13 Reviews

Great option for a not-too-sweet chocolate cake; the stout flavor of the beer came through very nicely. I used half a recipe which fit into a bundt pan nicely (baking time about 40 min @ 350F)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mewnshine May 18, 2009

This is easily one of the best cakes I've ever tasted~and chocolate cakes have never been my first choice. I frosted it with Mean Chef's Dark Chocolate Ganache (#37844), creating a very rich dessert. Everyone who's tried it has loved it~after having a piece, my mom stopped nagging me with, "why didn't you just make a cake from a box?" Now I'm just looking for an excuse to make it again. :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
layna_rose January 16, 2006

OMG! Definitely a favorite at our house! I take this cake to work for parties, and have even had coworkers specifically ask me to make it for birthdays. It is moist and rich, but not to sweet, definitely a dark chocolate flavor. I always serve it with a fluffy chocolate buttercream on top, or I have even sprinkled it with powdered sugar and drizzled it with ganache. Awesome cake!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mrs. Peppers November 12, 2013

Marvelous! I have 4 more bottles of Guinness to use up (guest didn't drink up/we don't care for) and I may very well make this cake (well, cupcakes) until they're gone! Yummy! I made a 1/2 recipe and got 24 perfect cupcakes - 17 minutes @ 350. Frosted with a 7-minute frosting and dusted with cocoa powder. Thanks once again, Kittencal. I'm off to make your French bread now!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Janecooksswell April 20, 2013

Extremely delicious! Although I heavily sprayed two bundt pans, the cake stuck to the pan and I was unable to frost or serve to guests.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ohcarolita March 17, 2011

FANTASTIC!! cake, easy recipe.. my first cake from scratch. Super dense and dark... i opened the oven door thinking i needed to rotate and the cakes fell... so a little droopy looking... but just incredible -i couldnt taste the Guinness.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
moonblossom6 March 18, 2010

LOVE this cake with old-style buttercream and a drizzle of Bailey's! How should this cake be stored? I think it would be great as it "ages" but don't know what the safest method of storage is... TRY this cake!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Barb Tuohey September 04, 2009

What an outstanding cake! Moist, dense, complex, perfect! I halved the recipe and used a decorative bundt pan, which it filled perfectly. I opened the oven door a tad early, being uncertain of cooking time for this pan. It fell a little, but it is so moist and dense it settled beautifully on the plate when unmolded. This will become a regular. Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mnhoscar March 17, 2009

First, I don't like beer... at all. But, these were REALLY GOOD. I used Guinness Extra Stout and regular ol' Hershey's cocoa. I halved the recipe, which made 2-1/2 dozen cupcakes. I baked them at 325 for 15-17 minutes. I made these for a Sunday football party... mainly guys. They turned out FANTASTIC. They tasted like a moist, chocolatey cake with a "different" aftertaste... pleasant, but not like "beer". I've read reviews for other Guinness cakes tasting "bitter", but these tasted mellow... not too sweet. The texture was sublime. It sort of reminded me of the texture of Red Velvet cake. For the frosting, I made a classic cream cheese frosting, but added 1 Tablespoon of Guinness at the end. I mixed it on high speed for about a minute... it made the cream cheese frosting almost FROTHY! I topped each cupcake with the frosting, using a pastry tip to simulate the "head" of foam when you first pour your glass of stout. Everyone loved the cupcakes... rave reviews... gone in minutes... all 30!! I topped them with a very light dusting of cocoa powder. A ganache would complement this cake very well... I might try that for half of the cupcakes next time... but I would add some Guinness to the ganache. Oooh yum!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
IloveCuppycakes! October 12, 2008

Delish! Very Moist Dark Chocolate-Tasting cake. I halved the recipe and it turned out perfect. I also topped mine with a simple ganache from 2 T butter, 2 T milk, 1 T guinness, and a cup of semisweet ghirardelli chips. Mmmmm, Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Amberlyrose May 29, 2008
Chocolate Guinness Layer Cake