Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chocolate Guinness Layer Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chocolate Guinness Layer Cake

    Average Rating:

    13 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-13 of 13

    Sort by:

    • on May 18, 2009

      Great option for a not-too-sweet chocolate cake; the stout flavor of the beer came through very nicely. I used half a recipe which fit into a bundt pan nicely (baking time about 40 min @ 350F)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2006

      This is easily one of the best cakes I've ever tasted~and chocolate cakes have never been my first choice. I frosted it with Mean Chef's Dark Chocolate Ganache (#37844), creating a very rich dessert. Everyone who's tried it has loved it~after having a piece, my mom stopped nagging me with, "why didn't you just make a cake from a box?" Now I'm just looking for an excuse to make it again. :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2013

      OMG! Definitely a favorite at our house! I take this cake to work for parties, and have even had coworkers specifically ask me to make it for birthdays. It is moist and rich, but not to sweet, definitely a dark chocolate flavor. I always serve it with a fluffy chocolate buttercream on top, or I have even sprinkled it with powdered sugar and drizzled it with ganache. Awesome cake!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2013

      Marvelous! I have 4 more bottles of Guinness to use up (guest didn't drink up/we don't care for) and I may very well make this cake (well, cupcakes) until they're gone! Yummy! I made a 1/2 recipe and got 24 perfect cupcakes - 17 minutes @ 350. Frosted with a 7-minute frosting and dusted with cocoa powder. Thanks once again, Kittencal. I'm off to make your French bread now!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2011

      Extremely delicious! Although I heavily sprayed two bundt pans, the cake stuck to the pan and I was unable to frost or serve to guests.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2010

      FANTASTIC!! cake, easy recipe.. my first cake from scratch. Super dense and dark... i opened the oven door thinking i needed to rotate and the cakes fell... so a little droopy looking... but just incredible -i couldnt taste the Guinness.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2009

      LOVE this cake with old-style buttercream and a drizzle of Bailey's! How should this cake be stored? I think it would be great as it "ages" but don't know what the safest method of storage is... TRY this cake!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2009

      What an outstanding cake! Moist, dense, complex, perfect! I halved the recipe and used a decorative bundt pan, which it filled perfectly. I opened the oven door a tad early, being uncertain of cooking time for this pan. It fell a little, but it is so moist and dense it settled beautifully on the plate when unmolded. This will become a regular. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 12, 2008

      First, I don't like beer... at all. But, these were REALLY GOOD. I used Guinness Extra Stout and regular ol' Hershey's cocoa. I halved the recipe, which made 2-1/2 dozen cupcakes. I baked them at 325 for 15-17 minutes. I made these for a Sunday football party... mainly guys. They turned out FANTASTIC. They tasted like a moist, chocolatey cake with a "different" aftertaste... pleasant, but not like "beer". I've read reviews for other Guinness cakes tasting "bitter", but these tasted mellow... not too sweet. The texture was sublime. It sort of reminded me of the texture of Red Velvet cake. For the frosting, I made a classic cream cheese frosting, but added 1 Tablespoon of Guinness at the end. I mixed it on high speed for about a minute... it made the cream cheese frosting almost FROTHY! I topped each cupcake with the frosting, using a pastry tip to simulate the "head" of foam when you first pour your glass of stout. Everyone loved the cupcakes... rave reviews... gone in minutes... all 30!! I topped them with a very light dusting of cocoa powder. A ganache would complement this cake very well... I might try that for half of the cupcakes next time... but I would add some Guinness to the ganache. Oooh yum!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2008

      Delish! Very Moist Dark Chocolate-Tasting cake. I halved the recipe and it turned out perfect. I also topped mine with a simple ganache from 2 T butter, 2 T milk, 1 T guinness, and a cup of semisweet ghirardelli chips. Mmmmm, Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2007

      I made this cake for my husband's 40th birthday, and it was incredible! Very moist and rich! The batter fit into *4* 8" cake pans, so I froze the extra after baking. You almost don't need frosting...It's our new birthday cake tradition.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2007

      This cake was GOOD! I was planning to make another Guinness cake from Oprah but it had turned out very dense so I thought that I would give it another shot hoping that it would turn out better. At the last minute I searched the Zaar for another option and when I spotted this one thought.."Kittencal don't fail me now!" So I whipped up the recipe for my DH's birthday cake and it turned out MUCH better than the previous Oprah Guinness cake. I was in a huge hurry to make it so I completely forgot to add the sour cream so maybe it would have been an amazing 5 stars instead of the 4 stars my absent-minded self baked. I'm excited to try it again:)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 17, 2006

      This is an amazing chocolate cake, and very simple to make. Made for my mom's birthday and it was a big hit. I only made one layer (using two eggs) and topped with Cherry Red Wine Sauce Cherry Red Wine Sauce and whipped cream. Decadent!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chocolate Guinness Layer Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (2888 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 3182.4
     
    Calories from Fat 1410
    44%
    Total Fat 156.7 g
    241%
    Saturated Fat 95.3 g
    476%
    Cholesterol 626.5 mg
    208%
    Sodium 3693.4 mg
    153%
    Total Carbohydrate 427.8 g
    142%
    Dietary Fiber 18.7 g
    75%
    Sugars 271.2 g
    1085%
    Protein 38.1 g
    76%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites