217 Reviews

I made this last week for our grandsons 7th birthday party (mainly for the adults who do not care for the over-load of sugar from a typical kids cake). This was a perfect blend of flavor. I added nothing more to the recipe. I used homemade whipping cream (mine tastes better than the tub or canned whipped creams). The only thing I did different was to use a pre-made Keebler Cookie Crust pie shell... so absolutely no oven was turned on! Love this recipe. Thank you for posting. (Made for Name That Ingredient tag)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rosie316 July 07, 2013

I liked this pie quite a lot. Not as rich as some other more decadent versions, but so easy to put together. I wish the instructions had been more detailed. I cooked my filling in a glass bowl in the microwave in 1 minute intervals as I had no idea how long to stir on the stove, nor what "thickened" meant. This turned out to be a good strategy, as over time the liquid turned into a pudding-like consistency ready for the pie shell. I used the exact amount of cocoa and corn starch and the recipe worked fine for me. [Made for Name That Ingredient]

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
averybird June 19, 2013

I agree with the previous reviews...this pie is very rich!! I loved it!! I followed the recipe exactly. We used a refrigerated pie crust and topped it with whipped cream. Thanks for the recipe!! I will definitely make it again!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
askalsky April 13, 2013

Simple recipe but basically pudding pie.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bobuns703 April 01, 2013

This pie is wonderful! I knew it had to be, because the author is a Texan, and I am by birth, transplanted to SC - slightly prejudiced! I tweaked it just a bit, increasing the cornstarch to 4 T. (I have a horror of a runny pie!) In a large bowl, with the hand mixer, I first beat the egg whites until very frothy, then to the same bowl added the rest of the ingredients (except the butter and vanilla) and blended until extremely smooth. I started the filling on low-medium heat and stirred constantly until thickened. Once it begins to thicken, it "sets" very quickly. I plan to top it with homemade whipped cream, with some chocolate shavings if I can find some leftover Christmas chocolate bars to grate. I must admit I was very leery of using water in a chocolate pie but it turned out very well. I'm 76, so I have cooked a lot of chocolate pies. I still love to try new recipes. This is a keepr!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
veltag January 18, 2013

This pie was wonderful... thank you for posting! :-)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DreamerLex December 25, 2012

Super good. I added the extra tablespoon of cornstarch and cocoa as one reviewer suggested. Next time I will follow the recipe exactly. It was a little too thick and too chocolately with the extra tablespoons.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Connie Lea December 24, 2012

This is the best Chocolate Cream Pie ever!! I make this every holiday for my family. They go crazy for it. I use whipped cream for the topping.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Fredwina December 22, 2012

Easy and delicious! I followed others suggestions and used 4 T cornstarch and 6 T cocoa. I also used a graham cracker crust.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tacobarlass November 24, 2012

I made this recipe exactly as stated and it is marvelous!!! I did not add extra corn starch... you just need to be patient as it needs time to thicken. Love this and will make again!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Gina Calina November 21, 2012
Chocolate Cream Pie