Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chocolate Gooey Butter Cookies - Paula Deen Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chocolate Gooey Butter Cookies - Paula Deen

    Average Rating:

    13 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-13 of 13

    Sort by:

    • on January 04, 2011

      These are SO easy to make and turned otu perfectly nomatter how I changed them up. I made the chocolate recipe as stated and added in the toffee crunch pieces which were YUMMY. Then I used the lemon cake with lemon extract which turned out perfect.Also white cake with peppermint extract and crushed candy canes for the topping. You could do anything with these and they will turn out perfect and so soft each time. Will for sure be using this recipe again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 03, 2009

      I've had these with Butter Pecan cake mix and Spice Cake Mix. You can't go wrong. They are seriously addictive, and really easy. Instead of waiting the two hours for the dough to firm in the fridge, I put them in the freezer for about 20 min.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2011

      These were good and really easy to make. I followed the recipe as written other then I didn't dust them with sugar. They were really moist cookies.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2009

      This recipe produces such soft and moist cookies. This is the most requested cookie recipe by my twins that are 13 and also my 16 year old. I use the fudge chocolate cake mix...Yummy!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2008

      These are so easy to make, and they are really good. Make sure to use a very big bowl when mixing them, or you will make a big mess in your kitchen like I did! :-)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2007

      The reason why she calls them the gooey butter cookies is because it is an adaptation from the gooey butter CAKE she makes, the difference being the cake actually does have a very gooey middle. But yes, these cookies are more cake like than goo like. Still a crowd pleaser and so easy...(except for the mixing at the end!) I have also made variations...coconut cake mix and add in a cup of coconut flakes and some coconut extract....same with lemon cake and lemon extract.....the best is red velvet cake with microwaved cream cheese frosting drizzled on top!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2008

      I have made these cookies several times with very good results.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2007

      I liked these cookies but they are butter like for gooey. They remind me of a Crinkle cookie without the rich deep chocolate flavor, and I used a Devils food moist cake mix. These were ok, but I cant say I would make them a lot or give as gifts, which is what I had in mind when I chose to try this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 10, 2007

      LOVE THIS RECIPE! I have swapped out the types of cake mix and was pleasently surprised. Lemon cake mix is a treat - my favorite is German Chocolate cake mix, mmmmm. I have used Fat Free cream cheese to cut some of the fat did not notice any change in flavor or texture. I will try cutting back on the butter with applesuase & will let you know how it goes. Also, if you have little ones try using a "Funfetti" cake mix, omit the powdered sugar. When cookies have cooled completely, ice with funfetti sprinkle frosting and add sprinkles. Great for playgroups or playdates! Happy Baking! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2007

      I've made these twice now and must say that the name is misleading. In no way are these gooey, let alone remind me of a butter cookie. They are very cake like, and the taste was just OK. I probably wouldn't make them again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2007

      these were great! I was really having a lot of trouble mixing everything toward the end with my hand mixer -- I had to stop every 10 seconds or so to scrape the batter of the beaters. but it was well worth it in the end!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2006

      i made this recipe exactly as posted except i used low fat cream cheese. what a cookie! next time i will try swapping the cake mix flavors, i bet orange or pineapple or lemon would be fantastic!! but as always there is never anything wrong with chocolate!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2006

      I have made these several times. I have even substituted different flavors other than chocolate. What ever cake mix you pick, use that flavor extract. I've done Butter Pecan, Strawberry and Lemon! If they last a couple of days, which they usually don't, they get more moist as they sit. Yummy! Made me cross my eyes like Paula does!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chocolate Gooey Butter Cookies - Paula Deen

    Serving Size: 1 (453 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 2

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1931.1
     
    Calories from Fat 1144
    59%
    Total Fat 127.1 g
    195%
    Saturated Fat 60.1 g
    300%
    Cholesterol 339.9 mg
    113%
    Sodium 2914.2 mg
    121%
    Total Carbohydrate 191.6 g
    63%
    Dietary Fiber 6.1 g
    24%
    Sugars 101.9 g
    407%
    Protein 25.4 g
    50%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites