar recipes in the past, but I think this one is more moist and delicious. I used a white frosting on it - not that it needed any more sweetness - but my DH can't (won't) eat cake without it. The bonus is that I got rid of the can of frosting. It took about 8 extra minutes to bake in a bundt pan. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2008

      I have been craving chocolate cake for a few weeks now and decided to look for a recipe to make one. WOW! Did I find a great one! I used 1 1/2 cups of the mini semi sweet morsels but that's the only thing I did differently. I had a dark non-stick bundt pan so I did not spray it and it made a bit of a mess coming out. My presentation got a zero but it tasted oh so good! Thanks for the recipe that stopped my craving!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2006

      Excellent cake! I didn't have a 4-oz package of instant pudding (the six-serving size), but I did have a small box of chocolate and a small box of vanilla -- so I used all of the chocolate & 1/2 of the vanilla one -- I figured that would be about the right amount. I also ran out of oil (had about a 1/4 cup), so I made up the difference with a little extra sour cream. The cake baked up nice & high, and came out of the bundt pan easily. The cake was very dense, moist & VERY chocolate-y. In my opinion it doesn't even need the powdered sugar (let alone an icing or frosting). Thanks for posting! -M =)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2006

      This cake was good and easy to make. I did put a chocolate glaze(butter, confectioner's sugar, cocoa and hot water) on the top of the cake, then dusted with confectioner's sugar. My BF and guests enjoyed this cake.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2006

      Awesome, easy, incredibly moist cake. What more could you ask for. Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 24, 2006

      I make this cake - but my recipe is called "Cavity Causing Cake"! It is wonderful!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 23, 2006

    • on May 21, 2006

      A sucessful cake! Thanks for the detailed instructions on preparing the pan and how to handle the cake after baking. Finally a cake that didn't fall apart. I accidently left out the water in the recipe (oops). The cake is still very good. It went over well; for after dinner on the deck watching the sun set. Thanks for making my weekend.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2006

      This cake was one of the best chocolate cakes I have ever tasted. I was told by my family "I had better make this cake again and don't lose the recipe as I usually do!". LOL Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2005

      This cake has been around for years and I have made it often and it is always a winner! Made it for a bake sale on Sunday. We always called it Chocolate Cavity Maker! Always a favorite.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 21, 2005

      The whole family loves this one! It's very forgiving and adaptable, too, as others have noted. I routinely use low fat sour cream and egg substitute for some or all of the eggs. we tried adding coffee once, but even with a tablespoon of espresso powder, couldn't really notice a coffee aspect to the flavor. I think that's because the base chocolate flavor is so dense and rich.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2005

      Great cake! It was easy to put together with items that I always have on hand. Best part was that it was so rich and moist that it did not need icing, so it was great to send to school for my kids lunch and I didn't have to worry about sticky clothes and fingers! The icing always sticks to the top of the container anyway!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2005

      A quick and easy crowd-pleaser that handles adaptations and substitutions well...just what I needed! I replaced have of the oil with applesauce (1/4 c) as I often do in cakes. Then I discovered that I only had 1/2 c sour cream, but that I also had 1/2 c cottage cheese left so I used that...worked great! The hardest part was waiting through the 40 min of cooling time until we could cut into it, lol. Dh and the kids loved it, especially the gooey spots of chocolate chips inside. I appreciated the ease of preparation, how moist it was, and that it surprisingly wasn't overly sweet. I dusted with powdered sugar as did others; looked great! This will be terrific when I need to throw together something for the girls' troop meetings, potlucks, etc. Thanks SO much for posting! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2004

      I mistakenly used cook & serve pudding instead of instant and still received raves for this cake. It is dense and moist, and the chocolate chips form wonderful little pockets of creamy chocolate. I only dusted with powdered sugar, and it made a beautiful presentation. One young guest didn't think the cake was real...she thought it was too pretty. LOL I will be making this cake again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2004

      This is a awesome cake. It is so rich and moist. Preparing the batter was a snap,and I made it a day early and the cake was wonderfully tasty. I sprinkled powdered sugar on the top as suggested and all my guests loved it. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2004

      This recipe is easy to follow and easy to prepare. The results are a very good chocolate cake. I melted some white chocolate and drizzled it over the top. I think this cake is at it's best 2 or 3 days after baking it. Thanks for sharing this delicious recipe newspapergal!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chocolate Lover's Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (133 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 481.9
     
    Calories from Fat 249
    51%
    Total Fat 27.6 g
    42%
    Saturated Fat 9.1 g
    45%
    Cholesterol 71.9 mg
    23%
    Sodium 532.6 mg
    22%
    Total Carbohydrate 58.9 g
    19%
    Dietary Fiber 2.6 g
    10%
    Sugars 40.0 g
    160%
    Protein 6.1 g
    12%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites