Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chocolate Frosting Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chocolate Frosting

    Average Rating:

    75 Total Reviews

    Showing 41-60 of 75

    Sort by:

    • on June 02, 2007

      This is so good and very pretty so shiny!! It was so silky smooth when you eat it! I used this on Sue B's Chocolate Cake. The only thing is that it was pretty non-sweet, and I will add more sugar next time. One note: DO NOT sub in margarine for the butter, as you will come up with a grainy and unappetizing frosting. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2007

      The only thing I would add to these reviews is that the frosting is more of a chocolate mousse (spelled wrong?). If you are looking for something sweet, this isnt. But it IS wonderful!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 23, 2007

      As everyone has said this is an amazingly good frosting. It mixed up like a dream and handled so well. I left out the espresso powder and increased the vanilla. I used it with Mean Chef's Choc Cake for a wedding shower. A guest said it was one of the best cakes she'd ever had. I couldn't stop licking the bowl!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 03, 2007

      This is the only chocolate frosting I will ever make again. There are no words to describe how wonderful this frosting is.I have brought this to work several times, loved just as much by men as women. I have never made any chocolate frosting that comes anywhere close to this!! Wonderful.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2007

      Oh my goodness is this frosting ever good! The texture is wonderful and so is the flavor. This will be my go to chocolate frosting from now on

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2007

      You know, a lot of times I give 5 star ratings just to be nice... but this is not one of those times. It seriously deserves 10 stars. It's so rich, light, and not sugar-y sweet to disguise the chocolate flavor but still keeps the buttery taste. It's very light, whip-like, and can wreak havoc in a room with women on diets. I didn't cream the butter before i put in the powder mixture, which is why it came out clumpy, but once I added the chocolate and butter mixture, everything was fine and dandy. I'm definitely, definitely going to use this one again. I think next time I'm going to add darker chocolate just to experiment. This was too light in chocolately-ness, but thats precisely why I think everyone would love it regardless or not they actually like chocolate.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2007

      Wonderful frosting! Lots left over, and I'm glad because I can use it for other things. Thank you for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2007

      As a pastry chef I was surprised at the results of this frosting; it tastes like a french buttercream. If you are looking for a heavy fudge type frosting this is not it. It is light on the tongue, rich chocolate flavor and can be swooped and swirled or smoothed to a fine mirror finish. One batch covers a 2 layer 9" cake very generously.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2007

      Outstanding frosting..creamy and rich perfect for that special biryhday cake..lots left over so froze it ..couldnt help myself made it just the way the recipe reads and perfect..will never buy store bought again..Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2006

      Hi, thanks for a great recipe! Like Marji, I found it a bit rich and will probably use less butter next time. Also, I don't have a food processor so had to whisk the butter and sugar by hand. Even then, the consistency was perfectly fluffy and the flavour deliciously chocolatey. I had heaps left over after frosting my single layer chocolate cake, so I've put it in the freeer for next time. Thanks again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2006

      Wow. This was absolutely wonderful. I used it on my daughter's yellow cake for her birthday. I kept the mixture in the processor and whipped it in there instead of stirring it together, and it came out great, and I didn't bother to sift the powdered sugar, just mixed it with the cocoa. This was very rich; next time I think I'll try just one stick (4oz) of butter melted, then just another 4 oz with the powdered sugar, and see how that turns out, it will be reducing the butter by 1 stick. Thanks for the recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 11, 2006

      Mmmm... frosting! This was insanely delicious! Like RachelRoo, I used chocolate chips (Ghirardelli 60% Bittersweet). I also didn't have espresso powder, so I used instant coffee. I didn't have a food processor, but I had a tiny food chopper, so I had to make the frosting in batches. I was skeptical and worried that it wasn't going to come together because of my lack of equipment. But it came together like magic. This was for my co-worker's birthday. I couldn't make her cake from scratch because she likes the Funfetti cake mix stuff. My boss was in heaven, and she's not even a "chocolate frosting kind of person." Even after a few hours in the icebox, the frosting was still really soft and just melts in your mouth. Thanks for such a great recipe Mean Chef!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2006

      Made this yesterday with Mean Chef's Sue B's chocolate cake, and was rewarded with food snob of a daughter saying that this is an excellent chocolate cake/frosting. I cannot ask for more from a cake/frosting. Frosting looked so satiny smooth and light, and today, out of the fridge, it was even more delicious. A must try recipe combo. Thank you for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 28, 2006

      Excellent, easy, surprisingly light frosting. I used unsweetened chocolate and added just a bit more sugar. I also simplified by melting the butter in the microwave and stirring the chocolate into it to melt. Thanks Mean Chef! This was great for my DS's birthday cupcakes!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2006

    • on March 25, 2006

      i made this recipe for a batch of brownies (my friend insists that brownies need frosting). i wasn't sure that the texture was heavy enough for the brownies but a couple people tried them and they went nuts. everyone loved it! very nice fluffy frosting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2006

      Wonderful, Wonderful. A little extra work but worth the effort! I have some in my freezer for a bad day! :) I will never crack a can of store bought frosting again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2005

      As if this recipe needs any more five star reviews. I used it on my one year old son's birthday cake. What I loved most was that is was such an easy consistency to work with. It wasn't completely cool when I frosted the cake (as I was running behind) and yet it didn't slide and made just a beautiful cake. Once set it has a wonderful texture, and the flavor....well, you just have to try it...I have never had frosting this good. It is the only chocolate frosting I will ever make from here on out! Thanks so much for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2005

      Absolutely THE BEST chocolate frosting I've ever had!! My sister and I were licking the bowl clean and fighting over the last bites of this frosting!! Thanks for a keeper Mean!! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 10, 2005

      Oh my LORD!! This is definately the best frosting I have ever made. WOW! Delicious. After blending the butter mixture in food processor I was a little intimidated but it magically whipped up beautifully when I mixed the two mixtures together. Made it for my hubby's birthday with Sue B's chocolate cake! Delish!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chocolate Frosting

    Serving Size: 1 (84 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 326.8
     
    Calories from Fat 266
    81%
    Total Fat 29.5 g
    45%
    Saturated Fat 18.6 g
    93%
    Cholesterol 85.5 mg
    28%
    Sodium 108.1 mg
    4%
    Total Carbohydrate 16.4 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 0.4 g
    1%
    Sugars 14.8 g
    59%
    Protein 0.9 g
    1%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites