135 Reviews

Excellent recipe, very YUMMY!. If you can't find Cajeta in the spanish section of your supermarket, look where the condensed milk is and they might have Dulce de Leche (La Lechera brand). If you still can't find dulce de leche all you need to do is get a can of condensed milk, remove label, put in a pot with enough boiling water that will cover it and cook for 3 hours. If you want do more than one can since it keeps well in the refigerator. This tastes much better than caramel. You can also use it on the middle of two shorbread cookies, cake fillings, fruit dipping or just with a spoon by itself. I made this cake twice, first time with caramel and second time with the condensed milk and it made a difference. Thank you for an awesome recipe

9 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
*Yani* December 20, 2008

As evryone has said.....OMG!!!! This was very easy to make and tastes amazing! I read the other reviews about possible overflow so I used 4 custard dishes (1 cup size) and prepared 4 small cakes before emptying the rest of the ingredients in the bunt pan. I let the 4 samll cakes cook with the large bunt in a very large disposable pan with the water bath. I took the 4 smaller cakes out at about 1 hour 15 minutes. I let the large cake cook for the remaining 45 minutes. They all came out absolutley picture perfect!!!! I also let the large cake cool for 30+ minutes before I plated it. I used my largst serving plate and still spilled cajeta in the sink. Oh well, I guess I have a good excuse to go and get a new "BIGGER" serving plate. Thanks bunches Miss Annie, this is definatley a 5 star recipe!!! I'm gonna fool around with the butter cake with cinnimon idea....MMMMMM Yummy!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sunshine 79' November 12, 2009

In Puerto Rico we call this FLANCOCHO. We use vanilla cake mix though. Also , we make our own caramel. Just cook 1 cup of sugar in a sauce pan and add a teaspoon of water until it starts to turn amber, poor this into the prepared pan and swirl around a bit, then add liquids. It's so good, my sis and I had it the last time we went out there and it was yummy!!!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
latinmargarita August 06, 2009

I've made this three times now, improving on it each time. The first time I followed the recipe exactly, and it was okay. The second time, I used my favorite chocolate cake recipe instead of boxed mixed and it was that much better. A few things to note: You really do need a large bundt pan. I had to go out and buy a new one, 12 to 15 cups because the first time I made this I wasn't sure how large my pan was and it was too small. Second, this is just as good if you don't add the caramel to the pan and just add it after, and you save the mess. Third, the type of pan you have changes the temperature needs; the first time I used a silicone pan and it came out great, the second time I used a cast aluminum pan and it was burnt (although it still tasted fine), the third time I turned the temp down to 325, came out perfect.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
strawberrybird June 05, 2009

OMG.....made a special trip to the Mexican store for cajeta. glad I did....THIS CAKE IS HEAVEN ON A PLATE! The little extra effort it takes is oh so worth it....words cannot decribe how good this is! TY Annie for something REALLY special!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LAURIE May 12, 2003

Really good and easy to make. I halved the recipe and bake it in a loaf pan but forgot to adjust the baking time accordingly (I baked for 2 hours) so the cake turned out kind of dry. Fortunately the caramel helped balance out the dryness. Perhaps I will bake for just 1 hours 15 mins next time. I used Kittencal's caramel sauce which is another recipe on this website.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
myoungp August 30, 2010

After 3 bundt pans I have found the pan to hold this cake without spilling over the pan. Nordic Ware (proudly made in the USA) "Original Bundt Pan" Platinum collection Sates 10 - 15 cups & it does hold 15 cups. At last a pan the perfect size to hold this incredible cake. Presentation & taste are both superb!!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Campfire Princess May 11, 2010

OMG!! I cannot believe this cake! If it were possible, I'd give it 10 stars, which it definately deserves. I didn't change a thing and it turned out perfectly. I made it for a co-worker's birthday and they couldn't stop raving about it! This cake is marvelous! It not only tastes wonderful, it also looks very elegant. The pictures don't do it justice. Just as the recipe states, you must make sure the foil is sealed around the edges of the pan. I used three pieces of foil, just to make sure and still had some of the cake batter seeped out in the center "hole" area but it didn't affect the cake at all. I will make this cake many more times. Thank you Miss Annie for an amazing dessert!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CarolO October 14, 2009

I have made this 5 or 6 times. It has always been the hit of the party. It's easy to do and turns out perfect everytime if you use a large enough bundt pan. I have a 15 cup heavy aluminum pan from Nordic and it doesn't overflow and the cake just drops out everytme. Did it for church coffee hour and literally a dozen people asked for the recipe. Out of 5 stars, I give it 10

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
fcostley28 August 08, 2009

I made this to take to a bar-b-que today. As it turned out, it was someone's birthday so it became their birthday cake. :o) Everyone LOVED this cake! After reading the other reviews, I made sure that my bundt pan had a 12 cup capacity - it did. After that, I just assumed that the pan would fit in my 9 x 13 inch pan (my largest baking pan) for the water bath. When I tried to put the filled bundt pan in the 9 x 13" pan, I found out differently. Then I decided to put the bundt pan in my large lipped cookie sheet - only about 1/2" of water could be placed in the sheet. After 15 minutes of baking, I hit on the idea of using a disposable aluminum 9 x 13" baking pan. This worked out perfectly as I was able to bend the sides of the pan to accomodate the bundt pan and raise the level of water in the water bath. I used non-stick aluminum foil to cover the cake and it worked really well. The end result looked very much like the picture and made a big impression on everyone! Thank you so much for sharing this recipe!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chicagopm September 05, 2004
Chocolate Flan Cake