Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chocolate Frosting Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chocolate Frosting

    Average Rating:

    75 Total Reviews

    Showing 61-75 of 75

    Sort by:

    • on June 27, 2005

      Awesome!!! I did add some extra powdered sugar though. It was 90 degrees the day I made this frosting and the humidity was outrageous here in South Carolina. So, if you live in a warm climate, get that air conditioning going first, cause hey, butter melts. :) I kept the frosted cake in the fridge until we sat down to dinner and by dessert, the frosting was perfect -- smooth and lucious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2005

      literally melts in your mouth. hard to believe i could make something so good. used this frosting for my son's bday cake (sue b's by submitted by meanchef) and all eaters were pleased.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2005

      Ok,Ok..this is the first time I tried making a REAL frosting,and I was labelled a professional.Thnx to you,of course..:) I halved the recipe and still had some left,though i did use normal sugar which i powdered instead of teh powdered sugar it self....texture was a bit grainy but not noticeable at all.All in all A definite WINNER!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 11, 2005

      Okay, first of all, I have to say that this recipe was great. Seriously. But, as I was making it, I was like "dang it! How did I screw it up?!" as I was taking it out of the food processor. It looks like it was curdled. Then, mixing the last two part together, it just came together like magic! I have baked for a LONG time, but this has got to be the strangest frosting recipe that I have ever seen, but worth every single penny! FANTASTIC! I even iced a Mean Chef cake with it (SueB's Chocolate Cake). Truly sublime. Highly recommended!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 09, 2005

      Very good chocolate frosting! Not too sweet and very fluffy. I used Ghiradelli's Bittersweet baking chocolate and followed the recipe exactly. I was surprised at the consistency of the frosting. I am used to a thicker frosting like I use in decorating cakes but this was a nice change.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 07, 2005

      Too good! I have had to ban myself from the kitchen while it cools or there won't be enough to do the cake. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2005

      This stuff just melts in your mouth!!! A helpful hint: I used Ghiradelli's Double Chocolate chips instead of the bittersweet chocolate bars. I actually think they are made with the same ingredients as the bittersweet bars -- and a lot cheaper. I think I paid about $2.60 for a 12 ounce bag of chips, as opposed to about $5-6 for two 4-ounce bars. I will warn you ... the ingredients for this frosting cost around $8-10 -- but it is worth it! It was easy to smooth, easy to spread, and worked great for my son's football cake. Here's a tip for creating a football texture: Chill the frosted cake for a bit. Lay a paper towel over one section of the frosting at a time, and gently pull the paper towel off.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2005

      Amazing! The best and most perfect chocolate frosting on the planet! Shiny and sooo rich, very easy to work with, doesn't dry out or get crunchy at the edges like most frostings do. Recipe does make a good bit of frosting so you'll have leftovers when you raid the fridge at midnight. I used instant coffee for espresso powder, otherwise as stated, with Ghiradelli bittersweet chocolate and cocoa. This recipe is why you bought a food processor, using it makes for very easy preparation. I can't imagine that you could make a mistake with this recipe, but will warn that it looks a bit strange at the food processor stage; however, when it's whisked together with the melted chocolate, magically transforms into a thing of beauty. I used this with Mean Chef's Sue B's Chocolate Cake #31804 for my mother's birthday and it was to die for. Thanks, Mean Chef!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2004

      Terrific frosting I used on Mean Chef's Sue B's Chocolate Cake #31804. The combination was a winner. Thanks again for a first class recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2004

      Would love to give you more then 5 stars for this if nothing else, for the compliments I received for it! I made it for a fellow employee for their birthday. Here are a couple of things I heard...... "Mmmmmm, it's melting in my mouth" "omigod, omigod, omigod"... my favorite.. "this is orgasmic"!! It was easy, although there are several steps, and the taste seriously is very impressive. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2004

      you're right again....this WAS the best Chocolate frosting that I've ever made. Very easy (don't be intimidated, people!) and it doesn't have that icky-sticky-sweet frosting flavor that some recipes do. Definte keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2004

      This was soooo smooth and creamy. Excellent frosting. I liked the added flavor boost of the espresso. Mmmm. I used this to frost Mean's Chocolate Cake Sue B's Chocolate Cake...then, I covered it with chocolate curls. It seemed a sin to cover such perfect frosting. LOL

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2004

      Excellent frosting recipe! We loved the decadent chocolate flavor and the fact that the frosting was light and fluffy. As Mirj mentioned in her review, this recipe makes a lot of frosting. I thickly frosted a 9x13 cake with it and had lots left over.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 15, 2004

      This was a terrific chocolate frosting recipe. I have about half of it frozen. Everyone was very impressed by the richness and consummate smoothness of this creation, and it looked beautiful too. Thank you for recommending this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2003

      WHATEVER YOU DO......don't substitute milk for heavy cream!! Darn, now I need to go make this over. :( I can't wait to taste the beautiful version of this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    1 2 3 4 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chocolate Frosting

    Serving Size: 1 (84 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 326.8
     
    Calories from Fat 266
    81%
    Total Fat 29.5 g
    45%
    Saturated Fat 18.6 g
    93%
    Cholesterol 85.5 mg
    28%
    Sodium 108.1 mg
    4%
    Total Carbohydrate 16.4 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 0.4 g
    1%
    Sugars 14.8 g
    59%
    Protein 0.9 g
    1%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites