Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chocolate Frosting (No Eggs or Milk Needed) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chocolate Frosting (No Eggs or Milk Needed)

    Average Rating:

    13 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-13 of 13

    Sort by:

    • on June 01, 2010

      This is really delicious and all the ingredients are usually on hand. I have used this quite a few times for cupcakes and for birthday cakes. Only recommendation is to stir, stir, stir!! You may even want to sift the dry ingredients first. But never stop stirring!! Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2010

      This made a fantastic frosting, almost like a ganache. I subbed orange extract for some of the vanilla and orange juice for some of the water. It ended up tasting like a Terry's Chocolate Orange! Absolutely brilliant.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2009

      Awesome! I don't like really sweet frosting, so this was just perfect. I've made it so many times I've lost count. Thanks for this recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2013

      I've never made cooked frosting before, and I use a gas stove. So, I had my doubts the whole time I was making it. Being cooked on a gas stove, the frosting got really thick as soon as it began to boil. So, I went ahead and turned off the heat within less than a minute. When I was stirring in the oil and vanilla, the mixture was very thick, and it didn't seem like the oil was going to mix in. I was worried I'd cooked it too much. But once I actually started frosting my cake with it, I realized it was just fine. And it kind of tastes like the inside of a Lindor truffle. I really like this recipe and the fact that it doesn't require powdered sugar, which I don't usually have. So, it will probably be my go-to chocolate frosting recipe from now on. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2012

      I love the fact that this didn't have a ton of sugar in it. It was absolutely superb atop Kittencal's Super Moist One-Bowl Dark Chocolate Cake!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2012

      5 stars for easy ingredients and very tasty. I am taking Black Bean Brownies to a friend in the nursing home who has to eat gluten free and this was a great way to top those brownies.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 12, 2011

      didn't turn out at all.:(

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2011

      This was the best vegan frosting I have tried. To those that haven't made something like this before, it won't taste like a frosting with butter or cream but to me it is just as nice and great for something different. I followed Cooledskin's idea and used half orange juice and some orange liqueur instead of making it plain and it was heavenly.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2011

      I made this to go with recipe 315445 - it was very nice. Not too sweet yet at the same time very chocolatey and delicious. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2010

      I tried this recipe with a sugar substitute and I was so glad it worked. It came out really smooth and it is delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2010

      I'm not a fan of voluminous, oversweetened whipped frostings, and this was a great pairing with my Devil's Food cake that just need a bit of something. Not too sweet, not too rich, but just right! Mine never really boiled - it just started thickening up like a cooked pudding, and I had to wisk it vigorously to get the lumps out, but everything was fine in the end. The lesson is: don't stop stirring, whatever you do! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2009

      This was a good icing for some cupcakes I made. I took the other reviewers advice and added more vanilla and it was good, not a rich frosting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2009

      This made a really good dark chocolate icing/frosting. Make sure you stir constantly or it'll burn. This is very similar to making a chocolate pudding so if you want more of a glaze than a frosting just cook for a shorter time. Next time I'd add a little more vanilla or liquor for a deeper flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chocolate Frosting (No Eggs or Milk Needed)

    Serving Size: 1 (44 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 106.9
     
    Calories from Fat 21
    20%
    Total Fat 2.4 g
    3%
    Saturated Fat 0.2 g
    1%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 98.0 mg
    4%
    Total Carbohydrate 21.3 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 0.3 g
    1%
    Sugars 16.6 g
    66%
    Protein 0.3 g
    0%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites