30 Reviews

This is amazing!! Refrig for 24hrs prior to serving for best taste, but then again it might not make it 24hrs especially in my fridge!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
newlywedcook August 03, 2011

The first time my mother-in-law made this, I knew i had to have the recipe! it is fabulous--everyone loves it. If you need a quick fix, use some prepared rich chocolate frosting and it will do---although the choc. glaze is the best!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
recoverinpickyeater May 09, 2010

SO simple, SO delish!! Can't believe I only recently heard of this from a friend. I highly recommend refigerating it for at least 24 hours before serving. The crackers will be softer and more cake-like. For the icing, I use 1/2 cup cocoa powder in place of the chocolate (all other ingredients same). Mix cocoa and powdered sugar, melt the butter and stir into dry mix w/milk, then add syrup and vanilla. Pours well.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sugarpants August 22, 2009

Just got home from a get together with our friends and someone brought this desert. It was delicious and was gobbled up. We forgot to get the recipe, so I told them I'd get from recipezaar. I'm definely going to make it. Your recipe is idendtical to what we had, thanks for posting it.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
yamma July 19, 2003

I'm so glad to see this easy-peasy recipe here. I've made it for years, and it's always popular. Whether you use whole milk or skim, it always turns out delicious. I don't see the need to butter the pan, though - the crackers don't stick to the pan. Thanks for posting this perennial favorite!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cathyfood November 15, 2015

Thank u for posting this recipe......I have made many times and it is always a hit...so good that I can not make it too often, as it is one of desserts that I can't resist.......I have absolutley no will power when this is dish in the frig......delicious and so easy to make!!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SweetOlive May 06, 2010

This is incredible!! So easy and delicious I can't believe it. I've made it twice in the past two weeks and it has gotten rave reviews from my guests. The second time I made it though I used vanilla pudding and added some vanilla extract to the filling and I think it came out better but it was a hit both ways! I love the chocolate glaze on this. It really does taste like an eclair and is so easy to make I can't keep the ingredients on hand or I'll be eating it all the time! Thanks for posting - I love it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bloomsday616 November 05, 2009

great recipe! I hadded some Irish Cream and vanilla to the pudding mixture, and just melted chocolate, heavy cream, and I rish cream for the top. hmmmm

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jamiej September 07, 2009

We have been making this for years! Keep refrigerated so it doesn't melt. Everybody raves about it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
michellch July 04, 2009

My family and I definitely enjoyed the recipe and it was gone in a day! Thanks for a quick and easy recipe. I did substitute the flavor of pudding for reg Vanilla and used a tub frosting (BC Whipped Milk Chocolate) and it was delicious, easy and not too sweet.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
B-J-Burrell November 29, 2008
Chocolate Eclair Cake