Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chocolate Lava Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chocolate Lava Cake

    Average Rating:

    52 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 52

    Sort by:

    • on March 26, 2009

      Served this for Super Bowl Sunday. Cakes were prepared and served in individual ramikins. Would highly suggest letting cool for approx 20mins before serving along side some vanilla ice cream. This was really good and I will definitely make again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2009

      these cakes were really good.I agree baking time is the trick.First one was all lava , ten minutes more there was no lava....but they are delicious. I will make them again and again until I master it. thanks for posting

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2009

      Loved it! Hubby had 2! (OK so did I ;-) Substituted half sugar for unsweetened cocoa powder and used milk chocolate which is all I had in the cupboard. I converted the measurements and they came up with 1 and 1/2 table spoons of flour - looking at this recipe again it states 1/2 cup - the texture of mine was like a flan, but firmer, and light. Even though I slightly adjusted this- the crusty top came out perfectly and the goey chocolate oozed out of the crust- gorgeous with chocolate icecream. Gonna start more variations on this - it is a winner!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2009

      These are soooo tasty!!! Rich, light and easy to make! I advise NOT to use muffin cups, as they don't pop out well. I am looking to buy extra ramikins just to make these again. Thank you so much for the recipe. I think they came out better than the restaurant version!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2009

      Exceptional. I've made epicurious' chocolate lava cakes many a time and these were much easier and I couldn't discern a significant difference between the two recipe results. Super rich! I did make the coffee custard sauce (from epi) to go on the side, but in the future, I think I'll stick to the raspberry coulis because the tartness of the raspberry sauce provides a nice counterpoint to the sweet chocolate. Also of note, I made two batches, one as written and the second substituting sugar free chocolate (sweetened mainly with Maltitol) and erythritol for the sugar. Still worked, but DH said while it wasn't too sweet (preserving my cooking ego?), future batches could do with less erythritol. Erithrytol? However you spell it...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2009

      Yummy! This is perfect on a chilly night (like this one!). I halved the recipe and it made 6 4-ounce ramekins. I forgot to add sugar to the ramekins after buttering them however I had no problem unmolding them after they baked. What I did was after 13 minutes of baking I took them right out of the oven and quickly ran a butter knife around all of the edges of the ramekins. With oven mitts on the entire time, I put the ramekin on the dining counter and put a small plate on top of the ramekin and flipped it over. Then I would tap the bottom of the ramekin with the butt end of the knife before I removed it from the plate. This was a warm, rich dessert. Thank you for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2008

      This is very good, I had to use 7 ounce ramkins and cooked approx 20 min.the receipe made 6 desert for this size ramkin. I did not attempt to unmold these I did make ahead for a dinner party. and reheated in a 350 degree oven for 6 min, just to warm topped with each with a topping of 4 ounces of mascopone cheese, 1 tbs sugar and 4 ounce ofwhipped cream mixed together put a dallop on top of each with small bunch of grapes for decoration. absolutely stunning presentation this is a keeper thank you

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2008

      Easy to make. I made mine in a muffin tin lined w/ foil liners. Came out perfect. I served it w/ fresh raspberries. It is worth every calorie!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2008

    • on August 05, 2008

      A little time consuming and the secret is cooking time. Well worth the time and wait.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2008

      delicious!! i halfed this recipe and melted 6oz of ghiradelli bittersweet chips in a double-boiler. of course, i forgot to sugar the bowls before pouring the mix in, so it was a bit difficult to remove them from the ramekins after they had finished baking. however, they tasted awesome .... everyone raved and if anything, i might bake them a bit longer (i did the recommended 12 minutes). absolute hit, so easy & delicious results.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 17, 2008

      really good instead of sugr for edges use cocoa

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2008

      They didn't last 20 minutes in the house with chocolate lovers! I used the cup cake idea and that worked out really well. They come out a little smaller than ramekins but there is no mess to clean up and no worry about sticking.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2008

      This turned out delicious! I used Lindt Extra Dark chocolate bars since I couldn't find "bittersweet" and it was a hit with my "cookie club." I filled 9 larger ramekins half-way full, and they took about 18 minutes--the centers looked soft but not liquidy on the top, and they were perfect!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2008

      Total hit with the family. I halved the recipe and it made 6 4oz servings. I did cook about 5 mintues longer than suggested. I buttered and sugared my ramekins and with a quick run around the edges first the cakes came out easily. I did serve with a small scoop of slow churned light vanilla bean ice cream. Easy to make and delicious! Thank you Miss Erin!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2008

      Absolutely delicious! I halved the recipe and then opted to make three large servings. I divided the batter in thirds and cooked the cakes in extra-large coffee mugs. I added about 3 minutes baking time for the increased size of the servings. Before baking, I sprayed the mugs w/ baking spray instead of sugaring them. I served the cakes still in the mugs and garnished each w/ vanilla bean ice cream. These were a hit w/ my husband and our company. Also, I melted the chocolate and butter in the microwave instead of in a double boiler. To do this, I used a glass mixung bowl. I put the chocolate in for 90 seconds, stirred and then added the butter. I checked the mixture and stirred every minute until it was melted.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2008

      Yummmmmm... These were exceptionally easy to make and turned out beautifully. I used semi-sweet chocolate chips and added a dash of vanilla. I halved the recipe and bake 6 of these little lovelies in 5oz custard cups (well sugared...that's the key to get them to pop out easy, and running a knife around the edge before you upend them onto your plate). I would say they took 15 minutes and I let them sit for 10 minutes after they came out to let them set up a little more. If you remove them immediately, you will have alot more "lava" than cake...lol Definitely a winner, Erin! I can't wait to make white chocolate ones...mmmmmm

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2007

      I halved the recipe. I made a total f 6 cakes.They turned out great. It's so easy and fast to ake. It is a keeper! Thanks for sharing this with us.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 17, 2007

      Super Rich. Very enjoyable!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 16, 2007

      I halved the mixture and baked in a friand silicone pan. At 12 minutes I felt it was too gooey so baked for another 8 minutes. It was crisp on the outside and fudgy on the inside and I absolutely loved it. Next time I will bake for 16 minutes and add half flour and half almond meal as I think this will really compliment it. Super easy to make and even easier when you melt the chocolate in the microwave.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chocolate Lava Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (74 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 15

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 229.6
     
    Calories from Fat 127
    55%
    Total Fat 14.2 g
    21%
    Saturated Fat 8.4 g
    42%
    Cholesterol 106.9 mg
    35%
    Sodium 30.3 mg
    1%
    Total Carbohydrate 23.3 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 0.1 g
    0%
    Sugars 20.0 g
    80%
    Protein 3.0 g
    6%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites