Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chocolate Cupcakes Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chocolate Cupcakes

    Average Rating:

    38 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 38

    Sort by:

    • on June 24, 2012

      made these today and frosted with chocolate butter cream frosting (so ok, they were no longer low fat :-) but oh so yummy!! the recipe made 19 cupcakes, very rich and dense brownie like.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2011

      I am not a sweets person at all but today I needed a pick up...I spotted the chocolatty cup cakes at our work cafe' and found out they were these, WOW, what a rich moist gooey wonder...and no frosting at all!!! I was hooked and now am going to make them too thanks to the recipe here on this site. I was surprise to find it contained pumpkin. I have used applesauce or puree prune, but this is by far the best YUM

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 19, 2010

      Delicious! My husband, who doesn't even care for desserts, loved these cupcakes. We couldn't even tell there was pumpkin in it. They come out nice and moist. I had to cook these for 30-35 minutes. The recipe made 20 cupcakes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 22, 2010

      I also used 1/2 cup of water and threw in 1 1/2 tsp of cocoa powder. I folded in some peanut butter chips and frosted with chocolate buttercream frosting. I doubt they were very low fat after my additions but dang were they tasty!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2010

      Wow! These are wonderful and I don't even eat sweets! My BF loves them and was in a panic when I had moved them from the countertop! (teehee) I have a habit of taking goodies to work and he did not want these to go! I did have to cook them for an additional 15 mins. and I used the touch and spring back sugestion for making sure they were done! This is a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2010

      I followed other suggestions to only use 1/2 cup of water. I thougth the first batch still tasted a little pumpkiny so I added about a cup and a quarter of chocolate chips which made them a little more chocolatey and less pumpkiny. I am supposed to ice them for a baby shower, but they are so good without any icing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2010

      These really are awesome cupcakes, i use 1/2 cup water and also add in 3/4 cup mini chocolate chips to the batter which i find makes them even more delcious :) frosted with vanilla icing and bam! im gonna try with peanut butter frosting next...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2010

      After reading reviews I decrease the water to 1/2 cup. I baked 12 in my regular oven exactly by the time listed and they turned out moist & delicious. I took the additional mix and baked 6 large ones in my convection oven at 300 for 30min and they also turned out perfect. I use silicone cupcake liners that always work so well for me. Unusual to hit the right cooking time the first time around. Thanks for such an easy/delicious recipe. Plan to add toasted chopped walnuts next time

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2009

      Well, I screwed this one up royally and STILL it came out a hit, which can only mean that if the messed up batch was this great, the real recipe must be heaven. I grabbed a can of what I thought was pumpkin, but turned out to be pumpkin PIE FILLING. Then I can't find my box of devil's food, so I substituted chocolate fudge. And now I need to freeze them to slow the pace at which we're eating them. YUMMMMMMM!!!!!!! Thanks so much for such a great recipe. ETA: I have now made it both ways and hae decided that I prefer the pie filling. But the original is still quite tasty!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 31, 2009

    • on March 04, 2009

      I can't believe how good these are!! What a quick recipe with a great use of pumpkin as a fat sub. They were nice and moist. I'll definietly make these again when i'm looking for a great, quick chocolate cupcake.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2008

      So Good! I love how easy these were, they don't taste healthy at all which is great for me. We served them at a laid back get together with chocolate sauce, peppermint ice cream, whipped cream and crushed peppermint. A delicious and easy dessert. They were a huge hit and everyone wanted to take one home. Thanks for the fabulous recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 06, 2008

      I made this in an 8x8 pan. It turned out wonderful. Will make it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 26, 2008

      Myfamily and friends love these cupcakes, as a ww (lost 45 #'s) follower I was taken in by the points value. howerever I am a little unsure of how they become 1.5 points when the nutrition values comes up different on the points finder from ww. Can some one help.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 03, 2008

      I had a very interesting experience with these cupcakes. I made them exactly as directed but they took forever to cook. they seemed so underdone when i tried one out of the oven even after 30+ minutes baking time. I eventually pulled them out of the oven, let them cool, and frosted them (i used betty crocker whipped cream cheese frosting). The fist bite i had tasted horrible, really just horrible. It had a chemically vitamin-y taste like a power bar or something of the like. But, i decided to take a few more bites and I found the cupcake tasted better with each bite. I offered one to my boyfriend. He took one bite and refused to take another. I gave one to my roommate and she had the same experience I did. After the first bite she told me not to make the recipe again, but after finishing the cupcake she changed her mind and even wanted another. The next day they were even better. I realized that they remind me very much of hostess cream filled cupcakes. But better. Much, much better. The second day they no longer tasted underdone, but just moist and fudgey. mmmm. My roomies and I ended up gobbling them all up and they are already asking me to make more. We also gave some to my beau's parents (his family is very health conscious) and the loved them. So the moral of the story is, take a second bite. ***EDIT*** I made these again and they turned out much better than the first time. Make sure to fill the cupcake liners up high because these don't rise very much. Also, don't hesitate to cook them 30-40 minutes. They will still be extremely moist and fudgy. This time I topped them with dunken Hines Whipped Cream Cheese Frosting (the best non-homemade frosting imo) and they were unbelievable. I made my beau try one even though he didn't like them the first time and he fell in love with this cupcake. He said it's the best he's ever had wanted a second. Everyone else loved them too and are complaining that there aren't more. This will become a staple recipe. Honestly, it's much better than making them with the directions on the box. I'm still in amazement of how delicious these are. I can't wait to make them again for reference, I used Dunken Hines Devils Food mix (i had used dunken hines dark chocolate cake mix the first time. devil's food was better.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2008

      So incredibly moist. This is great, i made a cake in an 8 x 8 pan and it was perfect.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2007

      if you use duncan hines mix, its vegan!!! hooray! (i thought i was doomed to a cupcakeless life forever!) thanks a bunch :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2007

      These are a keeper. I made them for my daughters birthday party so that I could have cake too. Everyone loved them and even chose these over the regular cupcakes I had made. A wonderful recipe thanks so much for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2007

      Delicious and definitely satisfies a chocolate craving. I may try adding walnuts to the mix next time just to have a little crunch.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2007

      These were most excellent. I did use less water, based on other reviews - only 1/2 cup. They were very moist. Mine baked up fine at about 24 minutes in my convection oven at 335 degrees. Kids loved them, plus they got some veggie in them too! I put a little lite Cool Whip on the top. I like this recipe much better than the WW cake that uses diet soda - more flavor and moisture with the pumpkin. Thanks so much for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chocolate Cupcakes

    Serving Size: 1 (91 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 191.5
     
    Calories from Fat 60
    31%
    Total Fat 6.6 g
    10%
    Saturated Fat 1.4 g
    7%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 352.2 mg
    14%
    Total Carbohydrate 33.4 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 1.2 g
    4%
    Sugars 16.8 g
    67%
    Protein 2.8 g
    5%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites