Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chocolate Frosting Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chocolate Frosting

    Average Rating:

    75 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 75

    Sort by:

    • on September 22, 2003

      Absolutely incredible!!! Mean Chef suggested this recipe when I was looking for something to fill little pre-made chocolate cups for a dessert tray. I made this according to the directions, with the exception of the espresso power for which I had to substitute instant coffee. The texture is beautiful. It spreads very well and, for my use, held its shape well when piped into cups with a pastry bag. The chocolate remained super-shiney as well. I sprinkled a few gold flakes on top and they were beautiful. This is the only chocolate frosting/filling I will ever make. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 18, 2003

      The most important step in this recipe is #13: Can be frozen. This makes a huge amount of frosting, more than was necessary for my daughter's birthday cake. I didn't have an espresso powder so I used some Taster's Choice instant coffee, vanilla-flavored. I froze the amount that was left-over (almost one-third). It defrosted beautifully this past weekend and I used it to frost a smaller cake. Thanks for my new keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 21, 2003

      This is the best chocolate frosting I've ever used. At first I thought, nah, I don't want to use all those ingredients, and then thought about taking this short cut or that short cut. However, I was a good little bunny and did what I was told. Oh, wow. Beautiful texture and it freezes and thaws excellently. Brilliant one, MC.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2011

      This is a really tasty frosting! It was my first attempt ever to make a frosting from scratch, along with the cake (#20112), and I wasn't disappointed. I was not aware that so much better is used in homemade frostings but once I got over that shock the rest was easy. I couldn't find espresso powder in the local stores so skipped it and upped the vanilla a teaspoon instead. The frosting complimented the chocolate cake beautifully which had its own coffee already in it so the espresso wasn't missed at all. Per many of the comments, watch out for the interesting transformation that takes place when you pour in the melted butter and chocolate. Reminded me of my high school chemistry class, of all things. And don't mind the dull, hard appearance it has when you take it out of the fridge. Just let it sit for an hour and it'll soften and shine right up good as new. It even seemed to taste better the older it got, though if yours is like mine was, it probably won't last more than a day or two -- it's that good!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2010

      This is gorgeous, light, glossing frosting. I like that it makes enough to freeze for another use, and it has a deep chocolate flavor, less sweet than others, that I really enjoyed. It was so easy to work with, too. I may add additional sugar to the recipe next time for more of a "mouth feel", but that's my personal preference. Thanks for sharing this delicious recipe that will enhance many a cake to come!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 16, 2010

      This is an incredibly delicious frosting. I do think it should be called "Mocha Frosting" instead...because that's exactly what it tastes like. Every time I use this in a cake, people rave about it! I usually use it as a filling between two chocolate layers, then use a different frosting (usually a buttercream) for the top, only because the flavor of this frosting is very strong and I feel it's better as a filling.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2010

      This frosting is delicious beyond description. I was looking for a frosting similar to the frosting used at a local bake shop that has a creamy texture and shiny appearance along with chocolaty goodness. This excelled on all counts. First time making it, I was concerned at the look of the batter before adding the chocolate/butter mixture. Thought it was going in the trash since it looked more like curdled liver sausage than frosting. However, it magically transformed after adding the rest of the mixture. Oh..I used a classic Sunbeam stand mixer rather than a food processor and it came out just fine. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2009

      This is the best chocolate frosting I have ever had in my life. I don't even buy chocolate cake in stores any more because it can't compare. My friends request cakes with this frosting for their birthdays, and at a party in December, I passed through my kitchen and guests had found spoons and were eating the extra out of the mixing bowl. It is THAT good. Until I got a food processor, I made it with a stand mixer--worked fine. I would not skip the espresso powder if I were you. It doesn't taste coffee-like at all (which I would notice and dislike immediately) but gives it a great depth. Chocolate frosting can't get better than this.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2008

