46 Reviews

This cake is wonderful. It is so rich though I can't imagine it with icing. We always topped it with a whipped topping (cool whip). That seemed to calm down the richness. I'm so glad I found this recipe. I lost my recipe box and thought this one was lost forever. I am looking for another recipe I lost called Chocolate Chip Cake. It is a man's cake as it is a very moist cake that also does not require icing. It is made with dates, soda, no sour cream, pecans, cocoa, and of course flour and vanilla; can't remember the rest or amounts. I got this recipe from my aunt a long time ago, but she doesn't remember it. I have also put it in several school recipe books in Springfield, Mo. when my 23 yr old son was in grade school. If anyone can help me find this recipe I will be forever grateful. Thanks, Marilyng

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marilyng September 16, 2002

I have been making a cake that is almost identical to this - I think the only difference is milk & vinegar instead of buttermilk. And I agree with the reviewers that it's a great recipe. I am posting this just to add one suggestion that has worked for me. I like to add the cocoa powder to the dry ingredients. It seems to clump when I put it with the butter & water, but mixes in nicely with the sugar & flour.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Judy from Hawaii March 08, 2004

I saw this cake on Pioneer Woman the other day and I realize I haven't made this cake in quite a while. The only difference with her recipe and this one is that Ree Drummond boils the hot water, measures 4 "heaping" tablespoons of cocoa for the cake and icing, and bakes this in a jelly roll pan. I am Tarynne's sister we both got this recipe from a cookbook my grandmother gave my mom when she visited Plains, Ga during the time President Carter was in office. It was a compilation of home cooking recipes from the residents. This is a foolproof recipe that comes out great time after time. The only suggestion I took from Ree Drummond was to add heaping tablespoonfuls of cocoa to the cake and icing (approx. 6 tbsp.). It did not affect the texture and it tasted good and chocolatey!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ddcat November 21, 2013

For Marilyn. Chocolate chip cake 2 c flour 1 c shortening 1/2 tsp salt 1 c chopped dates 1 tsp baking soda 2 eggs 1 c hot water plus 3 tbsp 1 tbsp cocoa 1 c sugar 1 1/2 c chocolate chips 1/2 cup chopped nuts 1 tsp vanilla Sprinkle soda over dates and pour on hot water. Set aside to cool while creaming shortening and sugar. Add eggs and beat. Then add date mixture. Combine flour, salt, and cocoa and stir it in. Then add vanilla and beat well. Stir in 1/2 cup chocolate chips. Pour into a greased and floured 13x9x2 inch cake pan. Sprinkle the other half cup chocolate chips and nuts on the top and bake 40 minutes at 350 degrees. - m. Baker

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
smak28 October 24, 2013

Wow... this got raves. This chocolate cake is a keeper for sure. I wasn't sure about it's outcome because I don't think I've ever had to boil ingredients for a cake before. It needed a little more time in my oven... but turned out great. Next time I'll cut down on that icing as it really makes the cake sweet. This cake is very rich and delicious by itself. Thanks for the recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
luvmybge June 03, 2003

One of the best chocolate cake recipes I have ever used. It will make your tongue smack your brains out.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
srigota69 April 30, 2015

I made this recipe and unfortunately the confectioners sugar I bought tasted like it had been stored next to some laundry detergent for quite some time. :( So! I made two of these cakes, made some chocolate ganache with heavy cream and Ambrosia dark chocolate and layered the two cakes with the ganache in between and on the top and sides. Holy smokes! This is such a great cake! Thanks for the recipe. Can't wait to try it with the icing next time

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mr McGooch! April 11, 2015

This was a delicious cake! I did have to bake it an additional five minutes. Some reviewers said they skip the icing. That would be so wrong!! The icing really makes the cake. Taryanne, thanks for the recipe! I will be making it again!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rose is Rose May 13, 2014

I tried it and this is fantastic! I didn't have buttermilk so I used milk & vinegar (1 tblspn to 1 cup of milk let sit 5 mins and then use) I also added the cocoa to the dry ingredients. Other than those changes I followed the recipe exactly. I actually made it 3 days ago and we're still eating it and its still moist and delicious. Thanks for sharing!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ITRIEDIT January 05, 2012
Chocolate Fudge Cake