219 Reviews

The pie is very rich and not as sweet as I expected, it really doesn't need to be. It was pretty easy to make, I'm describing the thickening portion more as it isn't as clear as it could be here from other commentors. Generalities, as some people reported trouble thickening, I used 4 tbsp of corn starch instead of 3. I added a pinch of cinnamon to enhance the chocolate flavor. I do step 1 as directed. I start 2, add the condensed milk and start heating the filling on medium heat with the eggs off to the side (I use 2 lightly beaten eggs instead of fooling with egg yolks) stirring continuously. 3.) Once bubbly I set on the side and pour 1/4 of the mix into the dish with the eggs, I mix this till smooth. 4.) I return everything to the saucepan and return to heat. 5.) I added the vanilla and butter stirring continuously until bubbly again and is thick. 6.) Pour into pie shell 7.) Lay syran wrap over pie to prevent skin from forming and refridgerate. I topped with vanilla flavored sweet whipped cream.

26 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dr.JenLeddy September 09, 2010

This is the classic Chocolate Cream Pie that you have been searching for. Consistency, depth of chocolate flavor and level of sweetness are perfect, probably as is, but per the many reviews that suggested it, I used 4 TBS of corn starch and 6 TBS of cocoa powder.

Used a chocolate cookie crust, and topped with homemade whipped cream.

Keep whisking whisking while it sets up during cooking and as it cools a bit before you put it in the crust.

It's so easy and was a huge huge hit with my family. Made it for Valentines day and again today.

Don't forget the plastic wrap, don't worry it won't stick.

This WILL become your CCP recipe! Thanks Peggy if you ever read here!

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kateyc February 26, 2011

This isn't even in the crust yet but I know it's exactly what I had been looking for! The filling is awesome. I really wanted the simplest recipe where I didn't have to melt chocolate and this was perfect. I used Ghiradelli Cocoa Powder. I whisked the cocoa powder and cornstarch together and then whisked in about 1/2 c of cool water until a paste formed then gradually whisked in the rest of the water. I had no lumps by using this method. Actually just keeping the whisk moving keeps the filling smooth. I'm going to top with whipped cream since I'm not a meringue person. Absolutely a keeper! Thank you so much!

8 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dmac085 November 11, 2007

Very good, fast, easy and delicious. I cheated and used a graham cracker crust. Made it for my son's 4th grade pie day (3/14). It was a hit. He said that was the first pie to run out. I only tasted the filling, yum. As per the other reviewers, I increased the cocoa and corn starch by 1 tablespoon each. I also used two whole eggs instead of three yolks. I also used half boiling water to make it faster and easier to dissolve the starch and cocoa. Don't forget the plastic wrap over the pie to prevent the yukky dried up layer on top, it really won't stick. I served it with whipped cream and dark chocolate shavings as a garnish. Thank you and a bunch of 4th graders thank you.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nado2003 March 15, 2011

I made this pie last night and sad to say, it did not set! I had problems with my,store bought, pastry shredding also,I guess yesterday wasn't a good day to make a chocolate pie, even though, I had all the ingredients. All was not lost! I took that shredded, cooked, pie crust and soupy chocolate filling and added some blueberry flavored cream cheese. It created the most heavenly hash. Oh My Goodness, it was so delicious,more delicious than I could have ever imagined. I'm really not that adventurous,when it comes to food but this was off the hook! I'll admit,I did not follow the recipe exactly, because I added, sugar,that may have been the reason,the filling did not set. I will try the pie again,perhaps,add more cornstarch or cook it a little longer, next time. It really did taste good!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mis_foodie February 22, 2011

Very good and very easy to make. I topped it with a meringue made of the three leftover egg whites, 6 tablespoons of sugar and 1/2 tsp cream of tartar. I beat the egg whites until foamy, added the cream of tartar and continued beating until soft peaks formed and then added sugar one tablespoon at a time until stiff peaks formed. I topped it, browned it, let it cool and then sliced it. Wonderful!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
VeggieHippie March 04, 2007

Perfect pie! Very smooth, creamy, flavorful! Will definitley make this again. I did not make merinque. After pouring in pie shell, I laid a piece of plastic wrap on top of the filling, this prevented a skin from forming. About 6 hrs later, took the wrap off and was tickled to see no filling stuck to it. Just added whipped cream as topping when served. Thanks for sharing this recipe!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Carrie November 24, 2005

Oh Peggy, thanks so much for posting this wonderfully easy recipe! Everything was perfect...texture, thickness, flavor (and I really like the added butter...wonderful extra richness!) I've never had pudding that wasn't made with regular milk and I must admit I was a little nervous but the sweetened condensed milk worked perfectly! (And is superb as just plain pudding as well as in pie.) I used a graham cracker crust instead of regular pie crust, topped it with cool-whip & a few chocolate shavings and everyone loved it! I will most definitely be adding this to our repertoire of goodies!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
-JL- June 09, 2003

While this pie may taste great as other reviewers have said, the instructions are extremely lacking in detail. For someone who has never made a chocolate cream pie before, there's nothing that tells you what steps to take next or what something should look like. For example, when you say to cook until thick, what does thick look like? And maybe I'm just too much of a novice cook, but the recipe doesn't say to chill it first before putting the meringue on, so is that what I'm supposed to do? It's really too bad. I'm sorry to say I wouldn't try this recipe again as there's just not enough time for trial and error to figure out what to do.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
everette120106 January 14, 2013

We used this recipe, and I didn't have time to make it. My son-in-law made it and it is really yummy. I am just going to use the filling recipe for pudding. It was great!!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Eileen4852 April 20, 2003
Chocolate Cream Pie