14 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I loved it. I was looking for a frosting recipe without anything perishable in it, like milk, and this worked on yellow cupcakes beautifully. I sifted the powdered sugar and it took more than the listed amount, but I just went with it til it was the right consistency. I doubled the recipe for 24 heavily-frosted cupcakes and added 1 square of unsweetened baking chocolate as the other reviewer suggested. De-lish!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cautious_cook June 27, 2011

I picked this frosting because I didn't have any milk or cream in the house and needed to make chocolate frosting. It was easy to make and OK, but wasn't amazed by it. I frosted 12 cupcakes pretty heavily with a single patch. For half the cupcakes I added Starbucks Via instant coffee and that made the frosting great.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lt. Amy May 02, 2010

What a great (and quick) recipe! I omitted the boiling water and only used 1 cup of powdered sugar with nearly 2 tablespoons of cocoa. It was nice and think and covered our 8 inch round banana cake perfectly. Will definitely use again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
WillCookForSmiles February 14, 2009

great frosting depending on what u are using it for, nice fluffy n rich!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~T~ January 02, 2009

So easy to make and tasty too. I used butter instead of margarine, personal preference, and made my own powdered sugar using the following formula: POWDERED SUGAR Substitution: 1 cup sugar + 1 tbsp cornstarch = 1 cup powdered sugar. Delicious on top of chocolate cupcakes made using a cake mix.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
foodtvfan November 12, 2008

In our family this was NOT a hit!! tried it twice added more powdered sugar and it still wasn't the right one for us! my daughter is HIGHLY allergic to eggs so we try alot of things that don't have eggs so thanks for that (not useing eggs) but we like a thick frosting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
wife_mommy_daughter December 14, 2007

This was a very good, light tasting frosting. It was enough to frost 24 cupcakes (not too heavily though). I added more powdered sugar than called for because it wasn't quite thick enough. I will keep this recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Crocheting Mama August 20, 2007

Quick, easy, YUMMY. I put this on a Chocolate Sponge Cake #25340. Made for a great little dessert.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lingering_Dream April 17, 2007

FANTASTIC!!!!! I love this icing! As soon as I tasted this, I came directly to my computer and added this recipe to my favorite recipe cookbook! Trust me, I will be using this recipe alot as it would probaly go great with antyhing! (I used it on Dark Chocolate Cake) Thanks for this keeper recipe KimmieOH!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BestTeenChef October 25, 2006

This was good and super-quick. I needed a substitute for canned chocolate frosting and this came pretty close, although it only made the equivalent of 1/2 can. Perfect for what I needed today, but in the future I'll remember to double the recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lucid501 July 20, 2006
Chocolate Frosting