219 Reviews

Easy and delicious! I followed others suggestions and used 4 T cornstarch and 6 T cocoa. I also used a graham cracker crust.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tacobarlass November 24, 2012

I made this recipe exactly as stated and it is marvelous!!! I did not add extra corn starch... you just need to be patient as it needs time to thicken. Love this and will make again!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Gina Calina November 21, 2012

I made this pie some time ago and forgot to rate it... Well, let me say that my DH usually takes my pies and muffins to his office to share with colleagues... This time he refused to. He wanted it all for himself!!! No need to say that I will repeat it many times!
I used KitchenCraftsnMore Basic Graham Cracker Crust adding a few drops of orange flavoring and let me tell you... One of the best pies I have ever tasted!!!
Just one suggestion: add a Tbsp of corn starch as suggested by many reviewers or it will take some freezing to set.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gera21 October 10, 2012

This recipe is absolutely fabulous! My family asks for it constantly. My only addition is a bit more cornstarch (1/2 tsp extra) to make it hold better. It is sooooo easy.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MommaBakes2 October 07, 2012

Best chocolate pie I ever made, always gets raves.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bonnie Corigliano July 06, 2012

I love this pie! Its not too sweet and it taste great! My whole family likes this one.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sarah113 July 04, 2012

5 Stars!!! This is sooooo easy and the taste and texture are great. As I hate standing over the stove and stirring I used my microwave for the cooking portion (stirring after the first two minutes then after each minute). It took about 4 minutes to thicken - amazing. I have never made a chocolate pie that was so easy and set up so nicely. My spouse loves it so I'm sure to make it again and again in the future.
Update: 4/28/12 This recipe has become a standard in our home and for taking to pot-luck dinners. I add an extra TBSP of cocoa as my spouse is a chocoholic. This chocolate pie is a family favorite and always disappears quickly at functions!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
- DJ - April 29, 2012

Old-fashioned pie taste with ease of modern day cooking...made this for Easter and will make it again and again...next time I will put whipped cream, instead of meringue...just for a different flavor enhancer!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lutie April 08, 2012

I was searching for a chocolate cream pie recipe because I had never made a chocolate cream pie. I found this web site, read most of the reviews, which were good. I made this pie for my daughters 13th birthday. It was easy to make and my whole family loved it. It was a hit. I also added 4 table spoons instead of 3 table spoons and a pinch of cinnamon. This pie was sweet but not to sweet and the filling was smooth. I definitely added this recipe to my recipe box. Try it, you won't be disappointed.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Deanna romero March 23, 2012

I am giving this recipe a five star for the pie filling and the review and advice from Dr.JenLeddy (thank you for your recommendations).

First I made my crust (no store bought for this girl). I decided on an Oreo cookie crust.
Ingredients:
20 - 30 Oreo cookies
4 - 6 Tbsp unsalted butter
Directions:
- Melt your butter (start with the lesser amount and add more if needed)
- Crush your cookies as fine as you can (a zip lock bag and rolling pin worked fine for me.)
- Pour your grounds into your pie pan (I use a porcelain or glass pan)
- Add butter and with your HANDS mix thoroughly until the cookies are lightly coated enough to be spread evenly along the bottom and sides of the pan (too much butter can make the crust harden until it is like trying to eat cement). Add cookies and melted butter as needed.
- Place crust in pan uncovered in freezer until you are ready to use.

Now with my filling, I followed the basic layout of the recipe but used the advice from fellow users. This is what I did, using a small whisk the entire time for mixing. I wanted it perfectly smooth because nobody likes a lumpy pudding or pie.

Ingredients:
1 2/3 C. water
4 Tbsp cornstarch
6 Tbsp cocoa powder
1 can sweetened condensed milk (14 oz)
2 eggs
2 Tbsp salted butter
1 tsp vanilla
Directions:
- Mix water, cornstarch, and cocoa in pan until smooth (stir constantly otherwise the cornstarch will thicken too fast)
- Begin heating on medium/low until light bubbles appear
- Add condensed milk and stir
- Lightly beat the eggs and begin to tempur, then add to mixture over heat and whisk until smooth
- Add your butter and vanilla and whisk until thick
- Remove from heat, whisk until SMOOTH and let it cool, stirring occasionally
- Pour into pie shell, cover in plastic wrap (against the filling itself to prevent skin from forming) and refrigerate (overnight/24 hours gave me the consistency and firmness that I was looking for

I then topped my pie with homemade whipped cream. A semi-sweet whipped cream because of all of the sweetness from the crust and filling.

Whipped Topping
Ingredients:
1 pint heavy cream
3/4 C. confectioners sugar
Directions:
- Whisk together heavy cream and sugar until desired consistency and firmness

I then crumbled some additional Oreos on top of my pie for added fatty deliciousness and decorative flare. This is an incredibly rich pie, but absolutely delicious. I would recommend anyone try it. It's quick, easy and unbelievably tasty. If you're wary of food comas, do not try this pie. My husband and my little boy both loved it, which is always the highest praise in my kitchen. Hopefully you will try and enjoy!


Remember, it's your kitchen!: Never apologize! No excuses--no explanations!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
duchess_claire March 09, 2012
Chocolate Cream Pie