Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chocolate Dipped Krispies Peanut Butter Balls Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chocolate Dipped Krispies Peanut Butter Balls

    Average Rating:

    65 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 65

    Sort by:

    • on December 07, 2002

      I used parafin to make these. They turned out really nice. It's a bit of work, but what the heck - it's Christmas. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2002

      Instead of paraffin you can use shortening.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2006

      Yummy! Yummy! Yummy! But Messy! Messy! Messy to make! I chose this recipe over the other peanut butter balls because it used less butter and more peanut butter. I too used just 2 cups of powdered sugar and it was PLENTY!! Still very sweet! One thing I did that has not been mentioned is that I chilled the peanut butter mixture before shaping it into balls - about 10 mins in the fridge, and once they were shaped into balls I threw them into the freezer for 5 mins before dipping them in the chocolate. I thought it was just way too sticky and messy to work with at room temp. Very Yummy!! Glad I found this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2010

      I have a slight variation to add for those pressed for time. I made the recipe up but skipped making the balls. Instead I added the peanut butter/rice crispies mixture directly to the melted chocolate and dropped by teaspoonfuls onto the waxed paper. Very easy and very tasty.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2010

      My grandma has been making these forever and they remind me of my childhood. My sister and I give them away as christmas presents every year and people fight over the containers that "have more." I use creamy peanut butter because I prefer to have the rice krispies be the crunch in the candy. We've always used paraffin and it just makes the chocolate set harder, I don't notice a change in the flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2010

      In my opinion, these are the BEST cookies out there for your Christmas platter! My son requests these every year and they are gone in a day! We like to dip ours in white chocolate and drizzle dark chocolate over the tops.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2011

      I made these for my Christmas baking platter this year and I couldn't keep them on the plate. Everyone loved them. And my husband actually asked if I bought them because they looked so good!! I used shortening instead of the wax because that's what I had on hand and it worked great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2008

      Yum. Yum. Yum! These were the hit of my Christmas cookie plate! I halved the recipe and got approx 50 perfectly bite sized balls. I used a good quality smooth peanut butter and the new coco flavoured Rice Krispies. The resulting "dough" was easy to roll, very nice to work with. Stuck them in the freezer for 30 min before dipping and put them back in the freezer to store. My hubby prefers them frozen but they were a hit either way. Thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2013

      Made for Easter. YUM! I did a variation, because of the peanut butter we had on hand. I used a blend of Planter's NUTrition Cinnamon Raisin Granola and Berry Nut Peanut Butter, so I dubbed them Crunchy PB Granola Eggs. I kept everything else the same except for reducing the sugar to 2 cups as recommended by other reviewers. Loved the crunch the rice krispy cereal added. I only got about 2 dozen eggs, but I made them rather large, about the size of an actual small egg. I did not find the peanut butter too hard to work with at room temperature. I did freeze the eggs before dipping in chocolate. That worked great. I could throw them in the melted chocolate and roll them around until coated and then I fished them out with a fork. (I did that one at a time.) Thanks for the recipe. This was my first time doing PB eggs, and I will definately try again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2011

      I just love this recipe for peanut butter balls. i made it a year or two ago for my in laws on christmas and it was a hit for everyone they loved it and asked me to make it again year after year and its so easy.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2010

      Used a mix of crushed up rice crispies and crispix cereals (2 cups each). Used only one cup of powdered sugar and coconut oil instead of lard in the chocolate. Chilled the balls before forming.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2010

      I must say that after all the great reviews, I think I was doubly disappointed in these. I think they could be great, but only with some modifications.

      First, I LOVE chocolate; but these have too much chocolate on them. I changed midway through the recipe to dipping the balls only half-way in, which was a big improvement according to everyone in my family, kids included.

      Second, the peanut butter mixture is too sweet. I do not have a remedy for that yet. But in my opinion, they need to taste more peanut buttery, and less sweet. You would have to find something to substitute for some of the powdered sugar.

      The rice crispies were a super asset, making them light and crunchy instead of heavy.

