Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chocolate Doberge Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chocolate Doberge Cake

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on June 04, 2009

      This recipe was awesome! The almond and vanilla extracts give it so much more flavor than most doberge cakes I've had. The cake is very moist and the frosting is smooth (not gritty like a lot of sugary frostings - bleh) The only reason I gave this 4 instead of 5 stars because: 1) a traditional doberge is yellow cake with chocolate frosting and filling, so I had to omit the chocolate from the batter, and 2) the Filling instructions forget to mention tempering the eggs. You can try stirring quickly, but 9 times out of 10 the eggs will cook if you just chuck them into the boiling hot liquid like that. You need to lightly whisk the eggs in a separate bowl, pour a small amount of the hot liquid into the eggs while simultaneously stirring with your free hand. Then pour the egg mixture back into the pot.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2009

      I am so grateful to have found this recipe. It was one that was made in my family when I was young. Without a written recipe, my memory was pretty shaky. This has brought back pleasurable memories!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 12, 2008

      Your cake looks delicious. I make it just a little differently. I'm from Louisiana and I have been making our Doberge recipe for over 30 years. My cake is white and 8 layers. I use 4 squares of unsweetened chocolate and 8 egg yolks in my filling. In my icing I use 8 squares of unsweetened chocolate and 1/2 cup of butter and confectioners sugar. It's very rich and the contrasting milk and dark chocolates with the white cake is beautiful and delicious. Bon appetit!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2007

      i loved this cake, and since have had people beg the recipe. it did take a very long time to make, more than 55 minutes. more like 3 hours or cooling and heating the filling and frosting. also the frosting came out more like a ganache...not sure if that was my mistake or the recipe...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2007

      A true New Orleans Doberge cake is yellow butter cake with a chocolate pudding filling, iced with a dark fudge icing. This version is more of the european version.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 17, 2007

      If you like a little cake with your frosting.... ;) this is your chocolate cake! It is really moist and very rich, a definite chocoholic's delight.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2007

      I thought this cake was great. Very rich and moist. I was looking for a 4-layer cake and I found it. It is a little time consuming putting together but It was definitely worth it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2007

      Everything about this cake is terrible!!! The cake part was a light chocolate & flavorless, not a rich dark like I had thought it would be. The filling never thickened up & had little taste as well. I was making an 8-layer version for my Dad's suprise retirement party & after 4 hours of working on it in the kitchen I didnt even bother frosting the huge bland mess! It went straight into the trash. This was such a waste of time & resources I would not reccomend this recipe to ANYONE!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2007

      Cake batter and filling I will definately use again. The icing though, was too over the top sweet. This coming from sweet lover.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chocolate Doberge Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (265 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 800.3
     
    Calories from Fat 266
    33%
    Total Fat 29.6 g
    45%
    Saturated Fat 17.6 g
    88%
    Cholesterol 164.6 mg
    54%
    Sodium 557.5 mg
    23%
    Total Carbohydrate 127.7 g
    42%
    Dietary Fiber 2.1 g
    8%
    Sugars 96.9 g
    387%
    Protein 11.7 g
    23%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites