216 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I really liked this pie. I made a crust with cinnamon graham crackers, which I REALLY liked with the chocolate. I also topped it with a peppermint whipped cream (pulverized 7oz of candy canes in the blender, added to stabilized whipped cream that I had made with 2c whipping cream). It made a DELICIOUS pie. I will agree, its not super sweet, but instead tastes more like rich chocolate instead of the candy type taste you get from a lot of chocolate cream pies. Also, mine was pretty thick instead of pudding like, which I thought was awesome. That was my holdup about making this was it wasn't going to be as firm as I wanted it, but it was perfect.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JustMeMH December 27, 2013

I forgot and baked the pie with the filling in it. But it was great anyway.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
simonemaynard November 29, 2013

Very delicious. I did add the extra teasp. of cornstarch as suggested by many others and even though I had the cocoa, sugar and cornstarch thoroughly blended first, the closer I got to the thick stage, the mixture started to get a bit lumpy. It didn't effect the taste though - very very good. I will definitely start using this as my chocolate pie filling from now on.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sally.jo.oliver November 28, 2013

The final product of this recipe was amazing!<br/>However, the directions lacked detail and were very minimal. If this was someone's first time making a chocolate cream pie, it would not come out as it should because of the lack of directions. <br/>Pie was rich and creamy and will definitely make it again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
erika_russell15 November 25, 2013

This pie is PHENOMENAL! If I could give it an extra star I would. I read the other reviews and added a tablespoon each of the cocoa and cornstarch and it was perfect. It was a HUGE hit with friends and family. It was super easy, super fast, and super cheap to make! I can't wait to make it again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
roxanne79 November 13, 2013

I've made this three times and keep forgetting to review it. I made this as directed but once the filling thickens, it looks lumpy (I stirred it constantly each time I made it). I just get out the hand mixer and beat it at a high speed for a couple of minutes. I've topped this with frozen whipped topping or whipped cream from a can and then sprinkle some micro mini chocolate chips, chocolate jimmies or chocolate shavings. Thank you for posting this recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chicagopm September 30, 2013

I followed some reviewer suggestions and increased the cornstarch and cocoa by 1 T each. It makes a good pie though not as rich or sweet as the cooked custard pie I usually make. I may try using milk instead of water next time and, perhaps, add a bit of sugar. Otherwise I thought the pie had good chocolate flavor and it set up nicely. I chose to top it with sweetened whipped cream instead of meringue.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mesquite451 July 29, 2013

The filling in this recipe is delectable but it lacks specific instructions on how to prepare it. My filling never set and we were all quite disappointed with the end product. After reading other reviews (which I should have done before trying the recipe) I will change it so the filling sets.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bengejt July 28, 2013

I made this last week for our grandsons 7th birthday party (mainly for the adults who do not care for the over-load of sugar from a typical kids cake). This was a perfect blend of flavor. I added nothing more to the recipe. I used homemade whipping cream (mine tastes better than the tub or canned whipped creams). The only thing I did different was to use a pre-made Keebler Cookie Crust pie shell... so absolutely no oven was turned on! Love this recipe. Thank you for posting. (Made for Name That Ingredient tag)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rosie316 July 07, 2013
Chocolate Cream Pie