      Not sure I will make these again. We like the Chex Muddy Buddies better.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2009

      Go ahead and double the recipe! I made these to enjoy over the holiday break and they are G-O-N-E! Maybe we are all just Reese's fanatics, but these were YUMMY. I used the paraffin and milk chocolate chips.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2009

      My mother in law has been making these forever. They are really good and pretty easy to make, maybe just a little time consuming. We roll out the balls then let them sit in a cold place for a little bit. Then we melt semi sweet chocolate chips in one bowl and butterscotch chips in another bowl and dip half in the chocolate chips let cool and dip the other half in the butterscotch chips. They turn out really good but this way is a little more time consuming but so worth it. My husband just loves them.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2009

      Oh my gosh! These are amazing! I brought them to a holiday party and I had everyone raving and asking for the recipe. Very simple to make too. Dipping is time consuming but still very easy. I let them sit for about an hour and them refrigerated them to harden the chocolate a little more. I sprinkled the tops with powdered sugar and people said they looked professional. This is an A+!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2008

      ********** - That's 10 Stars! Wow, this was my most coveted Christmas Treat! People went nuts over these things! I followed other reviewers suggestions and only used 2 cups of powdered sugar. They were very sweet and cannot imagine using an entire box of powdered sugar. I also slightly crushed the Rice Krispies before adding them. Finally, I also rolled the balls and then covered with plastic wrap and placed in the freezer as I went about making other sweets. I used 2 tbs. of shortening instead of paraffin wax as well. ****These are a great sweet treat and the Rice Krispies give them such a neat twist. You will not be disappointed!**** I have made these 2 more times and still continue to get RAVE reviews!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2008

      This is COMFORT FOOD: sweet, salty, buttery, chocolaty, crispy and melt in your mouth all at the same time!! It actually took me an hour to roll and dip them - much longer than the stated time, but I think the more I make them, the easier it will get. I used a pyrex loaf pan to dip them in after carefully melting the chocolate dip in the microwave. Using a wooden skewer also helped with the dipping. I had great luck freezing them - froze them first on a cookie sheet, then into a freezer bag. I used 4 T. shortening instead of the paraffin. Fantastic!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2006

      Excellent! I have always made the traditoinal "Buckeyes" and these were a very light and welcome change. A permanant addition to my christmas candy recipe list. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2004

      These cookies are wonderful and will be on my cookie trays at Christmas time this year and every year. I made them with 2 cups of powdered sugar instead of 1 pound which is about 3 cups. They were plenty sweet enough. Rita here is the copy of the Reindeer Droppping story I gave out with the Peanut Butter balls. I printed 4 cards to a page on card stock. Each card, when cut, was a standard 3x5 recipe card size with a copy of the recipe on the back and the story and on the front. Everyone was thrilled, especially those with little children. I also posted a picture of the card attached to a bag of "dropping". Enjoy! Diane in Nebraska - "Reindeer Droppings" I woke up with such a scare when I heard Santa call…. “Now dash away, dash away, dash away all ! I ran to the lawn and in the snowy white drifts, Santa’s darn reindeer had left “little gifts”. I got an old shovel and started to scoop Neat little piles of “Reindeer Poop”. But to throw them away, seemed such a waste, So I saved them, thinking ~ you might like a taste! As I finished my task, which took quite awhile, Old Santa passed by and he sheepishly smiled. And I heard him exclaim as he rose in the sky~ “I know they’re not potty trained, but at least they can fly!” Here is another story to use if you want to dip the peanut butter balls in white chocolate or almond bark. "Snowman Poop" Heard you've been naughty So here's the scoop, All you get is... Snowman Poop!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2004

      I have been making this recipe for 35 years, it is one of the family favourites and always on the 'cookies to make list' at Christmas time!! They keep well in the fridge or freezer.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chocolate Dipped Krispies Peanut Butter Balls

    Serving Size: 1 (2353 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 109.9
     
    Calories from Fat 50
    45%
    Total Fat 5.5 g
    8%
    Saturated Fat 2.2 g
    11%
    Cholesterol 2.4 mg
    0%
    Sodium 34.0 mg
    1%
    Total Carbohydrate 14.6 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 0.9 g
    3%
    Sugars 8.5 g
    34%
    Protein 1.9 g
    3%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    paraffin wax

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites