Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chocolate Cream Meringue Pie Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chocolate Cream Meringue Pie

    Average Rating:

    18 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-18 of 18

    Sort by:

    • on June 13, 2010

      I didn't put the Meringue on top of the pie because we don't like it, but make it as a Chocolate Cream Pie... We LOVED this pie! Thick and rich chocolate. Perfect with some Cool Whip on top... Yum!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 19, 2012

      This didn't turn out good for me either, same as Katybird. I followed the recipe exactly. I made sure to stir continuously using a wooden spoon in a non-stick pan on medium heat and I couldn't even let it come to a boil as it was thickening up so much it was pulling away from the pan. So I went ahead and put half into a bowl with the egg yolks stirred well return egg mixture to pan, still stirring continuously it was starting to smooth out but then before it could reach boiling point, it started thickening up so much it was pulling away from the pan again and cramping my hand. Please give me suggestions as to what may have caused this or how to prevent that from happening should I try and make it again in the future. Thanks, Regina

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2009

      This turned out really good and was a big hit with our resident chocolate lovers at Christmas dinner. A couple notes: I made it the night before and left it in the fridge overnight. I used 4 egg yolks instead of 3 in the filling and 1% milk. The finished pie had a little bit of syrupy liquid in it. Apparently this is from the meringue and is completely normal, it did not change the taste of the pie at all. I also used a store bought graham cracker pie crust which worked just fine. It set almost immediately and cut into real slices. Great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2009

      I needed something chocolatey and didnt have any cream for silk pie so I decided to try something different and this recipe worked perfectly. I used Crumb Crust and it was awesome. I got my fix. Thanks for posting Carole Reu!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 08, 2009

      I just wanted a good thick pudding to munch on for desert! I halved the recipe and my daughter and I devoured it. True to it's word this stuff is THICK! Yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2008

      I loved this pie just as it is written because I prefer something denser that I can actually cut into a pretty slice (and my spoon still goes right through). But my husband preferred his grandmother's version (understandable), and she only uses a 1/3 cup of flour and does not bring it to a boil, just to the point of thickening. She also said that she forgot all about adding any salt. Hers tastes great, but it did not cut into actual slices.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2008

      Just wasn't chocolatey enough for us ... It just wasn't as good as I anticipated.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2008

      Chocolate lovers you gotta try this one! This pie is so rich and chocolatey. It more than satisfied my chocolate fix.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2007

      Loved this pie the flavor was just what I was looking for. DH wanted a chocolate Meringue Pie and this fit the bill. My only problem (and it's probably my technique as I'm new to this) was that it wasn't firm enough to hold it's shape when cut. I'm thinking maybe I didn't cook it long enough but will be making this again and I'm sure perfection will come with practice. That said the flavor of the rich chocolate can't be beat. Thanks Carole for a wonderful recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2007

      I am sorry but this did not turn out for me at all. I followed the recipe exactly and I ended up with a super thick mixture of goo that I could barely get a spoon through. I think if I had used a lot less flour it might have turned out better but as written it just did not work for me.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2007

      This was a great pie very easy, and it tasted just like my grandma used to make. Also, the chocolate and sugar combination was perfect..

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2007

      The best chocolate pie EVER! It was awesome and easy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2007

      I grew up loving my Grandmother's Chocolate cream pie. I never thought I could ever make one as good as hers. Well, this is IT! This easy to follow recipe and well balance ingedents make this a keeper! Thanks Carole Reu

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2006

      This pie was beautiful. Everyone loved it. I did have a syrup-type liquid at the bottom of pie. This may have been from my meringue or something I did wrong. I will make this again as the pie was delicious and I liked that it was from scratch, not a pudding mix.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2006

      This was easy and excellent. The chocolate part is a dense, rich pudding, not fluffy. I used 1/2 tsp of white vinegar since I didn't have cream of tartar.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2006

      I have recommended this recipe and would like to add this was by far the easiest chocolate pie I've made. I used 4 yolks in pie and used corn starch for meringue, they both worked great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2005

      Made it this morning but used my own meringue recipe.The pie was gorgeous,not overly sweet,very creamy but firm enough to set beautifully.My husband a confirmed choc-a-holic gave a satisfied groan as he tasted it! Really easy, I recommend it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 12, 2003

      when i made this pie,i forgot to add the butter and vanilla,just didn't read very carefully,and i didn't know if i should have baked the pie crust before adding the mixture.i put the filling in the crust and baked it for about 10 minutes took it out and let it cool a little bit then put the meringue on top,the pie turned out just GREAT i can't believe that anyone hasn't rated before now.the only reason that i rated it a four is because of the confusion with the crust

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chocolate Cream Meringue Pie

    Serving Size: 1 (169 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 456.0
     
    Calories from Fat 210
    46%
    Total Fat 23.3 g
    35%
    Saturated Fat 11.4 g
    57%
    Cholesterol 101.3 mg
    33%
    Sodium 425.1 mg
    17%
    Total Carbohydrate 56.4 g
    18%
    Dietary Fiber 2.3 g
    9%
    Sugars 34.8 g
    139%
    Protein 7.8 g
    15%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites