Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chocolate Lava Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chocolate Lava Cake

    Average Rating:

    52 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 52

    Sort by:

    • on February 19, 2011

      Unbelievably Good and Easy are not often in the same sentence. I used a 12 cupcake teflon pan, no liners, just buttered and sugar swirled in each cup --- Tip: put a teaspoon or so of sugar in each cup if you are using a multi cup pan like me, then swirl the sugar around-allowing all of the cups to be "sugared" at one time.

      I changed the following: 50/50 mixture of semisweet chips and dark(86%) chocolate for total 8 oz chocolate, plus a trick from the Barefoot Contessa: a sprinkle (1/2 teaspooon) of instant coffee granules in the hot melted butter/chocolate mixture. Mixed in before combining with the flour/sugar/eggs. Intensifies the chocolate flavor, and does not leave a coffee flavor in the cakes.

      The lava cakes rose up about 1/2 inch above the pan, just like a souffle....let them cool before inverting the pan over a large plate -- all 12 came out with the "lava dome" on the top, with only one "eruption" er I mean spill of Lava.
      So good, so easy, a keeper for sure.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 02, 2010

      I give this a million stars!! It is unbelievable easy and the most amazing presentation. I found a more difficult version in Good Housekeeping Magazine. The one thing I did learn from them is that this can be prepared 2 weeks ahead and frozen. I just took out a frozen ramekin to test it out before my party later this week. I did everything as written, but let it thaw about 30 minutes and baked it about 5 - 7 minutes longer, watching for cracking on the top. When plating it use a knife after letting sit a few minutes and go around the edges. Hold it with cooking mitt in the palm of one hand, put plate in other hand and it makes it easier to get the dessert upside down to put on the plate. I served it with Hagen Daz Vanilla Swiss Almond, which is vanilla ice cream with chocolate covered almonds and a few raspberries/mint. This is so easy, can easily be frozen and baked for an elegant dinner party. Absolutely devine!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2011

      Simple and perfect. Easiest and least messy method possible. Scaled down servings to 5, using 1 stick of butter and one 60% Ghiradelli bar, but put it in 4 6oz ramekins. Just the right amount of batter. Kept in the fridge 'til after dinner, then baked until done. Served with whipped cream. It would be wonderful with fresh berries on the side. Thanks so very much.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2010

      I first reduced the servings to 5 (actually there was just 2 of us, my BF and me). I used Cadburys Dairy Milk chocolate 80 gm, and as it is already sweet, I used only 1/4 cup sugar. Let me list the ingredients which i used, in case it would help someone. 80 gm Cadburys Dairy Milk chocolate (two 40 gm bars), 100 gm butter, 2 eggs, 1/4 cup powdered sugar, and 1/4 cup flour. Cooked it in just 1 medium sized ramekin which I had. Turned out excellent and both of us fought over the last piece :) and made me look like a great cook, which I am not. Best Ever. Thank you so much for posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2003

      I served this at my dinner party & it was a hit! It was delicious & easy to make!! Thanks.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2012

      this came out really good when following the directions. rich, gooey, super chocolatey. i also attempted to make this sugar free for my dad using unsweetened chocolate and splenda for baking. HORRIBLE. the butter separated when baking so it was a greasy mess on top and hard crumbly chocolate on the bottom.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2012

      This recipe probably doesn't need another 5-star review, but it does deserve it. I scaled the recipe down to make two servings and four servings and didn't measure very precisely and it came out great both times. I added the espresso powder to the melted chocolate as suggested by another reviewer (1/4 teaspoon per two servings).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2010

      Easy to make, great to taste! Impress your guest or guests! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2010

      This is the BEST dessert ever! Whenever I make it (which is quite frequently) people are socked at my cooking skills...little do they know!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2010

      Excellent! I made this for dessert for my honey on Valentine's day and it was perfection. Very easy recipe (I halved it and made 6 ramekins). I prepped them in advance, and than popped them in the oven while we cleaned up the kitchen. Served with Creme Anglaise and vanilla ice cream with a dusting of powder sugar. Just as good as a restaurant desert imo :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2010

      great recipe for a lava cake. not overly sweet and just chocolatey goodness.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2010

      I changed the servings to 2 and it was so easy and tasted soooo good!!!! My husband loved it! This was our Valentine's dessert!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2010

      Easy and delicious! I melted the butter & chocolate in the microwave and used heart-shaped ramekins for Valentine's Day. Served with vanilla ice cream. I cooked them just a tad too long at 15 minutes -- they were soft in the middle but not "lava-like." So maybe 13 minutes next time. But there will definitely be a next time! (Oh, and I halved the recipe.)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2010

      Excellent!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2009

      I made this recipe for my family, they had never tried lava cake before. Oh my goodness, I thought my step daughter was going into a chocolate coma. This is the most decadant desert I have ever ate. I have had this in trendy resturants but I don't remember the filling being as smooth and oh so full of chocolaty goodness. Thanks for posting this recipe. Chef Tomasso

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 12, 2009

      I printed this recipe in early 2008. My apologies for not having reviewed it until now. This has become my go to dessert recipe! Have tried many other lava cake recipes but always come back to this one! Sometimes I add a bit of Vanilla or a bit of Espresso just to mix it up a bit. My favourite way to serve is with whipped cream and fresh raspberries. A good vanilla ice cream is also nice. Thank you for an oft used and much loved recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2009

      WOW! Such an easy chocolate lovers dream come true! Love how the warm innards ooze out when the cake shell is broken. Definitely so rich that it needs ice cream to accompany this truly decadent dessert. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2009

      Yummy! This was the first recipezaar recipe I tried and was a great introduction to the zaar world. We ate way too many.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2009

      This cake was great! My son is on a gluten free diet so I just substituted a rice flour/potato starch flour blend for the regular flour. He was so happy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2009

      I made this recipe to go with my homemade Baileys ice cream and it was PERFECT! I used a muffin tin with foil liners and Pam baking spray with sugar to coat them. Served with a small scoop of Baileys ice cream and a splash of homemade Baileys on top - - absolutely to-die-for! Thank you Miss Erin - you contributed to my best Easter dessert ever!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chocolate Lava Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (74 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 15

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 229.6
     
    Calories from Fat 127
    55%
    Total Fat 14.2 g
    21%
    Saturated Fat 8.4 g
    42%
    Cholesterol 106.9 mg
    35%
    Sodium 30.3 mg
    1%
    Total Carbohydrate 23.3 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 0.1 g
    0%
    Sugars 20.0 g
    80%
    Protein 3.0 g
    6%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes