14 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

One of the best features here at Zaar is the Search By Ingredient option. I had way too much chocolate syrup in the house and needed to find a recipe to use up some of this stuff. After a quick search I found this recipe. One of the great serendipitous occasions of my life, this cake is amazing. I didn't have a can of Hershey syrup, just bottles of some local stuff, so thanks to the knowledgeable and helpful people here at Zaar, one can of Hershey's syrup comes out to 1 3/4 cup. I have to admit that I only made the cake, and not the ganache, but it was heaven. So rich and chocolately. I served the cake with some homemade (non-dairy) strawberry and peach ice cream (a scoop of each) and it was a delightful dessert. I plan on making the cake again, it's the perfect cake for those days when you need something majorly chocolate.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mirj June 04, 2005

I just knew that I had messed this recipe up. I didn't have a can of Hersey's chocolate, but I did have a large bottle that was partially used. When I got everything together, I was about 1/2 cup short on the chocolate syrup. I add about 1/4 cup water, made the cake anyway and it is wonderful. DH and DS both gave it rave reviews. Ofcourse, I love chocolate, so you know I loved it!!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jellyqueen February 22, 2004

Absolutely amazing! I used these to make mini cakes for my family the other night and they were a HUGE hit! I tried making it a little less chocolatey by also doing a white chocolate mocha ganache and drizzling it on top decoratively and it turned out perfect!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
p4intthestars August 20, 2010

Wow, this cake looked like something from a bakery. I used a square pan and then cut it into fours and used the ganache in three layers to make a mini layer cake to use as the top in a three-tiered birthday cake. I decorated the outside with Kittencal's buttercream frosting. I kept it chilled in the fridge until serving time. It looked fantastic when it was cut. (I've got the fourth piece in my freezer and plan to serve it warm with vanilla ice cream in the near future!)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tanya Pants May 19, 2010

Everyone LOVES it! I have made this cake 3 times. It was called "Barefoot Contessa's chocolate ganache heart cake". The heart pan holds more batter than an 8" round so I don't know why it's the same cooking time. I would LOVE to make cupcakes but wonder how long they will take. My heart pan takes 45 min.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ecipriano March 02, 2010

I can only speak for the Ganache-it rocked! I used it for a Inside Out Black Forest Cake-so easy to put together and OH SO Good to eat-dangerous stuff!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dib's February 15, 2010

These are very rich, moist and tasty. I will say this made 18 cupcakes, and I had to cook them for about 15 minutes longer than indicated, as the tops were still very uncooked. They look beautiful and glossy.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Meghan September 30, 2009

I have been wanting to make these every since I saw Ina make them on her show. I found some little French violet candies and so I had an excuse!!! These are like chocolate lava cake - brownie cupcakes! They are very rich, moist, and dense!! I love the ganache, it is really gourmet with the coffee mixed in. Do not over-fill your cupcakes, I over-filled a couple of them and they did not bake up in the middle and oozed apart. Fill them about 3/4 full and they rise just to the top of the cups. On her show, Ina says,,,,double chocolate, double trouble!!! She is right, these are very addictive and decadent!!!! Thanks for posting!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef*Lee June 03, 2009

The Best ALMOST better than sex, I said ALMOST.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Timothy Holden May 31, 2009

This is a wonderful cake--easy to make and tasted like anything I've had at the Ritz. The glazed gives it a polished look that is very pretty. I topped with cherries for my huband's birthday and everyone loved it. I'm making it again for my niece's birthday. It's excellent and I found it soft and tender but very easy to work with once cooled. Recommended!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Petite Mommy March 13, 2009
Chocolate Ganache Cake