220 Reviews

Very delicious. I did add the extra teasp. of cornstarch as suggested by many others and even though I had the cocoa, sugar and cornstarch thoroughly blended first, the closer I got to the thick stage, the mixture started to get a bit lumpy. It didn't effect the taste though - very very good. I will definitely start using this as my chocolate pie filling from now on.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sally.jo.oliver November 28, 2013

This pie is PHENOMENAL! If I could give it an extra star I would. I read the other reviews and added a tablespoon each of the cocoa and cornstarch and it was perfect. It was a HUGE hit with friends and family. It was super easy, super fast, and super cheap to make! I can't wait to make it again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
roxanne79 November 13, 2013

I've made this three times and keep forgetting to review it. I made this as directed but once the filling thickens, it looks lumpy (I stirred it constantly each time I made it). I just get out the hand mixer and beat it at a high speed for a couple of minutes. I've topped this with frozen whipped topping or whipped cream from a can and then sprinkle some micro mini chocolate chips, chocolate jimmies or chocolate shavings. Thank you for posting this recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chicagopm September 30, 2013

I followed some reviewer suggestions and increased the cornstarch and cocoa by 1 T each. It makes a good pie though not as rich or sweet as the cooked custard pie I usually make. I may try using milk instead of water next time and, perhaps, add a bit of sugar. Otherwise I thought the pie had good chocolate flavor and it set up nicely. I chose to top it with sweetened whipped cream instead of meringue.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mesquite451 July 29, 2013

I made this last week for our grandsons 7th birthday party (mainly for the adults who do not care for the over-load of sugar from a typical kids cake). This was a perfect blend of flavor. I added nothing more to the recipe. I used homemade whipping cream (mine tastes better than the tub or canned whipped creams). The only thing I did different was to use a pre-made Keebler Cookie Crust pie shell... so absolutely no oven was turned on! Love this recipe. Thank you for posting. (Made for Name That Ingredient tag)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rosie316 July 07, 2013

I liked this pie quite a lot. Not as rich as some other more decadent versions, but so easy to put together. I wish the instructions had been more detailed. I cooked my filling in a glass bowl in the microwave in 1 minute intervals as I had no idea how long to stir on the stove, nor what "thickened" meant. This turned out to be a good strategy, as over time the liquid turned into a pudding-like consistency ready for the pie shell. I used the exact amount of cocoa and corn starch and the recipe worked fine for me. [Made for Name That Ingredient]

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
averybird June 19, 2013

I agree with the previous reviews...this pie is very rich!! I loved it!! I followed the recipe exactly. We used a refrigerated pie crust and topped it with whipped cream. Thanks for the recipe!! I will definitely make it again!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
askalsky April 13, 2013

This pie is wonderful! I knew it had to be, because the author is a Texan, and I am by birth, transplanted to SC - slightly prejudiced! I tweaked it just a bit, increasing the cornstarch to 4 T. (I have a horror of a runny pie!) In a large bowl, with the hand mixer, I first beat the egg whites until very frothy, then to the same bowl added the rest of the ingredients (except the butter and vanilla) and blended until extremely smooth. I started the filling on low-medium heat and stirred constantly until thickened. Once it begins to thicken, it "sets" very quickly. I plan to top it with homemade whipped cream, with some chocolate shavings if I can find some leftover Christmas chocolate bars to grate. I must admit I was very leery of using water in a chocolate pie but it turned out very well. I'm 76, so I have cooked a lot of chocolate pies. I still love to try new recipes. This is a keepr!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
veltag January 18, 2013

This pie was wonderful... thank you for posting! :-)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DreamerLex December 25, 2012
Chocolate Cream Pie