Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chocolate Cream Pie Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chocolate Cream Pie

    Average Rating:

    213 Total Reviews

    Showing 61-80 of 213

    Sort by:

    • on November 23, 2011

      I did what other's did and added an extra T cornstarch,turned out fine except the taste is bitter.Not sweet enough.I have not put it into my crust yet so am thinking of adding sugar.Sorry but flavor is not where it should be.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2011

      I made two of these, neither one set up. The liquid filling was delicious, but I had to toss both pies...can anyone please tell me where I went wrong? I have never made a pie like this before. I used 3 Tbs cornstarch per the recipe, not the recommendations, was that it? I did everything else as stated also. Will try again someday, because the filling was perfect, just liquid.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2011

      This was my first ever Chocolate Cream pie and it is perfectly simple & tastes great!
      I used 4 Tbsp. corn starch & 6 Tbsp chocolate. Whisked them together with a little water to make a paste first so it didn't get chunky.
      I followed the directions exactly after that and it came out perfect, thickened up really nice on the stove and there was even a touch left over for me to sample after I filled the pie! Yum! I know it will harden up nicely because the little leftovers in the pan had started to thicken already in only a few minutes! Great pie!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2011

      Just made this pie, and haven't cut it, but the filling is delish as I taste tested along the way! I took the suggestion to add an additional Tbsp. of cornstarch, as I like a thick pie. Worked perfectly, & I didn't change anything else. It thickened very quickly. I stirred constantly to make sure there were no lumps, but a whisk should remedy that. I noticed in the other reviews several were mentioning not being sure about how much sugar to add. The sweetened condensed milk HAS the sugar & more is not needed. JMHO though.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2011

      I followed this recipe to the finish with the exception of extra tablespoon of cocoa and cornstarch as other reviews and it is WONDERFUL. This was my first homemade chocolate pie and I love it. I know before the year is out I will make it 2 to 3 more times just for me..THANKS FOR SHARING YLT.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2011

      Yummy and easy. I substituted 2 squares of unsweetened chocolate because that's all I had. Also increased the cornstarch to 4T. and added about 3T sugar and 1/2 t. instant coffee granules.. Used the egg whites to make merengue and it turned out delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2011

      Not as sweet or as chocolately as we prefer. Good consistency, but just not as good as I'd expected from the reviews.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 10, 2011

      So easy and so good! This is much easier to make than melting chocolate and it's not so rich.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2011

      Made as written. Great consistency. Smooth, creamy, and thick. Really needs a lot more chocolate flavor...a lot more. Maybe chocolate topping would help with chocolate curls.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2011

      This was a very tasty pie. It was so soft and creamy. It could be used as a pudding also. Thanks for posting this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2010

      easy and excellent had to make 2

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2010

      Oh man was this ever good. Very good. A keeper - for sure. No changes required!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2010

      My 95 year old mil loves chocolate, so for her Christmas gift, we gave her a "dessert of the Month" certificate. In a month when we had 2 trips scheduled, this was the perfect gift choice ... quick and easy to prepare and highly rated. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2010

      I have to admit I was very skeptical of this recipe at first. I have made many cream pies, but never a chocolate cream, only because there is too much variation with what type of chocolate to use(semi-sweet, cocoa powder, baker's chocolate, etc...) in every recipe. Most cream pies, use a vanilla based pudding and you add the actual flavors to it (bananas, coconut...). Then I became worried as I was making it because the recipe calls for water. No where in the recipe is there "cream" or a milk product. Also, I have never had a cream pie call for sweetened condensed milk; that is yet another mystery of this recipe. So, while it was cooking on the stove I was kicking myself for not using milk/cream instead of water. Even after I got done cooking it and the pudding was still warm, I couldn't decide if it was good. I had to pour it in the pie shell and hope for the best, after it set up. Truthfully, it came out tasting pretty good! The only reason I gave it 4 stars, is the lack of "cream" in the recipe; can you really call it a cream pie, if there is no cream? I decided to go with a graham cracker crust and whip cream instead of meringue. I would definitely make this again. It was fast and easy as the introduction states.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 04, 2010

      I read many of the comments from others before trying this and took a few pointers from them. I ended up with the following: 3 Tbsp. cornstarch, 1/4 cup powdered sugar, 5 Tbsp. cocoa dash of salt. Mix and add 1 cup water, 2/3 cup milk and 3 egg yolks. Stir in sweetened condensed milk. Cook until begins to bubble. Add 2 Tbsp. butter and 1 tsp. vanilla. Let cool slightly. Place in crust (I used graham cracker crust). Place plastic wrap over filling and chill. Top with sweetened whipped cream. I ahve made it twide now and it is so easy and delicious! I also found the crumb crust works better if you butter the pie plate first, and bake the crust at 300 for 10 minutes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2010

      I'm addicted to this filling! I don't change a thing! I make my own crust and use whipped topping on top. Would also make a GREAT pudding dessert! Thank you SO much for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2010

      Mine will be the144th five star review! This was very good. Not too sweet but very smooth and creamy. What I like about the method for making the pudding/filling is that you add the eggs to the cold liquid and don't have to worry about having scrambled eggs with your pie. Will definiitely make again. Everyone enjoyed it. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2010

      Pretty easy and VERY delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2010

      So many reviews here..I appreciated Marg's microwave directions and VeggieHippie's way of making the meringue. Some commented it was not sweet enough--exactly what I did like about the pie. Good chocolate flavor and very creamy. I made it the old-fashioned way (stove-top) with no problems. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2010

      I am rating this on my husbands opinion (I sent it to work with him). Let's just say he doesn't like chocolate pie and said this was "delicious". I will be making again, but for myself this time. Thanks!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chocolate Cream Pie

    Serving Size: 1 (183 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 462.9
     
    Calories from Fat 201
    43%
    Total Fat 22.4 g
    34%
    Saturated Fat 9.3 g
    46%
    Cholesterol 115.6 mg
    38%
    Sodium 286.4 mg
    11%
    Total Carbohydrate 56.7 g
    18%
    Dietary Fiber 1.3 g
    5%
    Sugars 36.1 g
    144%
    Protein 9.2 g
    18%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes