Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chocolate Frosting Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chocolate Frosting

    Average Rating:

    75 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 75

    Sort by:

    • on January 11, 2010

      This stuff is AMAZING! I have made it many times and everyone raves about it. I even forgot to add the cream to the last batch I made and it was still AWESOME.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2009

      I made a birthday cake for my daughter and several people complimented me on this frosting. It was a great consistency and had just a hint of espresso flavor - but not overwhelming at all. I agree that the frosting is better if you can make it the day of and not refrigerate it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2009

      I used this frosting for DD's cupcakes for her birthday. Very good basic frosting. It was light and fluffy. We really liked it, thank you for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2009

      Good icing, just don't use salted butter or it will be super salty. I didn't have any unsalted, so I figured I'd leave out the extra salt, but it is still very salty. I am still using it since it was a ton of ingredients. Hopefully the cake will balance it out. Besides the salt, it's a tasty icing, but I don't think I would make it again- a lot of work and ingredients for icing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2009

      Frosting has excellent flavor but I must have done something wrong? The frosting turned out runny. I did all the measurements exactly. The only thing I can think of is maybe the chocolate butter mixture wasn't cooled enough? HELP! I really want to get this right so I can frost a cake with it, right now I am putting it in the fridge so it will be spreadable and not runny.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 18, 2009

      Whoa, what a deliciously decadent frosting! Followed the recipe exactly only added about 1/3 cup more powdered sugar at the end. Silky smooth an beautiful!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 21, 2009

    • on April 27, 2009

      I am surprised this gets so many 5 star reviews. It is WAY to salty, all I could taste with each bite was salt. It takes a great deal of effort to prepare and the results are not really worth it to me. The icing is extremely creamy with a dark chocolate flavor but it was not superior to the icing I normally make. Sorry. :(

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2008

      What a DELICIOUS frosting! The texture is light and smooth, and the flavor is all rich, dark chocolate -- not at all like the weak, milk chocolate flavor of most frostings. Phenomenal!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2008

      OH MY GOD!! This is SOOOO good....I've been licking the bowl, it reminds me of a chocolate shake it's so addicting!! Thank you for this recipe!! I can't wait to hear what the family thinks about it! DEFINITELY using this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2008

      WONDERFUL, wonderful frosting. So light and creamy, it's almost a pudding texture. Soooo much better than store bought!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2008

      OMG WOWZER!!!!! this is THE icing/frosting for our family from now on. I totally LOVED it & so did my family. I am using it to ice dd's bday cake & will report back with people's review. creamy tasty super YUM!!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 30, 2008

      This is hands down the BEST chocolate frosting recipe I've ever used. Delightfully fudgy and smooth this one is my go to for chocolate frosting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2008

      I've been baking for over 20 years and I've never made a frosting so easy and sooooo good!!! It melted in my mouth (and my son's sneaky fingers) and everyone at my former workplace is asking for more!!! Thanks for the tip on the chips instead of the bars. I'll be doing that tonite!!! Thanks to whomever posted this recipe- its the best!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2007

      Really good frosting. Mine wasn't runny, but wasn't overly fluffy. Luckily I made a birthday cake the night before I needed it so I put the iced cake in the refrigerator and then let it sit out right before the party; the icing was firm enough to keep a 3 layer cake together when we sliced it. To make things easier on myself, I used Jean's Darn Good Chocolate Cake recipe for the cake. I got rave reviews from an entire birthday party!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2007

      Very good tasting, but a little bit runny. I would add more powdered sugar if I made it again. But the taste was really excellent! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2007

      Might use a little less butter next time; it's a little too melt-in-your-mouth for me. All in all a gorgeous frosting so easy to make, use, and eat. Thanks!!! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2007

      This recipe was INCREDIBLE. I am not a fan of icings/frostings but this one is delicious. Not too sweet, just right. I will stress what others have said - after the food processor stage it looks disgusting, like curdled milk. But once you mix it in with the chocolate/butter mixture, it is heaven. Definitely try this one!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2007

      This is a rich, delicious, dark frosting that is perfect with Sue B's Chocolate Cake. It was much easier to make than I feared it would be. Do be sure to use top quality chocolate, as it will make a difference in the flavor--there's not much to mask low-quality chocolate here. I used Ghiradelli and it was very good. It is not overly sweet, but rather rich, although the espresso saves it from being overwhelmingly so. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2007

      This is the most delicious chocolate frosting I have ever made or even tasted. You'll probably agree, too, if you love dark, not-too-sweet chocolate. It is also beautiful, fluffy and shiny on the cake. The recipe yielded plenty for a three-layer cake, with lots of frosting between layers, on the sides and top. Hint: Others have said they used instant coffee, but I went to the local coffee shop where I'm a regular customer, requested a couple of tablespoons of espresso beans and ground them finely in my little home grinder. Not knowing what to charge, the shop gave them to me for free.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chocolate Frosting

    Serving Size: 1 (84 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 326.8
     
    Calories from Fat 266
    81%
    Total Fat 29.5 g
    45%
    Saturated Fat 18.6 g
    93%
    Cholesterol 85.5 mg
    28%
    Sodium 108.1 mg
    4%
    Total Carbohydrate 16.4 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 0.4 g
    1%
    Sugars 14.8 g
    59%
    Protein 0.9 g
    1%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites