67 Reviews

I made this tonight for dessert. I used semi-sweet chips after reading some of the other reviews. We had raisins, Oreos, bananas, strawberries, pretzels, plain donuts and marshmallows to dip in the chocolate. And I had a little bowl of unsweetened coconut to dip the chocolate covered whatever in. My family loved it. They want to have it for breakfast!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cookee monster January 09, 2011

Perfect for a 10-year old birthday party. Accidentally left out the vanilla and was still yummy. Pineapple was the least favorite dipper, and tangerines were the most favorite. Also did marshmallows, graham crackers, kiwi, and bananas. Yum!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cookin'UpNorth November 28, 2010

WOW! I felt so decadent eating this. I adore dark chocolate and i agree with previous reviewers that the bittersweet is a bit too much. I had to add some sugar because it was so dark. Next time I will do all semi sweet. Thanks for a great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Retro Kali July 09, 2010

Great simple chocolate fondue! I used half milk chocolate & half semi-sweet chocolate, and heavy cream. This melted great in my fondue pot and we served it with strawberries, bananas, pound cake, & cheesecake.. Actually I put the leftover chocolate into a bowl and was able to re-fondue it the next day and it was still great! It's heavenly with strawberries!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dr_kaley May 16, 2010

This was good for the adults but the chocolate was too strong for the kids. If I make it again I will use some milk chocolate if kids are there.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cooking with love March 15, 2010

Yummers! I like this recipe because I almost always have the ingredients in the cupboard - no marshmallow creme or whipping cream needed. I halved the recipe and used bittersweet choc/semisweet choc, skim milk, and vanilla. It put the ingredients into my tiny slow cooker and the fondue was ready in 25 min or so. We ate it with banana chunks, strawberries, graham cracker sticks, pretzels, and marshmallows. My girls loved it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
wife2abadge March 14, 2010

Very simple, but full of flavor. Goes great with strawberries, pound cake, bananas, and toasted coconut marshmallows. Keeps well on warm. Will make this again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Michael Wodnicki February 17, 2010

Made this for a luncheon I catered and the ladies loved it! I tried a little taste myself and it was so smooth and creamy. Just heavenly! I dipped strawberries, pound cake, and strawberry flavored marshmallows in it. The marshmallows were my favorite :) Thanks for posting! Will be making this again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
shimmerysummersun January 30, 2010

Excellent and so easy to make! We loved it with Bananas!!! YUM!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Microcell January 02, 2010

I used the dark choc. you can get around Christmas time (it was on clearance). Had to make it dairy free, so used 1/3 C rice milk plus the margarine. I had to cook in micro for a couple more minutes (on medium), but we didn't have to keep it warm. It stayed soft the whole meal through. Served with bananas, apples and marshmallows. I HATE marshmallows and tried them in this and love it! When I try again, will try all the suggestions from Lori in NC. Yum!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
WI Cheesehead January 01, 2010
Chocolate Fondue