Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chocolate French Silk Pie (Copycat Bakers Square's French Silk) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chocolate French Silk Pie (Copycat Bakers Square's French Silk)

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on November 24, 2010

      This is a must for every holiday meal. Don't let the store bought pie make you think you've tried this. We use regular sugar which is probably harder to incorporate. I once had someone steal this whole pie from a pot luck at work.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2012

      This turned out awesome! I think the key was sticking to the beating times. One of our family traditions used to be Baker's Square French Silk pie at every holiday alla Aunt Jo and Uncle Ed. Since Baker's Square left our neighborhood we have missed it. I made this recipte for Christmas this year and it was great to bring back the tradition. Aunt Jo is always with us in spirit but this year she was smiling down on our desert table. :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2012

      I made this for our family Christmas dinner last year. I blended the sugar so that it would be superfine chopped. (Cheaper than buying the one that is already blended too!) I also made my own whipped cream - which I think tastes better than the stuff you get in a tub. I also used the pre-made chocolate pie crust instead of baking a fresh or store bought crust.

      Anyway, it took a lot of time to blend it all - but with the kitchen stand mixer it was a breeze to do. After finishing and the building anticipation of waiting for the pie to finish chilling - I was thrilled that it set properly and was not runny at all. I also took the time to put whipped cream dollops on top to further mimic Baker's Square. My family thought I had bought it and we all loved the flavor. All the sugar did dissolve - something I was fearing would not happen while I made it.

      Anyway, this pie was awesome. Yes, it takes a little bit of time, but it tastes homemade. Plus, a little bit of effort for something that tastes this incredible is worth it!

      I plan to make this for Thanksgiving this year and am already starting to salivate at the thought of that first creamy-chocolatey-whipped creamy bite!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2012

      To die for! Just like the Baker's Square Original. I used regular granulated sugar and mixed it for a good 15 minutes. Even then, I really thought it was going to turn out grainy but once the vanilla and eggs were added in, it was smooth as silk. I used my own pie crust rather than store bought - no problem there. Store bought whipped cream and some chocolate swirls and this baby was a-goner! Literally. Absolutely amazing. And to think that you could do this without an oven!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2011

      Excellent! My hubby made this pie tonight. It is pure chocolate decadence. The filling truly is silky, and it packs a rich chocolate flavor. Instead of a traditional blind baked pie crust, he used a chocolate cookie crust. One slice at a time is definitely enough--no seconds for me tonight, but I'm already dreaming of my next slice! I have a feeling it would be even more sinful with a nice glass of chianti. Yum! Thanks for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2013

      This came out nicely. I used regular sugar, whipped it with the butter for quite awhile, and it smoothed out after all the eggs were added. The only reason I am giving 4 instead of five is the amount of raw egg involved. If I had told those who ate it how it was made, I think a number of them would not have eaten it. As it was, I really wanted Baker's Square french silk, so I made it. It's actually not *exactly* right, as I remember the original. This has less of the velvety texture and more the consistency of, well, egg white. I didn't tell anyone about the raw eggs and they all loved it. I don't want to be a food safety priss, but I probably won't make this again any time soon. Also, it could be a little more chocolatey, or as we in the scientific community like to say, "chocolateier".

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2013

      I attempted to make this pie for Easter dinner desert. Unfortunately, it did not set nd was very running to the point of soup-like. I followed the recipe to the T but I questioned the receipe in that the "pudding" called for eggs but doesn't require cooking. Is part of the recipe missing?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2013

      My husband and I both love Baker's Square French Silk Pie. I have been looking for that recipe for years! All the Baker's Square locations have closed in our area. I love to cook and bake and I will go to any length to make something we enjoy. I love eating my work as much as I love making it. I give this recipe 5 stars. However, Bakers Square's it was not. I would love to know what brand chocolate you used that it tasted like Bakers Square's? I used Ghirardelli unsweetened chocolate instead of Bakers Secret that tends to be very bitter and I knew it wouldn't come close to tasting like Bakers Square's chocolate. I went to three stores looking for Mrs. Smith's frozen pie crusts and fine sugar. I ended up making my own crust from scratch out of crisco, flour, salt and water. It turned out flaky, beautiful and delicious. I ran my sugar through the food processor and used my Kitchen Aid with the flat beater to beat the sugar and softened butter together on med/high speed for 10 minutes. I checked after 10 minutes and it was gritty. I beat another 5 minutes and it was still gritty. I was worried I ruined my pie, but after the pie sat up in the frig for a couple of hours it did not have a gritty texture. I made a whipped topping with heavy whipping cream and powdered sugar. It tasted wonderful, but it was no Bakers Square's French Silk Pie that I was hoping for. Thank you for a good recipe and I would love to know what brand chocolate you use?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2012

      Was not as fluffy as I remember it being and the recipe made way too much for one store bought pie crust. I'm going to try and find a deep dish pie crust for the next time. It also totally melted and was only out on the counter for maybe 20 minutes. I'm also concerned about the raw egg. Going to browse for another recipe to see if it is the same or similar.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 20, 2010

      Delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chocolate French Silk Pie (Copycat Bakers Square's French Silk)

    Serving Size: 1 (120 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1043.3
     
    Calories from Fat 625
    59%
    Total Fat 69.4 g
    106%
    Saturated Fat 38.8 g
    194%
    Cholesterol 308.0 mg
    102%
    Sodium 657.4 mg
    27%
    Total Carbohydrate 100.9 g
    33%
    Dietary Fiber 3.4 g
    13%
    Sugars 75.4 g
    301%
    Protein 11.2 g
    22%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites