68 Reviews

I used parafin to make these. They turned out really nice. It's a bit of work, but what the heck - it's Christmas. :)

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mysterygirl December 07, 2002

Instead of paraffin you can use shortening.

9 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rita~ December 01, 2002

Yummy! Yummy! Yummy! But Messy! Messy! Messy to make! I chose this recipe over the other peanut butter balls because it used less butter and more peanut butter. I too used just 2 cups of powdered sugar and it was PLENTY!! Still very sweet! One thing I did that has not been mentioned is that I chilled the peanut butter mixture before shaping it into balls - about 10 mins in the fridge, and once they were shaped into balls I threw them into the freezer for 5 mins before dipping them in the chocolate. I thought it was just way too sticky and messy to work with at room temp. Very Yummy!! Glad I found this recipe.

8 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kda949 December 19, 2006

My grandma has been making these forever and they remind me of my childhood. My sister and I give them away as christmas presents every year and people fight over the containers that "have more." I use creamy peanut butter because I prefer to have the rice krispies be the crunch in the candy. We've always used paraffin and it just makes the chocolate set harder, I don't notice a change in the flavor.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MindyP679 November 22, 2010

I have a slight variation to add for those pressed for time. I made the recipe up but skipped making the balls. Instead I added the peanut butter/rice crispies mixture directly to the melted chocolate and dropped by teaspoonfuls onto the waxed paper. Very easy and very tasty.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
calds December 03, 2010

In my opinion, these are the BEST cookies out there for your Christmas platter! My son requests these every year and they are gone in a day! We like to dip ours in white chocolate and drizzle dark chocolate over the tops.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Classy Gal January 12, 2010

Yum. Yum. Yum! These were the hit of my Christmas cookie plate! I halved the recipe and got approx 50 perfectly bite sized balls. I used a good quality smooth peanut butter and the new coco flavoured Rice Krispies. The resulting "dough" was easy to roll, very nice to work with. Stuck them in the freezer for 30 min before dipping and put them back in the freezer to store. My hubby prefers them frozen but they were a hit either way. Thanks for a great recipe!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cook in the Creek December 31, 2008

I made these for my Christmas baking platter this year and I couldn't keep them on the plate. Everyone loved them. And my husband actually asked if I bought them because they looked so good!! I used shortening instead of the wax because that's what I had on hand and it worked great.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
partysweets January 11, 2011

Made for Easter. YUM! I did a variation, because of the peanut butter we had on hand. I used a blend of Planter's NUTrition Cinnamon Raisin Granola and Berry Nut Peanut Butter, so I dubbed them Crunchy PB Granola Eggs. I kept everything else the same except for reducing the sugar to 2 cups as recommended by other reviewers. Loved the crunch the rice krispy cereal added. I only got about 2 dozen eggs, but I made them rather large, about the size of an actual small egg. I did not find the peanut butter too hard to work with at room temperature. I did freeze the eggs before dipping in chocolate. That worked great. I could throw them in the melted chocolate and roll them around until coated and then I fished them out with a fork. (I did that one at a time.) Thanks for the recipe. This was my first time doing PB eggs, and I will definately try again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
berry271 March 30, 2013

I just love this recipe for peanut butter balls. i made it a year or two ago for my in laws on christmas and it was a hit for everyone they loved it and asked me to make it again year after year and its so easy.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mrscinnamonhood November 29, 2011
Chocolate Dipped Krispies Peanut Butter Balls