Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chocolate Liqueur Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chocolate Liqueur

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on July 05, 2007

      This is a preliminary report--the ingredients have been combined as directed; the jars are sitting on a shelf in a cool dark place and being shaken every two days. We are eagerly awaiting the results. Update: Five months later--I have FINALLY strained the liqueur. It took AGES. End result: an absolutely GORGEOUS, nearly clear dark liqueur. It tastes very chocolate-y and is sweet without being saccharine. It is very strong--tastes like a brandy. While I'm sure it would have been lovely if I had strained it within a couple of weeks, it seems this accidental 'aging' has made it even better. At a friend's suggestion, I'm starting a second batch and adding mint. Great stuff!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2008

      I made this around Christmas time as we brew our own vodka and I'm always looking for new ideas and flavours. It was very successful. I have bought commercial chocolate flavouring before but will never have to again. This was excellent. I have since made it with vanilla essence instead of the bean (ran out) and it really was equally as good - and easier. I am a bit too impatient to strain properly although I'm sure it gives a superior liqueur and I would take the trouble if giving it as a gift. In fact it is always my intention to give this as a gift but we keep drinking it all! I have read other recipes with various ingredients but this one uses ingredients nearly everyone would have in their kitchen (except the vodka I suppose - but I always do) and it still beats the commercial flavouring - this is why I have to give 5 stars. Worst part is waiting, but for those wondering, you can also drink it straight away!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 12, 2007

      This was incredible! I realy enjoyed making this - even though the wait was unbearable! I love it in milk - tastes like an adult chocolate milk. So good - this will be used again & again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2013

      I guess I'm in the minority, but I could not get this to strain. I kept changing filters and literally let it sit for hours, and it just wouldn't go through. Great idea, but not worth the hassle.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2012

      Yum. I used high quality cocoa powder. It took forever to filter but the dregs were delicious, like a mousse with a kick. It was hard to let it sit. I plan to try it again with "shine" as a base

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2010

      It's all I can do to let it age! I'm thinking it would be good in coffee! Not sure if I'm going to strain it or not, does the cocoa settle?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2008

      Spectacular results with very little effort - except the effort to not drink before it's ready, of course. I tried a little last night, after 5 days & it was just wonderful. I'm sure it will be even better once it's had the full 14 days & has been strained. Thanks Elmotoo for sharing this keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 11, 2008

      This was so smooth and chocolately. Absolutely wonderful. Very easy to do. The hardest part is waiting until it is done.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2008

      This could not be better! Or at least, I can't imagine it. So rich and so chocolately good- decadent! I only made one change and that was to substitute half brown sugar and half white sugar. This does not strain well at all, so it was a good thing I had an entire package of coffee filters on hand. I will be making more soon, for sure!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2006

      I made a lolita adding this and it was yummy! This is very thick. I was up very late straining this. And it does need an other straining. I almost don`t want to I kinda like the thickness of it. I did scrap the vanilla after straining and added the seeds into the liqueur. Chocolate Lovers delight!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chocolate Liqueur

    Serving Size: 1 (1172 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 2763.7
     
    Calories from Fat 33
    20%
    Total Fat 3.7 g
    5%
    Saturated Fat 2.1 g
    10%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 20.6 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 315.5 g
    105%
    Dietary Fiber 8.9 g
    35%
    Sugars 299.8 g
    1199%
    Protein 5.2 g
    10%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    vanilla beans

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites