Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chocolate Ganache Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chocolate Ganache Cake

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on June 04, 2005

      One of the best features here at Zaar is the Search By Ingredient option. I had way too much chocolate syrup in the house and needed to find a recipe to use up some of this stuff. After a quick search I found this recipe. One of the great serendipitous occasions of my life, this cake is amazing. I didn't have a can of Hershey syrup, just bottles of some local stuff, so thanks to the knowledgeable and helpful people here at Zaar, one can of Hershey's syrup comes out to 1 3/4 cup. I have to admit that I only made the cake, and not the ganache, but it was heaven. So rich and chocolately. I served the cake with some homemade (non-dairy) strawberry and peach ice cream (a scoop of each) and it was a delightful dessert. I plan on making the cake again, it's the perfect cake for those days when you need something majorly chocolate.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2004

      I just knew that I had messed this recipe up. I didn't have a can of Hersey's chocolate, but I did have a large bottle that was partially used. When I got everything together, I was about 1/2 cup short on the chocolate syrup. I add about 1/4 cup water, made the cake anyway and it is wonderful. DH and DS both gave it rave reviews. Ofcourse, I love chocolate, so you know I loved it!!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2010

      Absolutely amazing! I used these to make mini cakes for my family the other night and they were a HUGE hit! I tried making it a little less chocolatey by also doing a white chocolate mocha ganache and drizzling it on top decoratively and it turned out perfect!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 19, 2010

      Wow, this cake looked like something from a bakery. I used a square pan and then cut it into fours and used the ganache in three layers to make a mini layer cake to use as the top in a three-tiered birthday cake. I decorated the outside with Kittencal's buttercream frosting. I kept it chilled in the fridge until serving time. It looked fantastic when it was cut. (I've got the fourth piece in my freezer and plan to serve it warm with vanilla ice cream in the near future!)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2010

      Everyone LOVES it! I have made this cake 3 times. It was called "Barefoot Contessa's chocolate ganache heart cake". The heart pan holds more batter than an 8" round so I don't know why it's the same cooking time. I would LOVE to make cupcakes but wonder how long they will take. My heart pan takes 45 min.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2010

      I can only speak for the Ganache-it rocked! I used it for a Inside Out Black Forest Cake-so easy to put together and OH SO Good to eat-dangerous stuff!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2009

      These are very rich, moist and tasty. I will say this made 18 cupcakes, and I had to cook them for about 15 minutes longer than indicated, as the tops were still very uncooked. They look beautiful and glossy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2009

      I have been wanting to make these every since I saw Ina make them on her show. I found some little French violet candies and so I had an excuse!!! These are like chocolate lava cake - brownie cupcakes! They are very rich, moist, and dense!! I love the ganache, it is really gourmet with the coffee mixed in. Do not over-fill your cupcakes, I over-filled a couple of them and they did not bake up in the middle and oozed apart. Fill them about 3/4 full and they rise just to the top of the cups. On her show, Ina says,,,,double chocolate, double trouble!!! She is right, these are very addictive and decadent!!!! Thanks for posting!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2009

      The Best ALMOST better than sex, I said ALMOST.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2009

      This is a wonderful cake--easy to make and tasted like anything I've had at the Ritz. The glazed gives it a polished look that is very pretty. I topped with cherries for my huband's birthday and everyone loved it. I'm making it again for my niece's birthday. It's excellent and I found it soft and tender but very easy to work with once cooled. Recommended!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2008

      Small cake that packs a punch of flavor! Made for DH's birthday and evberyone raved over the intense flavor. Very rich. I too subbed the pourable Hereshey's in place of the can. It's what I had on hand. The can actually reads "Equals 1 1/2 cups Herseys pourable syrup" (I saw it just the day I made it), but I would still go with 1 3/4 cup as one reviewer noted or even 2. I like my cakes moist! Would definately make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 22, 2006

      I found this to be a very tender (i.e. fragile) cake. I made cupcakes out of the recipe and many of them were so fragile that they were misshaped when I took them out of the tins. I used paper liners for the cupcakes. The flavor, however, was top-notch. Loved it! The ganache was perfect as a topping. That one teaspoon of instant coffee granules really intensifies the chocolate flavor. I'll make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 08, 2004

      This cake is really moist and has a great texture. Real simple to make, too, although the end result makes a great presentation, as if you were in the kitchen all afternoon! I would like to try one of Recipezaar's chocolate syrup recipes next time as I am not crazy about the flavor of canned chocolate syrups.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2004

      Wow is this ever good, I made this as a treat for our Easter dinner dessert. I had been sent a tin of Hersheys syrup in a food swap a few months ago so was happy to find a recipe to use it. I also love ganache so having it as this cakes topping was a double bonus, thank you for letting me hear mmm mmmm sounds at the end of our meal!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chocolate Ganache Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (121 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 546.9
     
    Calories from Fat 238
    43%
    Total Fat 26.5 g
    40%
    Saturated Fat 15.0 g
    75%
    Cholesterol 115.5 mg
    38%
    Sodium 275.2 mg
    11%
    Total Carbohydrate 73.5 g
    24%
    Dietary Fiber 2.9 g
    11%
    Sugars 48.5 g
    194%
    Protein 7.2 g
    14%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes