67 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Simple and perfect. Used Scharffen Berger bittersweet chocolate and whipping cream, heated in the microwave. For dippers, used biscotti, pound cake cubes, frozen cheesecake cubes, whole strawberries, fresh pineapple chunks, banana, apple slices, marshmallows, vanilla wafers, and honey wheat pretzels. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LonghornMama February 15, 2009

This review comes from someone who has made a LOT of bad chocolate fondue. Honestly, I can mess up any chocolate fondue recipe. WELL. This was the best ever. USed 1/2 and 1/2 and the butter. Really awesome taste, not too sweet. Used the simmer over the hot water method and it melted up nicely, everything incorporated and I ended up with a lovely pot of glossy, smooth, warm and beautiful goodness. Served with strawberry chunks and pieces of pound cake. Made on Valentine's Day - what a nice treat. So happy! Will use this recipe exclusively. Thanks a million!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Messy44 February 14, 2009

We did this last night and it was yummy, but next time we're going to go with regular milk chocolate. The semi was too bitter for us. We definitely like the idea of whipping cream versus any type of oil to add to the chocolate, though. Thanks for this recipe!! :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Starrkissed February 09, 2009

SOOO YUMMY! I used milk chocolate chips and half and half. We dipped pretzels, strawberries, banana slices, and marshmallows in it. It was fantastic, and incredibly easy! My son got a huge kick out of this and now requests it all the time!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JA'sMommy February 06, 2009

Used mostly dark chocolate and some semi-sweet with FF half and half. It was good but no exceptional. I will probably switch up the mix next time.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GreenEyesCO January 03, 2009

DELICIOUS! EASY! CHEAP! I've used chocolate meant for fondue melting, and it always got too hot and clumped or burned. This recipe is the PERFECT chocolate fondue. YUM.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LoydaP January 01, 2009

This was fabulous! We had two pots for Thanksgiving dessert and everyone just loved it! We used bittersweet Ghiradelli for one pot; the other started as Ghiradelli white chocolate. Unfortunately, that one was very thin, so we ended up putting most of a bag of milk chocolate in it to thicken it up some. Either way, it was terrific and my SIL described it as a "liquid candy bar". Definitely will make again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
D. Duckie November 28, 2008

Oh this was divine! Not much more can be said :) I did, however, prefer the taste of it freshly prepared. Re-heated it just wasn't AS wonderful (still wonderful though!)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Peachie Keene September 10, 2008

Yummmmm! And, super easy! I used Ghirardelli milk chocolate and heavy cream. This is a recipe that I will use again and pass along to anyone that asks for it. Thank you for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sexymommalucas August 06, 2008
Chocolate Fondue