52 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

great recipe for a lava cake. not overly sweet and just chocolatey goodness.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LuvMyBabies February 21, 2010

I changed the servings to 2 and it was so easy and tasted soooo good!!!! My husband loved it! This was our Valentine's dessert!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gsdwag February 14, 2010

Easy and delicious! I melted the butter & chocolate in the microwave and used heart-shaped ramekins for Valentine's Day. Served with vanilla ice cream. I cooked them just a tad too long at 15 minutes -- they were soft in the middle but not "lava-like." So maybe 13 minutes next time. But there will definitely be a next time! (Oh, and I halved the recipe.)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HisPixie February 14, 2010

Excellent!!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SAHMOF4 February 14, 2010

I made this recipe for my family, they had never tried lava cake before. Oh my goodness, I thought my step daughter was going into a chocolate coma. This is the most decadant desert I have ever ate. I have had this in trendy resturants but I don't remember the filling being as smooth and oh so full of chocolaty goodness. Thanks for posting this recipe. Chef Tomasso

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Tomasso December 20, 2009

I printed this recipe in early 2008. My apologies for not having reviewed it until now. This has become my go to dessert recipe! Have tried many other lava cake recipes but always come back to this one! Sometimes I add a bit of Vanilla or a bit of Espresso just to mix it up a bit. My favourite way to serve is with whipped cream and fresh raspberries. A good vanilla ice cream is also nice. Thank you for an oft used and much loved recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lulabelle #2 October 12, 2009

WOW! Such an easy chocolate lovers dream come true! Love how the warm innards ooze out when the cake shell is broken. Definitely so rich that it needs ice cream to accompany this truly decadent dessert. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AcadiaTwo October 06, 2009

Yummy! This was the first recipezaar recipe I tried and was a great introduction to the zaar world. We ate way too many.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chiquante August 06, 2009

This cake was great! My son is on a gluten free diet so I just substituted a rice flour/potato starch flour blend for the regular flour. He was so happy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jenholton April 22, 2009

I made this recipe to go with my homemade Baileys ice cream and it was PERFECT! I used a muffin tin with foil liners and Pam baking spray with sugar to coat them. Served with a small scoop of Baileys ice cream and a splash of homemade Baileys on top - - absolutely to-die-for! Thank you Miss Erin - you contributed to my best Easter dessert ever!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LadyBell April 12, 2009
Chocolate Lava Cake