9 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This recipe was awesome! The almond and vanilla extracts give it so much more flavor than most doberge cakes I've had. The cake is very moist and the frosting is smooth (not gritty like a lot of sugary frostings - bleh) The only reason I gave this 4 instead of 5 stars because: 1) a traditional doberge is yellow cake with chocolate frosting and filling, so I had to omit the chocolate from the batter, and 2) the Filling instructions forget to mention tempering the eggs. You can try stirring quickly, but 9 times out of 10 the eggs will cook if you just chuck them into the boiling hot liquid like that. You need to lightly whisk the eggs in a separate bowl, pour a small amount of the hot liquid into the eggs while simultaneously stirring with your free hand. Then pour the egg mixture back into the pot.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ktelschow June 04, 2009

I am so grateful to have found this recipe. It was one that was made in my family when I was young. Without a written recipe, my memory was pretty shaky. This has brought back pleasurable memories!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CMag1138 January 15, 2009

Your cake looks delicious. I make it just a little differently. I'm from Louisiana and I have been making our Doberge recipe for over 30 years. My cake is white and 8 layers. I use 4 squares of unsweetened chocolate and 8 egg yolks in my filling. In my icing I use 8 squares of unsweetened chocolate and 1/2 cup of butter and confectioners sugar. It's very rich and the contrasting milk and dark chocolates with the white cake is beautiful and delicious. Bon appetit!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cajungenes August 12, 2008

i loved this cake, and since have had people beg the recipe. it did take a very long time to make, more than 55 minutes. more like 3 hours or cooling and heating the filling and frosting. also the frosting came out more like a ganache...not sure if that was my mistake or the recipe...

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gooberish111 November 18, 2007

A true New Orleans Doberge cake is yellow butter cake with a chocolate pudding filling, iced with a dark fudge icing. This version is more of the european version.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
grannyhanna November 11, 2007

If you like a little cake with your frosting.... ;) this is your chocolate cake! It is really moist and very rich, a definite chocoholic's delight.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Vseward (Chef~V) April 17, 2007

I thought this cake was great. Very rich and moist. I was looking for a 4-layer cake and I found it. It is a little time consuming putting together but It was definitely worth it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Daisy Mae March 07, 2007

Everything about this cake is terrible!!! The cake part was a light chocolate & flavorless, not a rich dark like I had thought it would be. The filling never thickened up & had little taste as well. I was making an 8-layer version for my Dad's suprise retirement party & after 4 hours of working on it in the kitchen I didnt even bother frosting the huge bland mess! It went straight into the trash. This was such a waste of time & resources I would not reccomend this recipe to ANYONE!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
spaceycasey_007 March 03, 2007

Cake batter and filling I will definately use again. The icing though, was too over the top sweet. This coming from sweet lover.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
frkcrk February 26, 2007
Chocolate Doberge Cake