75 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

WONDERFUL, wonderful frosting. So light and creamy, it's almost a pudding texture. Soooo much better than store bought!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jolee denns September 30, 2008

OMG WOWZER!!!!! this is THE icing/frosting for our family from now on. I totally LOVED it & so did my family. I am using it to ice dd's bday cake & will report back with people's review. creamy tasty super YUM!!!!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chefromheart September 20, 2008

This is hands down the BEST chocolate frosting recipe I've ever used. Delightfully fudgy and smooth this one is my go to for chocolate frosting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
yibbityibbit July 30, 2008

I've been baking for over 20 years and I've never made a frosting so easy and sooooo good!!! It melted in my mouth (and my son's sneaky fingers) and everyone at my former workplace is asking for more!!! Thanks for the tip on the chips instead of the bars. I'll be doing that tonite!!! Thanks to whomever posted this recipe- its the best!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jpagan29 June 02, 2008

Really good frosting. Mine wasn't runny, but wasn't overly fluffy. Luckily I made a birthday cake the night before I needed it so I put the iced cake in the refrigerator and then let it sit out right before the party; the icing was firm enough to keep a 3 layer cake together when we sliced it. To make things easier on myself, I used Jean's Darn Good Chocolate Cake recipe for the cake. I got rave reviews from an entire birthday party!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MWarren November 16, 2007

Very good tasting, but a little bit runny. I would add more powdered sugar if I made it again. But the taste was really excellent! Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hannah234 October 15, 2007

Might use a little less butter next time; it's a little too melt-in-your-mouth for me. All in all a gorgeous frosting so easy to make, use, and eat. Thanks!!! :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
un petit chou October 04, 2007

This recipe was INCREDIBLE. I am not a fan of icings/frostings but this one is delicious. Not too sweet, just right. I will stress what others have said - after the food processor stage it looks disgusting, like curdled milk. But once you mix it in with the chocolate/butter mixture, it is heaven. Definitely try this one!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Burefan October 01, 2007

This is a rich, delicious, dark frosting that is perfect with Sue B's Chocolate Cake. It was much easier to make than I feared it would be. Do be sure to use top quality chocolate, as it will make a difference in the flavor--there's not much to mask low-quality chocolate here. I used Ghiradelli and it was very good. It is not overly sweet, but rather rich, although the espresso saves it from being overwhelmingly so. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Halcyon Eve September 21, 2007

This is the most delicious chocolate frosting I have ever made or even tasted. You'll probably agree, too, if you love dark, not-too-sweet chocolate. It is also beautiful, fluffy and shiny on the cake. The recipe yielded plenty for a three-layer cake, with lots of frosting between layers, on the sides and top. Hint: Others have said they used instant coffee, but I went to the local coffee shop where I'm a regular customer, requested a couple of tablespoons of espresso beans and ground them finely in my little home grinder. Not knowing what to charge, the shop gave them to me for free.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pamelad June 04, 2007
Chocolate Frosting