52 Reviews

Absolutely delicious! The cupcakes themselves are light and moist with a richness running through them. Perfect crumb and texture. The frosting is delicious too, just the right consistency and richness. This will now be our go to chocolate cupcake recipe. We made them for Easter and frosted them thick around the edges with a depression in the middle. We sprinkled grated chocolate around the outer ring, like a nest, and put Cadbury's mini-eggs in the depression. Will upload picture shortly. Beautiful recipe, thanks so much!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GrumpyIrishLady April 25, 2011

These were sssooooo good and I am not a cake fan. The batter was thin so I had made a huge mess as i was pouring the batter into the cupcakes. For the second batch I poured the batter into a large cup then poured it into the tins from there. They did flow all over place so but I liked the flavor so much that I made them again and filled the tins less than half full. So the first batch was a mess, the second batch was great.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Margie99 July 18, 2009

My sister used to live in Chicago, and went to Sweet Mandy B's all of the time. (We had to try this recipe!) These are really good!! Next time we're going to increase the cocoa pwdr for a more chocolatety frosting. We also took the advice of Syltel and used hot coffee in lieu of hot water, and on a whim of our own, used French Vanilla coffee creamer in lieu of milk. Thanks for posting!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Me & Mr. Jones July 15, 2009

These are my go-to chocolate cupcakes. They're so moist and light and chocolatey! The batter is thin, so now I always put it in a pancake batter dispenser/squeeze bottle to pour it in the cupcake tins. Sooo much less messy. I've never made the icing, so I can't rate it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
selhatta February 28, 2016

Was so good!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dschuilenburg June 08, 2015

Came out great

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Deb S. September 25, 2014

Incredible cupcake recipe. Very light and moist with a great flavor. I have made this recipe well over 100 times.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
islandseashelling June 26, 2014

I have made these several times.The frosting is great. For the reviewers who were having a problem with the cake,just use pillsbury moist supreme devils food cake mix,works like a charm.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
shaskeen59 January 21, 2014

My daughter always makes these cupcakes and everyone loves them. They are easy and one of the best! On the large cupcakes the middles sink down but are perfect on smaller cupcakes

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Calgary Chef May 17, 2013

I'm giving this 5 stars for a wonderful taste. BUT it is a cupcake recipe, not a cake recipe. My cake totally fell apart,,, it still tasted delicious. Next time I'll stick to the cupcakes.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Krista Roes February 15, 2013
Chocolate Cupcakes With Chocolate Frosting