      We used this to top Sue B's Chocolate Cake We used Chocolate Buttercream Frosting to do the layers in the cake. I do like the fluffy whippy texture of buttercream, but I think it's a texture preference why I prefer this frosting to top a cake. This is smooth like silk. Not like mousse, more like pudding. It was a pain to make in my too small food processor, but once I poured my (slightly warmer than room temp melted choc/butter) in, it all came together well. I just chopped my chocolate and butter up and put them in a glass jar inside the pot of water that simmered till the contents of the jar melted. I forgot about the contents of the jar for oh, bout 10 minutes or so after it melted. I let it cool almost to room temp but it was still fine. It was not too runny and it kept my decorative combing well even by the next day without refridgeration. I could really taste the coffee flavor but I like that. My husband who doesn't like coffee flavored desserts at all liked it a lot too. My children went nuts over it. Nuff said. Thank you so much for posting this recipe. It is great to know I have such a wonderful recipe to go to when I have the time to make chocolate frosting from scratch. It really does put the canned stuff to shame.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2007

      This frosting tastes like the chocolate shell of a chocolate covered vanilla popscicle. I liked how it was smooth and pure chocolate. I don't think it needs more powdered sugar, it's not runny at all as long as you beat it well after adding the heavy cream to give it body. I loved that it wasn't pasty like buttercream, my favorite so far.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2005

      This is FABULOUS! I made a 9 inch, 3-layer chocolate cake (from a box - tisk, tisk) and a dozen cupcakes. By the time I was ready to frost the VERY TALL cake, I only had 9 cupcakes remaining. This recipe frosted in between the layers and the entire outside of the cake, as well as all 9 cupcakes. When I served this to my company, they KEPT ON saying things like "This is SUCH good cake." This frosting is delish! I love the hint of coffee, and contrary to what the decadent list of ingredients might imply, it is not too rich or sweet. It's just right! Get ready for compliments on this one! Thanks, Mean Chef!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2004

      This is the best chocolate frosting I have ever had..made a chocolate layer cake for my friends birthday and used this frosting and everyone raved about the cake saying I should go to college to be a chef! I did do one change, I only used 8 oz. butter in the whole recipe...4 oz. in each part...still was fabulous! Oh yea and I used instant coffee granules instead of espresso powder

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2003

      This is so delicious. I like the texture and how smooth it came out. It was very easy to make and it coated the whole 9 inch 3 layer cake. Great recipe Mean!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2014

      It's delicious. I made a double batch for a half sheet and still had enough to pipe borders, I also used it for a cute birthday cake. Very beautiful and it tastes as good as it looks. This frosting smoothes out with ease for a very smooth finish. Thank you for this recipe , it's a new favorite!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 15, 2014

      after spending the last 20-30 years looking for the best chocolate icing for a yellow cake, I have finally found it! I, like others, thought there was no way the curdled mess that happens in the Cuisinart stage of the process could ever turn into anything eatable, BUT, when the melted chocolate, butter, espresso mix is added to finish it, Something magical happens and it is the lightest, fluffiest, creamiest, melt-in-your-mouth concoction that has ever graced a cake. Thank you whomever developed this delectable addition to my Taste of Tradition cookbook. And thank you Courtly for posting it. I now crown you Queen of Frostings!!! DAR Lady

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2013

      Incredible! I've made three batches of this wonderful frosting in one week. This is now my go-to recipe for chocolate frosting. I used it with yellow chiffon cake layers...mmmm!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2012

      Made this tonight, It is INCREDIBLE! I decided to skip the espresso powder step since my chocolate cake had coffee in it already, turned out beautiful!!! The taste is amazing! Best homemade chocolate icing I have ever made. Also, I did not use a food processor, just used arm power, which worked just fine. Still came out smooth!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2010

      Never made a chocolate frosting before and it was fab!!! Light not overly sweet or too rich. Spread wonderfully and was thick enough to be piped - I topped 24 regular sized cupcakes and only used a 3rd of it. So glad it freezes well!
      This is a definate keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 19, 2010

      Perfect! Perfect! Perfect! This is the result I was looking for to top a special chocolate cake I make for DH. It was a hit, and so was I! Thanks so much. Not too sweet, just right! Perfect!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 10, 2010

      This frosting was OUSTANDING! I didn't have a processor and used arm power and it was still wonderful. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chocolate Frosting

    Serving Size: 1 (84 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 326.8
     
    Calories from Fat 266
    81%
    Total Fat 29.5 g
    45%
    Saturated Fat 18.6 g
    93%
    Cholesterol 85.5 mg
    28%
    Sodium 108.1 mg
    4%
    Total Carbohydrate 16.4 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 0.4 g
    1%
    Sugars 14.8 g
    59%
    Protein 0.9 g
    1%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites