9 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

How many times can a person say "Oh wow" while eating these? Infinite! I splurged on some really gorgeous strawberries and made two batches, one with semisweet chocolate and cherry liquour, and one with white chocolate and the Grand Marnier. My only complaint is that it takes about 60 seconds to polish off the bowl, but it's so easy to make more!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mirj May 04, 2003

These were incredible, and so easy to make! Everyone loved them. My new "Dessert to impress!" Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MadzMom January 15, 2004

I tried this recipre twice, thinking maybe I did something wrong, or overcooked the chocolate. It turned out too thick to have the berries look nice. Using chocolate that needs to be tempered may have better results.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Karen Adrian September 02, 2003

Wow, very good!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rosslare April 15, 2011

Judging from other comments, I must have goofed up. The recipe looked delicious but after I melted the chocolate and butter smooth and added the liquids, the mixture got very grainy and clumpy! (Like when water is dropped into melted chocolate and mixed.) I melted in 10 second intervals and it got a little better but after stirring it was a matte color and not the consistency of dipping chocolate. I dipped a berry and it was not eye-appealing at all. I tried a few more but none got better. Once set up, I sampled two but they were not the sexy strawberries I was hoping for. If anyone has any suggestions I'd love to hear them. In the meantime, I have my simple standby of chocolate and Crisco- it's a little more firm but very easy and delicious. As far as this recipe, maybe next time. :o(

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Charlie Tuna! February 17, 2010

Loved these! I haved the recipe and made 14 strawberries. I used skin milk instead of cream and Gheradelli semisweet chocolate. Can't wait to try Dark Chocolate. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marianne5 February 15, 2010

YUM this is my new favourite way of making chocolate covered strawberries! Mine seemed to come together well and hardened overnight in the fridge. I split the recipe, making one batch with semisweet chocolate and another with white chocolate (to use as a drizzle once the semisweet chocolate set) I melted my chocolate over a double boiler and used 2% milk instead of cream, gradually adding it till the chocolate was a good dipping consistency. The Grand Marnier gave the chocolate a little more flavour, though I might even add more next time! Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
yamakarasu May 28, 2007

The chocolate coating was not the harden kind that I like covering strawberries and cherries. It stayed soft.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
klloch February 13, 2007

Very easy to make and even easier to eat. Delicious.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LouiseH June 21, 2003
Chocolate Grand Marnier Covered Strawberries