Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chocolate Cupcakes With Chocolate Frosting Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chocolate Cupcakes With Chocolate Frosting

    Average Rating:

    49 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 49

    Sort by:

    • on April 25, 2011

      Absolutely delicious! The cupcakes themselves are light and moist with a richness running through them. Perfect crumb and texture. The frosting is delicious too, just the right consistency and richness. This will now be our go to chocolate cupcake recipe. We made them for Easter and frosted them thick around the edges with a depression in the middle. We sprinkled grated chocolate around the outer ring, like a nest, and put Cadbury's mini-eggs in the depression. Will upload picture shortly. Beautiful recipe, thanks so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 18, 2009

      These were sssooooo good and I am not a cake fan. The batter was thin so I had made a huge mess as i was pouring the batter into the cupcakes. For the second batch I poured the batter into a large cup then poured it into the tins from there. They did flow all over place so but I liked the flavor so much that I made them again and filled the tins less than half full. So the first batch was a mess, the second batch was great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 15, 2009

      My sister used to live in Chicago, and went to Sweet Mandy B's all of the time. (We had to try this recipe!) These are really good!! Next time we're going to increase the cocoa pwdr for a more chocolatety frosting. We also took the advice of Syltel and used hot coffee in lieu of hot water, and on a whim of our own, used French Vanilla coffee creamer in lieu of milk. Thanks for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2014

      Incredible cupcake recipe. Very light and moist with a great flavor. I have made this recipe well over 100 times.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2014

      I have made these several times.The frosting is great. For the reviewers who were having a problem with the cake,just use pillsbury moist supreme devils food cake mix,works like a charm.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 17, 2013

      My daughter always makes these cupcakes and everyone loves them. They are easy and one of the best! On the large cupcakes the middles sink down but are perfect on smaller cupcakes

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2013

      I'm giving this 5 stars for a wonderful taste. BUT it is a cupcake recipe, not a cake recipe. My cake totally fell apart,,, it still tasted delicious. Next time I'll stick to the cupcakes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2012

      These cupcakes turned out amazingly moist and had a wonderful chocolate fudge flavor. I bake a lot and this is the best chocolate cupcake recipe I have ever made. The kids even liked them without icing. Could easily just dust them with powder sugar instead of ice them. I am going to top them with a peppermint buttercream icing. Easy to make and amazing taste makes this recipe a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2011

      After many failed attempts at making "from scratch" cakes or cupcakes (rising too fast and falling flat, sticking to the pan, dry, etc) I finally figured out my problem! I live at an elevation of around 3000 feet. I made these cupcakes using tips from the following website and they came out perfectly. So chocolaty, moist, and delicious...yum! I've been eating them without frosting, but I will also try this frosting recipe soon.
      http://allrecipes.com//HowTo/high-altitude-cake-baking/Detail.aspx

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2011

      5 all the way for my new favoroute choc cke recipe ***** This was so chocolaty, the cakes turned out just how I like trhem, crunchy on top and moist and fluffy on the inside, I started eating them without the frosting, had to stop myself because I wanted to make the frosting.

      I am updating my review., I have just made this using gluten free flour, and you wouldn't even notice any difference!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2010

      Just as the others said, cupcakes fell. They have good flavor and the frosting is delicious but I will not make this recipe again. There is no need to make a cupcake that so many reviewers have had a bad experience with.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 09, 2010

      These cupcakes taste good but did not work out. After reading reviews I was careful to not overfill and they still overflowed. They stuck to the top of the pan and the tops of the cupcakes pulled off when I tried to carefully release them. They also stuck to the wrappers and crumbled. I really wish these would have worked out.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2010

      Excellent chocolate cupcakes!! Very soft in texture! Deserves 5 stars!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2010

      I've made these a few times as cupcakes and they've always been delicious! I once made a cream filling for them and everyone said they tasted just like Hostess cupcakes! Haven't tried the frosting yet though. I've since used this as my go-to cake recipe for a 13x9 but it always sinks in the middle ?? I can't seem to figure out how to fix that. No matter, it is so good I just keep using it anyway! Also, I have veganized the cupcake recipe the last couple of times and it still comes out great using an egg replacer and soy milk.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2009

      I love this recipe, I've made it several times now - full size cupcakes and mini - and they always turn out beautifully risen and chocolatey with a lovely texture. The batter is runny, so I tend to make a bit of mess filling my cases, but the cakes turn out just fine once they've been baked. I haven't made the frosting yet, I just use chocolate buttercream.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2009

      Don't know how this recipe got such high rating. It didn't work for me. After the first butch I tried to up the temreture to 180 C but it still didn't come out right. Looks like the mixture is too wet and would sugest to add some flour or corn starch.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2009

      these cupcakes were delicious. moist and chocolatey with a wonderful crumb texture, i used kittencal's chocolate buttercream frosting with these and it was the perfect match, will definitey keep as my go to chocolate cupcake recipe..

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 04, 2009

      I've made this recipe about 10 times, and it always makes a very moist, very chocolatey cupcake. It also worked as a round layer cake, but as a long sheet cake, it collapsed in the middle quite a bit (tasted good but had to be carved to look decent). I agree with the other reviewers that the frosting recipe can be halved.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 12, 2009

      I'm not sure what went wrong, but I was very disappointed with the results I got with this recipe. Like a few other reviewers, my cupcakes overflowed over the edges of the cupcake tin and sunk in the middle. It seems that filling the tins half way full was too much. I had to scrape off the cooked batter that overflowed on the tins (which was actually pretty tasty) in order to get the cupcakes out. The sunken cupcakes tasted okay, more fudgy than cakey. I didn't bother to make any frosting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 12, 2009

      Very good. Moist, chocolately and delish! Used left over buttercream frosting i had made. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chocolate Cupcakes With Chocolate Frosting

    Serving Size: 1 (2189 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 324.5
     
    Calories from Fat 140
    43%
    Total Fat 15.6 g
    24%
    Saturated Fat 7.3 g
    36%
    Cholesterol 43.7 mg
    14%
    Sodium 206.4 mg
    8%
    Total Carbohydrate 47.5 g
    15%
    Dietary Fiber 2.1 g
    8%
    Sugars 35.9 g
    143%
    Protein 2.9 g
    5%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites